We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done Thomas Cook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Melas Hotel to your Saves list
Melas Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Selimiye Mah.Demirel Bul.No:5 | 07330 Side / Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 230 Hotels in Side
Callington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well Done Thomas Cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

FIRST CLASS THEY AIM TO PLEASE

MELAS RESORT HOTEL SIDE TURKEY 25 SEP TO 10 OCT 2011

If you are looking for a hotel that serves pie, chips and mushy peas then stay away from this hotel. Believe it or not this was one of the complaints of moaning British holiday makers at this hotel.

If you are looking for quality then please read on and get the true facts.
We stayed at this hotel in 2010 and you can read my report from then. We had such a great time then that we returned this year with our friends from Weymouth.
Arriving in the early hours of Mon 0235am we were greeted by a friendly reception and being quickly booked in were first asked if we wanted anything to eat or drink. Having said no and being tired, we were taken to our rooms and were surprised to find that our request for adjoining rooms was granted.
Up early the next day we took breakfast and then we showed our friends around the complex so that they were able to find their way around later. Even to us we were surprised to see that there had been some changes and feel that they had improved the facilities.
We were also surprised to find that some of the staff we met in 2010 were still there. We were soon recognised and it was great to see that with the number of guests that would have gone through the hotel in 12 months they still remembered us.
The rooms were spacious, well presented and above all clean. The maid service is excellent and they work long and hard for their money. Nothing is too much trouble, if you want something you only need to ask.
There are changes to the beach area in that the long single green shades had been removed and had been replaced with individual parasols. There is plenty of space between each sun bed and more than enough to accommodate all those that wanted to use the beach area. There is also plenty of space in the pool area and it is not necessary to have to get up to put towels on sun beds to reserve them. This does not apply to a certain nation who’s name rhyme with hermans.
We have no complaints about any of the food and there is plenty of choice. All food is either covered in ( except salad) and mounted in heated receptacles. There is also a freshly cooked service station where you can see your meal being cooked. All the chiefs are well presented in their whites and always wear gloves even during service. Nothing is touched by the bare hand. They have received a certificate in food management which is well deserved.
Waiting staff in the restaurant, pool bar and the beach areas are again well turned out and service is never slow. We were lucky in that having made friends with the staff the first time which did give us some advantage over the hermans.
You are requested not to wear shorts or beach wear in the main restaurant for the evening meal , yet some tried and were asked to leave and get changed. I must say that none of them were British.
Hermans will still get up before dawn to put their towels on the sun beds but believe me, due to the changes it is not necessary. There are life guards on the beach who also act as beach attendants. They are in possession of a certificate for water management another good achievement.
There is still a gala night on the first Saturday that you arrive and are invited to attend by ticket only. The presentation is incredible, how they manage to get such a spread laid out and organised is a credit to all the staff not just the management. A great night was had by all. Be aware that if you are intending to visit Turkey at this time of year ladies you will require to take a jacket or something to cover your shoulders as it does get cold at night. I have included some photographs of the gala night to this report.
Evening entertainment is varied but mainly cater for the Germans. You must remember that Eastern Turkey is primarily German oriented and you must be prepared for this. If you want British then West Turkey is where you will have to go.
Walking to Side in the evening will take around 35 minutes to walk to but that is just at a stroll. This can be done by walking along the new promenade adjacent to the beach.
Be prepared to haggle over a price for items that you want to by. Whatever the price they quote you cut it in half and go from there. Think of what you would pay in the UK and do not pay anymore than that. If you are not happy walk away, if they want a sale they will come after you.
For site seeing go away from the normal tourist trails, speak to one of the taxi drivers at the entrance to the hotel, find one that speaks prefect English and ask how much for the day to be taken around to places that are not normally visited or advertised. For around 80 euro’s they we only be too please to show you around.
Well that’s about all I can report from this second visit to a first class hotel. If there is any other questions that I could answer then please contact me through the Trip Advisor web site wher I will send you the answer asap.
Well done Thomas Cook keep this hotel on your books.

Room Tip: Asking for a sea view not always possible but if like us you are polite there is always a chance. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    80
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
115
106
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

brilliant hotel.Service was good and all staff really cheerful.We found english spoken well by most staff.
food was plentiful and a good choice .
pool and beach were lovely with sunbeds at beach available all times.
We even found the shows put on in ampitheatre next door enjoyable in the evening.
gala dinner superb.
Staff did not seem to expect tipping all the time as other places all tips seem to go into boxes for all staff.
Dont agree with negative comments about the Germans.You are abroad so other nationalitys are holidaying as well.The guy we met at 6am when we had early trip was English and he was off to reserve his beds by the pool.Sad

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here from 8th september for one week ( thank goodness it was not 2) 4 adults age range 44 - 58, must say hotel spotless yes a little dated but very clean. Location superb. All inclusive package if you like vodka, whisky brandy or raci, If your a white rum / bacardi drinker Its not for you as these drinks are not included. Mini bar replenished every day which is a plus . Would advise that you take your German phrase book so you can communicate or at least find out the german word for Que . Entertainment yet to find it !!! . Shame but this experience has put me visiting turkey in the near future

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was our first trip to Turkey and a very enjoyable one too. We stayed at the Melas Hotel for 2 weeks, people had warned us about the heat and it was hot but bearable as most days there was a refreshing breeze. We arrived late to the Hotel approx 11pm on Sat and waited for a short time to be given our rooms we had something to eat in the restaurant which was gladly received after our long journey. Our room was very clean plenty of space with air con which was lovely at the end of the day the hotest being 49 degrees!!!!

All of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the pool area was lovely although you did have to get up early to reserve your sun beds !! The beach was very accessable via lift and there were always plenty of sunbeds there.
The food selection on the main restaurant was excellent breakfast- yogurts , frest fruit, cereals , cheeses, breads, salads, preserves , pancakes and eggs cooked to your liking while you waited you name it they seemed to have it .
Lunch and Dinner always plenty of choice for everyone. The beach served Turkish pizza's , burgers or spag bolognaise if you fancied a change and wanted to be waited on.
This was our first time travelling with children all inclusive and would definately do it again plenty of refreshments on offer including iced coffee by the pool ice creams from 12-5 cornets with a good selection of flavours.
This hotel really seemed to have it all ,we visited the water slides in the holiday village which were good fun although it did seem a lot busier by this pool than the hotels.
In case you were still a bit peckish later in the afternoon coffee and cakes were served by the pool at 5 each day !!!

The fish restaurant and Turkish restaurant were really good too but book on your 1st day to avoid disappointment, Gala evening very special too a real treat !!!
Hotel staff seemed to be constantly cleaning the hotel corridors and toilets they were spotless
really could not fault a thing. The lobby area was great to chill out in the evening with staff on hand to serve you any drinks you wanted.
Would really like to go back one day and would recommend without hesitation. Enjoy if you have booked !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

This was our first holday for some time and we were very apprehensive having seen horrer tv shows. We needn't have worried, the holiday was very nearly faultless.
The hotel frontage may not have been as impressive as some of the other hotels on route but once inside the
lobby the interior more than made up for the understated exterior .
The receptionist spoke good English and on arrival as a family we were offered a nd shown a choice of a larger suite or our booked balcony room which we accepted .
The room was very large and plenty big enough for three of us. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and the furnishings were pleasant and comfortable. The mini bar was stocked with branded coke, fanta, bottled water and beer ., which was restocked daily. The rooms were cleaned daily by maids who cared and paid great attention to detai . My sons cuddly toy was arranged in a differant fun pose every day and the towels were also arranged in various displays daily.
The hotels facilities were top class including the beach (watch out for the rocks in the sea the only fault I cud find ! )aqua park tennis courts and various pools .
The food and variation was superb with drinks,ice creams flowering freely from the very friendly waiters.All inclusive meant exactly that as we didn't have to spend a penny on extras .
In conclusion this was with doubt the best holiday ever.We have been back two weeks and rebooked already

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

fab fab fab is all we can say! we were a party of 9 ranging from 15 mths to 61 yrs and not one complaint from any of us...food was fab, rooms were fab, staff were lovely, pools amazing, beach amazing....5 star quality all the way - A massive hello to Murat Unas who kept our little ones happy every morning at breakfast :-) recommend anyone to go, such a lovely place and fantastic value for money WELL DONE GUYS

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We are a family of six - myself(31 yrs) husband (32 yrs), my kids (6 & 8 yrs) and my in laws (55 yrs). Didn't know what to expect but we have come home and want to go again - already been to travel agent today to find out when I can book again in 2013.

A lovely big and tidy hotel always things to do!! Well worth the money I spent on the hols.

Rooms - always clean - everything u need - very spacious

Pools - lovely and clean. Good luck on getting a sunbed we just got a table near to the pool it was easier. Aquapark over by the village is good but very busy my kids loved it but I perferred the hotel pool as more relaxed.

Food - good choice something for everyone - spaghetti, pasta, chips, turkey, chicken, veal, vegs, salad and lots of cakes. Ice cream at pool bar between 12-5 are lovely. Cake bar at 5pm too. Beach pool bar - gorgeous pizzas. Book your turkish and fish restaurant as soon as you get there. Ig going for 2 weeks you can get a reservation for both restaurant all included in the all inclusive!!

Drink - you have got the lobby bar, pool bar and beach bar - non stop drink on tap

Beach - beautiful and able to get sunbeds down there but temperature so hot down there - preferred to be at pool on roof top as breezy. Temperature ranged from 36 degrees to 45 degrees hotter in the morning.

Entertainment - non stop from aquarobics to dart to pool games to keep fit classes. Evening entertainment better in the village but u just get in the lift and walk a few mins to ampitheatre. The amination team put on a great show. The hotel pool bar evening entertainment is a bit too simple but you have the bar there. There is a nightclub in the hotel from 11pm till 1am - good and bad music but you can watch the germans dance and giggle!!!!! We could hear the music in our room from the disco so might be a good idea to take some earplugs if u r a person who goes to bed early. The Gala night is on every two week - they pull out all the stops for this - tables laid out on the green dressed up, dinner outside and entertainment whilst you eat.

Waiters - very quick and on the ball - they are friendly and happy ( some very cute waiters to look at too Sira is so sweet!!!)

Kids Club - wow they work so hard. It is on 6 days a week 10am - midday and 2.30-4.30. 3 different clubs - Mini Club (4-8yrs), Maxi Club (8-12yrs) and Teenagers 13-17 yrs. There is a packed timetable of things to do at it ranging from making stuff, party games, mini golf, football, pool games and many more. I felt very comfortable about leaving my kids there. All of them r stars especially Jasmine and Raymonde He is a star there my kids loved him especially when he lets them push in the pool at the end of the day. He will love you if u take him a big pot of strong hold hair gel/wax - his hair is trying to be like jedward!!!!

Shops - Side town is 45 mins walk away or for a taxi it costs 8 euros. The walk is nicer at night as cooler weather. Walk didn't seem that long as there are shops to look at on the walk down there. These shops r cheaper than in Side town.

Well if you are going to this hotel I am so jealous as I cant wait to go back!!!!!! My son cried when we left as he had so much fun and didn't want to leave, bless him. The whole team here work so hard from maids to waiters to animation team to cleaners. Enjoy your hols!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Hotel

Address: Selimiye Mah.Demirel Bul.No:5 | 07330 Side / Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Side
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#13 Luxury Hotel in Side
#17 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Melas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Hotel Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.