We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phaselis Princess

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phaselis Princess to your Saves list
Phaselis Princess
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merkez Mah.139 Sok No 1, Tekirova 07995, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Tekirova
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We will be back ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was our first experience of flying from Stansted airport. We arrived at Stansted long stay car park to be greeted by a very abrupt and rude car park attendant. When we asked him what to do, as most airport car parks vary, he replied “Have you not read your instructions” and when we pulled over to see if there was any further information on our instructions we were also shouted at by various car park staff to move on.

Both outgoing and return flights were on time and were completely hassle free.

There was no rep on the dolmus taking us to our hotel. We were handed our arrival letters by the bus driver. The transfer to the hotel was very long winded, sometimes going over roads that we had already travelled on to drop off people at their hotels. So what was supposed to be an hour’s transfer turned into something like 2 hours in extremely warm conditions.

Once at the hotel check in was brisk, although none of the reception staff spoke English. There were bell boys to take our luggage up to our rooms. We found out in the first couple of days that the hotel had been taken over by a Russian businessman at the end of Oct 10, so the hotel was not geared towards English tourists with the Kids Club aimed solely at the Russian/Eastern European guests.

The rooms both had sea and pool views although they were basic with twin beds. There was limited room for storage of clothes, so we found ourselves literally living out of a suitcase for the whole 2 weeks.

The food for the first day and a half started poor but as the holiday went by there was plenty of choice. We tried 2 of the 3 a la carte restaurants (Topkapi and Italian) where we paid 10TL (£4) for a 5 course meal. However, one thing to note, if there is less than 10 people booked into a particular a la carte restaurant, they cancel your booking and you get the chance to move to the next available evening.

The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble for them. If you ordered a bottle of wine they were always there to replenish your glass. Waiters to get to know are Sharvin, Yurgchek, Ronaldo, Jorge and Ursel to name but a few.

There were 3 pools in the grounds; the main pool which had all the entertainment revolving around it; a pool for the small children and another pool which had slides and a Jacuzzi. All were well maintained and cleaned throughout the evening. One thing to beware of around the main pool is that the marble tiles are very slippery when wet. Try not to let your children run as we saw a lot of small children fall on their backs.

The beach is a shingle beach, so you will need to have a pair of beach shoes so that you don’t cut your feet. The sea has lots of large smooth boulders which can be slippery. This was very daunting for my husband who is not at all confident in the water.

The entertainment team were very good but during the first week, because of the small amounts of English guests staying at the hotel, they were not really geared language wise, so we ddn’t know what was being said. This was rectified by the end of the first week. Animation team members to look out for are Gutty, Euan, Ali Baba and Lily and of course the Animation Manager, Jimmy.

We decided to do 2 excursions and we feel that we did the best 2. The first trip we went on was the Select Gulet which cost us £50 and was for adults only. We were picked up outside the gates of the hotel and taken to Antalya Marina where we boarded our vessel for the day. Drinks (soft or alcoholic) were available as soon as we boarded. We headed out towards Kemer and stopped after about 45 minutes to make our first swim stop. A photographer was on board taking photographs of couples and at the first swim stop he left the gullet by speedboat. We set off on the second leg, again another 45 minutes for a swim stop but this time we stopped for lunch, which was provided. Lunch was a very nice mixed cold salads with a choice of either meatballs, chicken or fish. After an hour we set off on the final leg which was split into half with another swim stop. Cake and melon were served. The photographer came back at this point with a plate and a ship’s wheel with each couples photos in the middle. He tried to charge me 30TL for the plate and 40TL for the wheel, but after bartering I got him down to 50TL for the 2. However, a lot of people were not buying them which meant that a lot of work had been done unnecessarily. He would have been better just producing a photo in a nice folder for a fraction of the cost. The only down side to the trip was the tannoy message telling people to pick their transport up at the bus park; this information was not relayed to the people on the top deck.

The second trip we did was the Sea to Sky and we felt it was well worth the £55 per person cost. Our guide, Ishmail, was very knowledgeable. Again we were picked up by dolmus outside the gates of the hotel and taken to the entrance to the Tahtali Mountains, where we got off the dolmus and got onto a coach that was to take us up to the cable car station. The ride took about 25 minutes, and once we got to the summit, we got to spend 45 minutes free time looking at the souvenirs as well going outside to take some awesome photos. After a 25 minute cable car ride back, we then mounted the coach, which took us to the Botaniks Restaurant, which was a fish farm. Here we had a lovely lunch. After lunch we went to Phaselis to see the ruins and spend a bit of time on the beach. We were then returned to our hotel by dolmus.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Yes, the hotel is geared towards the Russians and Eastern Europeans but when I spoke to the Thomas Cook rep Neil he informed me that Thomas Cook have removed the hotel from this year’s brochure. Neil, by the way, was one of the best reps I have had on a Thomas Cook holiday. Anyway, having been introduced to the owner last week and in the presence of Neil, I was informed that negotiations are underway between Thomas Cook and the hotel as the owner wanted the English to continue to use the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
58
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

after reading so many bad reviews...i decided to add my bit...i couldnt think of anything bad to put about the hotel&about the resort...myself&my family absolutly loved it...food great...entertainment fab....thomas cook rep(neil) fab...it was also great to see people there from who we met up with from previous holidays... the staff there are fab&are really good with children...the only thing i disliked was belive it or not was the english..i found some of them to be very rude...loud..& embarrasing to be english...some people say the russian are rude,but i found some of them to be ok.....as with all nationalities..you have good &bad...ive nothing else to add...other than im looking forward to going back on 13th sep this year...shame its our last year for the english...at the end of the day a holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This was our Honeymoon and we were travelling with two youngsters (4 & 2).
We arrived to a slightly dated looking hotel and questioned the 5* rating. The room was small and all four slept in the same room with a separate bathroom area. The room was average at best.
The service at the hotel was brilliant and having traveled to Turkey for the first time with very little expectations, I'd definitely be returning, though not to here. This was not a bad hotel and everything was average or above and the only reason i'd not return to this Hotel is that the area could have been a little busier. There is one main street in Tekirova and plenty of shops to look around but once you've walked the street once, it gets a little monotonous. The Saturday Market was enjoyable but haggling gets a little tiring.

The service was good, the food was a little varied but aimed more to the eastern european/russian guests. The Staff were friendly if a little lax with rules being enforced.
The bads - Some guests were very rude and had no idea of how to queue and the sunbed "hogging" was terrible and even though there were signs stating that any items placed on beds to reserve them would be removed by staff, well lets just say it was a struggle unless you took the initiative to get up early or remove said items yourself.
Some Guests even took to coming round from the main pool to the smaller pool (flumes, jacuzzi, themed for family and kids) to smoke which was reported and dealtt with by the hotel manager.

All in all, we enjoyed the holiday but we tend to make it what we want instead of allowing others to ruin it (rude guests) and as I said earlier, we will be going back but maybe try the Marmaris and Bodrum side next time.

Oh, one last thing, as I said at the start, this was our honeymoon and there was no sign of anything like a bottle of fizzy wine which we never expected but it would have been a nice gesture.
Just go and make your own mind up!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Me my fiance and my 8 year old son visited this resort at the begining of Oct,if your thinking of going please dont especialy if you have young children ! We arrived to a very small Family room that was very dated,very uncomfortable beds and only 1 english speaking TV channel not too good when your ment to be staying for 2 weeks in a 5 star hotel! The actual resort was a nice place to look at,the pools were excellent but thats as far as it goes for the kids ! The Russians and Germans are the most disgusting mannerd people iv ever come across,the food was mainly caterd for them,there was alot to choose from but nothing really for the English ! The entertainment at night time was ok but had to be spoken in 4 languages so it was pretty slow there was 1 magic act that was really good though probably the high light of the time we were away ! Do not book your Excursions thru Thomas Cook as they cost an absolute fortune best off booking them outside the complex much cheaper ! There is nothing to do outside the complex either, just tacky little souviner shops and anoying shop owners that are very rude to you if you dont want to buy anything from their shop and PLEASE BE WARNED do not go in to the shop LA PERON as the man in this shop tried to record my 8 year old son getting changed on his web cam until i noticed and i jumped infront of the camera,we went to the local police and they couldnt of been less interested,this spoilt our holiday completely we tried to get a flight home but couldnt so we got changed resorts which was another matter in its self what ever you do if you have a matter or emergency do not go to Julie Woekes the holiday rep for Thomas Cook as she clearly will not help you in a proffesional way.
All in all Tekirova is not a nice place to visit so please dont waste your money !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I recentley stayed at the phaselis princess hotel with my partner.
I dont usually write reviews or pay much attention to them usually, as i think its just people having a moan even when the hotel is great!! But i do feel i have to write a review about this hotel as we was very disapointed!!
we looked at trip advisor previous to the holiday and was very pleased with the reviews people had wrote and was expecting a fantastic 5* hotel.
we booked a family room and paid extra as we where told it was the only room available but when we arrived we was given a twin room "very nice room" we was told.......NO it was awfull very small and basic the balcony door had a lock on it which was very difficult to open as it was rusty and the glass was dirty, it looked like it had never been cleaned !! the hotel has a main restaurant and 3 others, turkish,italian & fish which we tried to book but was told they wasnt available for another 5days ,as we was goin home before then we ate in the main restaurent for the whole stay. The food was really nice for the first couple of days then it became repetative alot of the food was the same food made into a different dish for the next meal and was quite often luke warm! The staff in the restuarant where very slow and we seemed to have to wait for drinks for quite a while also tables seemed to be set once then not again and most nights we had to ask for cutlery which to add smelt like sick! The hotel itself wasnt bad the pool area was nice but rooms where very small and basic and the location wasnt great either theres not much outside the hotel so your basically stuck in the hotel for the duration of your holiday . This hotel is definitely Not a 5*.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Hotel service was very good indeed, staff were very helpful and kept restaurant area well clean and cleared.
Food was pretty varied although some of the descriptions were slightly bizarre - definitely no need to take food from restaurant (although we did see some people doing this!!) or buy snacks elsewhere.
Mixed range of guests with mainly Russian at the start and mainly English by the end. As with anywhere it is easy to be annoyed / irritated by other guests behaviour but nationality does not seem to affect this!
Beach was beautiful and very relaxing plenty of sunbeds, close to drinks, toilets and such clear water to swim in.
TC rep was OK but could have done with less selling and more advice! The leaflet you get when you arrive at the hotel is poorly translated but tells you all the info you need to know.
Evening entertainment is hilarious and in 4 languages and if you venture into the disco (which I highly recommend although we were the only people in there for a while) you will find the staff really friendly and fun despite the language barrier!
Overall a lovely hotel with great surroundings and we had a thoroughly relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010 via mobile

Never been to turkey before thouroughly enjoyed it this hotel is fantastic option for families I work in travel and had the choice of many !! This was not dissapointing food was really good on the all inclusive option drinks choice wAs good childrens entertainment was good started quite late approx 9 pm but ok if you like to stay out beach Is shingle take decent swimming shoes we did the cabanas on the beach defo reccomend them ! Not much in resort apart from shops and this resort is full of Russian / german but I found them very pleasant and preferred them to our English visitors ! Would go again and if you do go do book a trip with jimmy the local tour guide man we went to Olympus on a boat £20 all day with lunch best trip ever !!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phaselis Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phaselis Princess

Address: Merkez Mah.139 Sok No 1, Tekirova 07995, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Tekirova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tekirova
#9 Spa Hotel in Tekirova
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tekirova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phaselis Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phaselis Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phaselis Princess Tekirova
Phaselis Princess Hotel Tekirova

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phaselis Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.