We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Point Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Point Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Holiday Point Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumkoy Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 230 Hotels in Side
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the holiday point hotel and spa also known as Alegria hotel and spa towards the end of November.

The first thing to strike you is the magnificent lobby with dome roof and amazing chandelier. We arrived around 8pm after walking out our last hotel due to the poor standard. The reception had not received our reservation from the online booking agent as only half an hour had elapsed. I showed my confirmation and was promptly given our all inclusive bands and advised to head to the restaurant.

The food was plentiful. It is impossible not to find something you would like. Excellent selection and beautifully presented even at the end of service there was loads of choice and still being freshly replenished. We were immediately impressed.

After dinner we went back to reception whereby they had received out booking and allocated our room (340) strangely on the 1st floor.

The room was spotlessly clean. Not massive but big enough. I've stayed in better rooms but this was more than adequate. Clean and fresh with a good view over the pool and towards the beach.
Bearing in mind we paid around 40 pounds a night all inclusive I thought this was great value. On the subject of all inclusive, it is indeed inclusive until 11pm whereby a small charge is then made for drinks.

The drinks were local produce but of very good quality and not watered down like some all inclusive places. The beer served is efes beer, the local beer and is on a par with top brands. This of course is a matter of opinion.

The WiFi is a bit temperamental but when reported to reception it seemed to be working again within an hour. (25 euro per week charge or free in the lobby).

There are the usual suspects trying to tout for business, resident photographer and masseuse to name 2 but they are not too pushy. If not interested politely so no thanks.

As previously mentioned this hotel is 95 per cent German and as such seems to cater more for Germans but this wasn't a problem for us. Also, as it was November the place was full of older German guests which after a few beers bece interesting to people watch.. How rude of us but they are an amusing bunch!

Finally the dolmus stops right outside the hotel. The hotel side of the road for side and towards the harbour and opposite side of the road for manavgat.

In summary, the hotel was excellent value for money. Very clean and the food superb. If you're anti German do not stay here however.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    29
    13
    16
See reviews for
30
33
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Holiday Point Hotel.. aka Hotel Alegria.
The hotel itself I thought was quite good and in a decent location.
I walked to the beach on a daily basis which is literally a three minute walk. I've read a review on here saying it took 20 minutes.. lol, maybe with a Zimmer frame.
The food is well laid out with bags of choice. My only criticism.. It could be hotter! Other than that, not bad at all.
My room was nice with a flat screen TV with plenty of channels. The shower cubicle was big enough and very good water pressure.
This is very much a German resort. I would say 97%
Saying that, I made some good friends in the first week (German of course) but where people come from doesn't bother me.
The staff speak very little English and I found them to be quite abrupt. They need huge amounts of training in customer service.
And the last thing... I like nothing better than to walk along a nice sandy beach.
Most of it is hard, wet, compacted sand with a lot of rubbish in certain areas..
For gods sake Side... Clean your beaches.

Oh, by the way.. This is an honest review.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

The hotel was ok. Small and friendly, although most staff could not speak English. In my brochure I was told it was 600meters from beach, it was actually about 20 minutes walk! There was a nice looking pool which was freezing! Also it was about 25+ degrees all week and no brollies around pool. Food very average.

Room Tip: We had asked for twin and got double, which was changed to double and single bed, so fine. Pretty qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

we've been here before and love it. The driver couldn't find it. The external view looked completely different. Our paperwork said the holiday point but it was OK. Lots of changes to restraint but the food was still great, More changes to the bar area and the owner there all of the time.
The bar is improved and now looks nice, with improved décor and an outside seating area.
All new furniture in the lobby with a great chandelier.
Rooms still the same and whilst clean we did not see a large presence of cleaners as before.
Spare pillows in room with out asking
We were the only English again and no problem.
Good service, the only negative comment I can make is they did not seem to answer emails from my travel agent when asking for a room on a particular side of the hotel as there are stairs involved in some areas and any with mobility problems would not cope. They did change out room on request but we did not get the sea view we believe the superior room we had booked should have included. This may have been because of the change to new owners but we didn't bother as the hotel had improved.
We will go again if we can still afford it.
The façade has now completely changed and it is unrecognisable from the street with a large glass roof topped with a golden dome

Room Tip: try and get a sea view and a room near to the lift to avoid the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Do not go there if you want to have good holidays!
Let me explain; first at all, we arrived at the reception and the guy showed us our "room" which was actually an appartement ( if you get the appartement, the nightmare starts here...) it was sooooo dirty, the door could not be closed properly, no hot water in the shower, no water at all in the tap, there was a big fridge (empty) which did not work, there was a fixed phone to contact the reception (without cable so it could not work of course ( hahaha), spiders stooping in the wall (too difficult for the hotel to clean it...). The appartements are located at 100meters of the hotel were there just built a swimming pool but they did not finished the "future" bar which will probably never exist. It was a real waste collectin. Nothing else.
So as it was not possible for us to stay there we asked to be located in the hotel. We had to wait one day (and one night) and paid a supplement. They DO NOT accept any credit card although they have the machine and they wrote in their emails "visa, ecmaestr,... Accepted" they just want to put our money on their pockets. To pay the supplement we had to go far away to a bankomat. As we did not pay the supplement the same day we were moved into the hotel, because we could not find any bankomat with Money (all were empty), they stressed us by sending someone in our room to ask us to pay immediately. They even did not apology for the credit card machine that did not function. The reception service is RUBBISH!!! I have never seen it before! 4 stars?? They laugh as us!
Anyway, rooms in the hotels are fine, cleaning just ok. If you don't want animation it is perfect because there is no animation, only one guy who is dressed up like a women in the hope to be funny.
Wifi ? Yes they have but it did not work and they can't tell you why.
You want to find someone speaking English in their staff? You'd rather stay home because no one speaks English.
Anyway I could tell you more and more things.. Finally when we left the hotel a transport was supposed to pick up us at the hotel but the hotel could not trace any reservation. We re-organized a transport by our selves.
I am so disappointed. I really enjoyed Turkey the first time I went there but because of this hotel I will never go in this country anymore. The reception guy (name's "Bayran") is the worst person of our adventure. He doesn't want to work and should not be in a client service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

stayed 10 days i would say its not a english resort at one point myself and a friend was the only ones we made friends with lovely swedish are room was nice very clean the staff are excellent always helpful the food was good i always found something i liked good salad did become boring not much meat but this was a cheap holiday did not know it had a indoor pool it rain so it would have been nice to have been told by staff long walk to beach but a free bus is provided i would stay at this hotel again i did use the spa it was ok but it seemed rushed so i only used it once i did not see the sauna are stay was 28 april to 8 may 2014

Room Tip: others holidaying on own
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camber, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

For us this didn't really make for an interesting hotel we stayed out of season march 2013 for 7nt's all-inclusive and found it full of unsociable Germans knitting socks all day the food was good for Turkey same goes for the rooms was only a cheap break for me and my partner to explore the area.
Not much in Kumkoy found Side more interesting & Manavgat best for shopping with proper shops not selling knock off gear but decent clothes.

The in-door pool was handy as the weather was quite windy great views from rooms was a bit cold for the out door pools but they looked okay pool & beach bar closed as out of season not much going on in the hotel! They have a club which you can hear most of the night as it's right at the bottom of the stair well never used it thou had to pay for extra drinks not part of all-inclusive package not that that's a problem for us just it opened at 11.30pm and with not much else to do between dinner and then we found ourselves in bed early most nights!
Beach was okay was sand not shingle or rocky!

Also we found most shops in the area preferred euro currency rather then lira or pounds we found this different to anywhere else we had been in Turkey would recommend English to visit a different area of turkey like Hisaronu or Olu Deniz for a more pleasurable experience of turkey.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have land mountain views. Rooms at back of hotel have sea and mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Point Hotel & Spa

Address: Kumkoy Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Side
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#78 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Point Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Point Hotel Side
Holiday Point Hotel And Spa
Holiday Point Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Point Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.