We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akasya Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Akasya Motel to your Saves list
Akasya Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lale Sok. No:9, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 230 Hotels in Side
Southend on Sea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Found this lovely small hotel whilst staying at another this summer and decided to return in October and stay at Akasya. Michelle and Mustafa are excellent hosts and it seems are the main reason regular guests keep returning.

Yes the rooms are small but you only sleep in them and are a comparable size to other Turkish pensions. What makes the difference is the extra homely touches such as a rug, pictures on wall, plant in room, nice bedding and curtains. There are clean towels every day. The room was very clean and was thoroughly cleaned every day. Breakfast was included in the price and you could have anything you wanted. Air conditioning is available at an extra charge and this is standard in Turkish pensions as electricity is expensive. I had no problem paying extra as the standard price for the room was so cheap.

There is a couple of sunbeds and umbrella and a table and chairs for residents to use away from the main area if they want peace and quiet. Michelle also provides an area to dry your towels etc. This is useful as there are no balconies.

There is also a small restaurant within the courtyard of the hotel open from breakfast until late at night. The food they provide is varied and excellent value from snacks to something more filling. It is an ideal environment to meet other people. We spent some lovely evenings chatting to other guests and Michelle and Mustafa.

Michelle and Mustafa do have a few cats but they are looked after very well and are well behaved.

After a hectic day sightseeing or a lazy day on the beach, this small hotel in old Side is a little oasis.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

what a terrible holiday the rooms were very small, i think the smallest i have ever been in needs modernising, oh and the cats , i put a negative feed back on there site and they deleted it have they something to hide, i implore you if you dont like small dont bother

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The small hotel is lovely. Very good value for the price. (We paid off-season 40 TL, i.e. about 18.50 Euros incl. breakfast.) Very good location in a quiet little road right next to the beach. Our room was small but sufficient. (My Greek friend had to sleep under a picture that shows Mehmet II, the conqueror of Constantinople / Istanbul in 1453. Funny somehow…) The room was totally clean and seemed newly refurbished. Michelle and Mustafa care very much for you. The breakfast is simple, but maybe you can't expect more paying this low price.
Two disappointments: When asking for water at the breakfast Mustafa charged us 2 TL (i.e. about 1 Euro) for a small bottle! He didn't tell us when we asked for the water and when we complained he pointed at the restaurant board which shows this price.
Second: He helped us out of a difficult situation with our bike, which had a severe damage. He phoned to a friend (relative?) who took our bike with a truck to Antalya. So far so good. And very friendly. But later when we had a dispute with this friend Mustafa spoke with me on the friend's mobile in a very gruff and unfriendly way. These disappointments spoiled the very positive impression that we had about the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

superb location in old part side
no pool but close to beach
super hosts in mustapha/michelle couldn,t do enough for you
super food menu lots to choose from all cooked from fresh
bed linen changed every other day
towels changed every day
very clean rooms
in superb relaxing holiday cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2005

had such a great time at the akasya when i went in june with my young daughter and mother i returned 3 weeks later with my husband.i had the most relaxing holiday i have ever had.the irish couple who run it make everyone feel so at home and provide english food and wonderful sunday roast dinners that you feel you never want to go home.the rooms are kept spotlessly clean and although it is a turkish buffet breakfast you are not limited to how much you eat or how many teas/coffees you drink.there is a friendly bar area and drinks are cheapest in side.everything is on the doorstep so you do not need to fork out for taxis/buses.you can sunbathe free at the hotel or the beach is round the corner.side is busy little resort with plenty for everyone but you can be assured that you can sleep undisturbed when you return to the akasya at night.i am planing to return again beginning of october this year.i cant wait!.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2005

We had a fantastic week in the old town of Side. The Akasya is a small, lovely motel run by a very friendly and helpful Irish couple, Ray and Marie, which meant there were no language problems! The motel doesn't have a swimming pool but does provide a sunbathing area with loungers and umbrellas. There is a covered bar area where food is served at a reasonable price. The cleanliness of the rooms couldn't be faulted. There is the facility to hire either a fan or air-conditioning for your room.
The Akasya is situated in an area just a stone's throw from the beach and there is a wide choice of bars, restaurants and shops as you walk along the sea front. For those of you who are not too keen on our European friends the cliental of the Akasya is mainly British. For a get-away, relaxing time this is the place to stay! So peaceful can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akasya Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akasya Motel

Address: Lale Sok. No:9, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Side
#32 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Akasya Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Akasya Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akasya Hotel Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akasya Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.