We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barut Hemera to your Saves list
Barut Hemera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bingesik Mevki, Side, Manavgat 07330 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 234 Hotels in Side
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff made us feel really welcome. Good rooms although the view let it down (overlooked the back of the building which was a bit unsightly). Great choice of food and waiters very good at what they do. All in all a great stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Wendy,
Thank you very much for recognizing the commitment, dedication and attention to detail that our team delivers every day. We appreciate your time you have taken to tell us about your experience at the Barut Hemera and hope to see you back in a future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    258
    66
    11
    4
See reviews for
493
378
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Period of stay: 17/10-27/10/2013.
During the day the evening 32gr 19gr what fresh.
2 swimming pools not heated what to soft for swimming. More than enough sunbeds so not get up early.
Room: modern room upon arrival, fruit dish, daily bath products present, flatscreen, airco fine, fridge replenished daily. terrace.
A real all-inn, food beautifully preted, very varied, plenty enough you dont no what to choise, warm, delicious.
Drink: lobby bar, pool bar and sumptuous operated.
You can always eating outside, plenty of room and cozy.
Large garden, many Orange-mandarinebomen, which is adjacent to the promenade, the beach. For the hotel cozy little shops. Via the promenade to Side about 20 min steps. Vans in front of the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. All tip in order and we are going back next year.

Room Tip: We have room 2004 nearly the lobby and reception what was easy. Not far from the pools but a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear irapido,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your visit to our property. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with your stay and were able to enjoy all the hotel has to offer! We truly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay, hence the four-blob rating. It is definitely well set up for people with younger children. It's not without its faults but these are outweighed by the positives.

GOOD POINTS
The kids club ('Bary Star') is both a playroom with a fantastic lady called Sascha (who my two year old son loved) and an adjacent playground with swings, slides, trampoline, etc. The hotel also provides, for free, several useful items such as a baby buggy, a baby bath big enough for a toddler - important as there's no bathtub in the room, a baby monitor, high chair, plus a changing mat cover and a pack of wet wipes. I have a photo of the buggy and baby bath.

In the main restaurant there is a separate family area which has child-friendly food and crockery/cutlery. (It also has a TV showing kids' TV - not ideal in my opinion!)

Every evening except Sunday there is a Kids Club Disco which is actually a kind of organised group dance. It's the same every night, which is good as the kids get better at doing the dance moves over time. The songs seem to span English, German and Russian - the three main languages used in the hotel overall. The only issue with the Kids' Disco is that it generally starts around 8.30pm which is a little late for the younger ones.

We were always able to get fresh milk from the bars to put in our son's bottle.

There was lots of drying rack space on the balcony outside our room.

We loved the food in the main buffet restaurant. Every night the dishes change, albeit with lots of things always available (like the delicious Turkish bread). There are some themed nights, e.g. a Turkish night where a lady prepares filled Turkish flatbreads on a special round hotplate in front of your eyes.

On one night we went to one of the a la carte restaurants - the Turkish-themed Sofra. The food was nice but in hindsight it's not nearly as suitable as the buffet when you have young children with you, who don't want to sit around as you wait for your main course to come.

There was good Wi-Fi pretty much everywhere in the hotel and the grounds.

NOT SO GOOD THINGS
My biggest negative is noise in the room at night-time. We were in a suite in the block at the top of the hill furthest from the pools. Here you are near the main road adjacent to the hotel and every night we could hear music from a nearby nightclub into the small hours. There was sometimes also a lot of noise (moving furniture, suitcases, etc.) from the room upstairs - the concrete floors transmit a lot of sound. We asked to move rooms twice and on both occasions were offered an alternative, but the first of these was in the same block and the second was an inferior room so we decided to stick where we were.

We had a mosquito in the room (despite the plug-in electric mosquito repellent provided) on a couple of nights, and we did suffer bites.

The air conditioner was set centrally to 24 deg C which meant the room seemed to become hotter, not colder, when we turned it on.

Only one of the toilets in the public areas of the hotel and grounds had baby changing that wasn't in the ladies' toilets. (This was by the Kumsal bar, which is nearest the beach.) As an aside, the food on offer at this Kumsal bar is far better and more varied than at the bar by the pools (the Meltem Bar).

The outdoor pools aren't heated so at the beginning of the day in particular they are quite cold.

Surprisingly there was no shower gel provided in our bathroom, just shampoo and conditioner. No body lotion either.

Room Tip: There was noise from a nearby nightclub in the block in which the suites are located (at the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear d0gwalker,
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at our Barut Hemera Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation with us and appreciate your positive review in relation to the food selection and entertainment activities. Thank you very much for mentioning the Bary Star baby facilities we offer this year. Please know that your valuable comment regarding the noise was taken into consideration and will be used to reconsider improvements needed during the current renovation. Thank you for your time. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel so need we really say anymore. A lovely clean well appointed hotel with excellant facilities and very good restaraunts. The fish restarauant in the court yard is first class. We did think on this visit that some of the decor was starting to look a little 'tired' we did however discovered that the hotel is closing for a full re fit over winter so it will be back to its best. The standard of entertainment is first class some of the shows put on by the entertainment team you would happily pay to see to. Would certainly recomend it.

Room Tip: A very pleasant walk along the promanade into Side old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Nigel,
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel. We are delighted to read about your excellent experience at the Barut Hemera. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to our refurbished resort again in a future.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel, check in was efficient and we were shown to our room. We had upgraded our room and it didn't disappoint it was spotlessly clean and a good size the bathroom was of good size with a big shower we had also asked for a quiet room with a good view. Mini bar was restocked everyday with drinks including water.
Food. Food was excellent with a huge choice also plenty of snacks available around pool and beach areas. The patisserie had a good selection of cakes pastries and ice cream.
Swimming pools were kept clean indoor pool and smaller pool heated but the big pool was very cold.
Entertainment team were very good especially the kids club, properly the best I've seen the kids loved spending time at the nursery with Sasha who had different activities every day to keep them busy
All staff are friendly and helpful.
I really can't fault this hotel and would return

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Andrew,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your first time at the Barut Hemera. Your lovely comments regarding every aspect of your vacation are greatly appreciated. We are pleased to learn that your stay at our hotel met your expectations and look forward to your next visit to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Booked this hotel 48 hrs before we went based on reviews on here was not disappointed . Booked via Thomas Cook seats extremely small and they forgot our suitcase ! Hotel was very nice spacious lovely and clean , for late October the weather was nice but the pools were very cold the kiddie pool was too cold for my 13 month baby . Beach was clean and water was warmer then pools . My 7 hold son loved the entermainent team and mini disco although it was in German . Special mention to Sasha ( kids club) she was absolutely lovely:) . Also to Ozzie or Spider-Man as the kids called him . Food was good and varied the little kiddie corner with the microwave and blender for babies is really good although kids buffet is nothing special . Cats everywhere my boys now wants a pet cat ! Overall good hotel could be better .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Barry and Family,
We are very pleased to read your review regarding the holiday at our hotel. All our team members work very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a fantastic time at the Barut Hemera. We are happy that we were able to provide you with this. Your commendation on our animation team has been recognised and passed on to the management. Thank you very much for your time. We would love the opportunity to be your hosts again when you visit Antalya.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our first visit to Turkey and therefore to the Hemera and so we were not sure what to expect. We were quietly impressed. We visited for a week at the end of October and were aware that the switch from the Summer Season to the Winter Season happened on the 1 November. We were pleased that we didn't notice much difference!

The hotel is set in attractive grounds with rooms in different blocks. Ours had an view over the pool - not sure any would have had a sea view - and it was comfortable, had all the amenities you would hope for and was kept spotlessly clean. There was a balcony but we didn't make any use of that.

The pool area was well equipped with loungers and beach towels and was surprisingly quiet. There is a water slide for the little (and big) kids and although there was music playing all day long it was tasteful and not over powering. There are also loungers on grassed areas with views out to sea as well as on the beach.

Food in the main restaurant was excellent, buffet style and a different menu each day. We also enjoyed the snack bar near the beach for lunch.

The food in the al a carte restaurants was superb but bear in mind that not all of them are open in the winter season. They are bookable through an electronic terminal a day or two in advance but as each one doesn't cater for a lot of people it is worth trying to book early. In theory you can have one visit to each of the al a carte restaurants per week, but if you ask Guest Relations nicely it may be possible to go again.

The public rooms are pleasant enough, but as some other reviewers have said, the some of the chairs in the main lobby bar are looking worn. Hopefully the refurbishment over the winter will sort that out.

The entertainments team work hard to put on the different shows. Some are quite ambitious, some I just didn't 'get' at all. They also bring in other groups and the Africa Show was incredible. We didn't have children with us but the hotel seemed to have some nice touches - for example there was an area off the main restaurant with a TV showing children's programmes where families could eat and the children could be kept amused.

Other good points about the Hemera - despite what you might think from the guest information books, WiFi is available free of charge upto 500mb of usage. Also the Hemera was the best hotel we've been to for late departures. Our flight home was 2.00am and although room check out was noon we had use of a courtesy room with a locker to keep out hand luggage in and a couple of showers. All the facilities of the hotel remained available to us so we enjoyed our last day as much as the rest of the holiday.

Staff always seemed friendly and Guest Relations rang us after a couple of days just to make sure we were happy with everything.

Location wise the Hemera is about 50 minutes transfer from the airport and 30 minutes walk from the centre of the old town of Side along a pedestrian promenade. We walked in a couple of times, saw the amphitheatre and the other historical sites, and if we went again possibly wouldn't worry about going into Side again.

So, all in all, very happy with the Hemera and would happily go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Bluebarnabus,
We are absolutely delighted to read that we were able to impress you with our faultless service and friendly staff, attractive grounds, the active entertainment team and spotless areas. We appreciate you have taken the time to share your thoughts about your first visit to the Barut Hemera with our recent and future guests on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in a future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Address: Bingesik Mevki, Side, Manavgat 07330 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Side
#7 Spa Hotel in Side
#9 Luxury Hotel in Side
#12 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barut Hemera 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barut Hemera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.