We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best holidays ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yesil Oz Apartotel

Yesil Oz Apartotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Side
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yesil Oz Apartotel
Save
You added Yesil Oz Apartotel to your Saves list
Yali Mah. Cemal Gursel Bulv., Side, Manavgat, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 234 Hotels in Side
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my best holidays ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

The rooms were a bit basic in self-catering, but with things to see and the extremely cheap dolmus and nice bar area, there was only the need to sleep in the room. in response to one of the other comments they like you to hop in their shop, but you can sometimes sneak in the side gate or just hide the food. The food is really nice, but the supermarkets in the area are tiny, so don't stock a lot and don't have a lot of choice. for main meals be prepared to eat Turkish food, or eat out in the restaurants which are really nice. I really enjoyed the holiday and nearly opposite the hotel there is a really good excursions company, who are also really cheap. WARNING if going on the water park trip to Antalya, the coach stopped off at a jewelery shop which give them money to make the prices lower. You have to go in the shop, we spent 1 hour and a half in the coach waiting for people! however, the jeep safari is amazing. it is the best activity. You ride donkeys, visit a mosque and drive up a mountain. for the adventurous this is the ultimate trip. i would recommend anyone to go here, however for fussy eaters, there's not that much of a choice, however they do a pitta bread pizza thing in the restaurants.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — basic
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    6
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

We stayed at the Yesil Oz in 2006. We stayed in a self-catering room which was basic and a bit scruffy - frayed edges on the bed, old carpets etc. The main problems with self-catering here were getting decent food. There is one little corner shop at the end of the road with very limited supplies. We lived on tuna sandwiches for a week. There is a large supermarket but it is a good walk or bus ride. We ended up eating out most evenings and there are a couple of decent restaurants in the area. The concensus of the people we met was that the hotel food was pretty bad. We agree. The hotel shop sells basic provisions but at vastly over-inflated prices. Guests at the hotel staying half-board complained that they were not allowed to buy provisions outside the hotel and take them to their room.

Getting into town is either a five minute bus ride followed by a tourist carridge pulled by a tractor (better than it sounds!), by taxi (check prices before you go) or a 30 minute walk.

Our experience was that after a few days we didn't want to go into town anyway. The shop-owners are very aggressive. They typically greet you in English with something like "excuse me where are you from in England?". Once entered into this conversation it is difficult to get away. If you accept their outstretched hand, a gesture of trust, they held on tightly and didn't let go easily. In all my travels I have never felt so intimidated by sales people as in Side. It is contant, every shop/restauraunt the same thing. In one carpet shop we were locked in by the owner's stooge, very scary with two small children in tow.

Back to the hotel. Halfway through the holiday my daughter noticed a 'wire' sticking out of the drain on our balcony. The 'wire' was a rat's tail. The rest of the rat was attached to it. We telephoned reception who sent up a chap who sprayed rat poision all over the balcony - the balcony where our children liked to play. In fairness they changed our room when we asked but without assistance it was an evening wasted moving. The new room had rusty kitchen utensils.

Finally, if you go, be careful booking trips from the local street stalls. We booked two trips. The first from a very pleasant Turkish lady for a trip to a Turkish bath. We waited for them to collect us from the hotel at 9am. At 9.30 we called the contact number we had been given and spoke to a very nice Turkish lady who couldn't speak English. At 10.30 we returned to the stall and were refunded our money. Apparently the driver must have forgotten us. This happened again with a different company.

Eventually we hired a jeep and got our excursion.

The staff at the hotel were friendly, the chambermaids excellent and the Turkish bath people very thorough but overall the holiday was hard work.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

we only paid 99 pounds each for this hotel
but the best ever 99 pound i have ever spent
the hotel is lovely ...rooms are big and balconys lovely we stayed on the top floor, in the new part
hotel staff lovely, every friendly helpfull and funny.
never felt uneasily being a women even when my boyfriend left the table or something i was fine alone
the food was excellent ....do try the pot kebab, w=very turkish dish so cheap and you get so much
get a taxi to the town costs about 5 lira and side town is full of ruins and great restaurants
you do not fell uneasy in side yes you do get hassled but every turkish resort is like that but if you smile and say no thank you there is not a problem, some people find it annoying but tat is what the turkish do, if you dont like it dont go!!!
everything about this hotel is spot on.....just cant wait to return

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — go see the temple and ruins they are amazing
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

We arrived in Turkey, not knowing what to expect. After a long days travel, we finally arrived at the hotel. The staff on reception, were very helpful, as we were on the second floor, 4 suitcases and a 13 month old son in arms, we were all very weary. But all our luggage was taken up stairs for us. (no lift). The room was basic, as stated in brochure, simply furnished. Huge fridge, small camping stove, but hey on holiday, who wants to cook!!!!!!
One shock to our system on arriving in the early hours of the morning, I found the muezzin from the nearby mosque a bit of a culture shock. Not something that you would expect at 4:40 in the morning, but you soon get use to it. You don't notice it after a while.
As we found out, Turkey is going through a slow time for business, the hotel, was not busy, which to us was fantastic, as we wanted to unwind and relax. Only a dozen rooms were occupied. Bearing this in mind, we had 100% attention, which was wonderful. All the staff were able to spend time with their guests to get to know them. They offer a Turkish night, pending on customers. Which we went to. This was well organised with bbq priced a menu prices. Entertainment a bonus.

The food served was very good. From snacks to full meals. The chef also makes specials. We ate here during the daytime, as spent our time by the pool. We also ate out alot. (hotel cheper for meals than, Side Central).

The shop was a little pricey, but for the general basics it was ok. I would take my own coffee and tea next time. (That's a yes to, I would visit this hotel again).

As the hotel was very quiet, it seemed a times that we had our own villa, the staff left us to it whilst we sat around the pool. The pool was lovely and clean.

The staff spent a lot of time with our son, which he loved. Somtimes it was a little overwhelming, but the Turkish love children. Being in a country of different culture, you become understanding of their nature.

Late room check out was only 20gbp. which is good value for money if you a flight in the early hours of the morning. It's advertised that you may have this until 20:00. However, with the hotel being quieter than normal, we was able to have the room till later than this time. Which was very helpful to us with a young child.

We found by just going out of the hotel reception, taxis waited on the corner, we were able to go to Side Central. The price did vary slightly, but this was from 8 - 10 lira.

Yesil Oz is situated in a quiet area. But within walking distance, there are a few livelier streets.

I'm sure that this hotel will not be the best I will stay in. But for the price we paid for 3 adults (baby free) you cannot grumble. Like my title says basic, but great.

I know that not everyone has the same views and opinions on places. As a family we found it very comfortable. Excellent staff, rooms cleaned daily. If you want 5* go to a 5* hotel. Basic and friendly, Yesil Oz you can't go wrong.

Thank you to everyone at the Yesil Oz.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

Arriving at this hotel we knew instantly things were not good...a builder let us in and then the check in was shambolic...four groups being checked in together. A form to fill in which included questions like, "what is your relationship to the lead name on the booking." Rather than go into every little detail I will just say that that the standard of the accommodation was about 1 star with long narrow pathway in apts covered in filthy carpet then a sitting room so grubby we didn't even want to sit on the plastic outdoor chairs. Cracked tiles burst doors nothing hanging together right, and a camping stove! Air con= £45 for a week safety deposit boxes in the reception near the front door. We had paid £600 for the week and it would never have been good value for money. We were surprised Thomas Cook still uses it. We complained bitterly to the rep who thought it wasn't too bad a place! We had to spend a night there as the rep said he had no other place available at this time. We had a horrible night in a very sub standard room that smelled like a wet dog had been into it. After calling Thomas Cook in uk ourselfs and insisting we were moved we did get moved to the Kentia apts across the road. They were wonderful and our holiday got started and although we lost a full day of our holiday with trying to sort out the hotels we ended up having a great holiday across the road. PS on our last day I went back to the Yesil Oz to look for a family I had met on the coach on the arrival day. They had a chap in a wheel chair and I wanted to offer some help to him getting on the bus as I had done at the airport. The hotel receptionist promptly threw me out and asked me not to enter without permission....even although they advertise a their shop outside to which the public can use!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

Just returned from a holiday in Side, Turkey. The hotel was very clean (tireless maids who were excellent) but upon arrival at 5am we were asked to pay money to the hotel for safety deposit box and were told we were not allowed to shop anywhere but their "market" (small shop, who charged us £8 for a newspaper & two ice-creams). Upon returning from a day out we made the mistake of bringing a bottle of water & a loaf of bread into the hotel and were instantly surrounded by staff and had the items removed from us. Our shower severley leaked all week & the handyman was employed to place a very pungent sealer each time we reported it (our room constantly smelt). The bar staff/waiters were typically charming but the rest of the staff were most unfriendly.
When venturing into the town be sure to use the "Dolmas" that are a much cheaper alternative to the taxi's who prices vary according to what mood they are in!
Please be aware that you cannot browse in the markets,shops or restaurants as if you linger for a second you will be accosted, mostly shouted at in German, I was grabbed several times and pulled into stalls which was frankly quite scary as you tend to lose companions in the crowds of people and the men tend to shout aggressively at you. Take Euro's as you will be charged more in Lira and Sterling and be prepared for the millions of Puma bags/Shoes!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yesil Oz Apartotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesil Oz Apartotel

Address: Yali Mah. Cemal Gursel Bulv., Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 234 Hotels in Side
Number of rooms: 299
Also Known As:
Yesil Oz Apartotel Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yesil Oz Apartotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.