We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Side Star Elegance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Side Star Elegance to your Saves list
Side Star Elegance
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumkoy Side, Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey (Formerly Hotel Asteria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 234 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South West England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in the Asteria mid June 2013. Had a very enjoyable holiday and the hotel is great. It is geared for the German market which isn't really a problem although at times it seemed they got served before you which could be a little frustrating if you're very hot & thirsty (especially at the pool bar & sometimes the beach bar) & just want to be served a drink! Was more of a problem at mealtimes there. May possibly be to the staff having a better knowledge of the the German language then English. Saying that, the majority of the staff were very helpful & friendly so wasn't a massive problem.

All inclusive here at the moment is exceptional. Included was 24 hour bar (including named brand spirits & all cocktails!); re-stocked daily room fridge with beer, soft drinks, water, juices; towels for pool/beach; free wi-fi; room service for 12-6am; ice creams & cakes all day; sunloungers on beach. And a nice touch is tall drinks fridges even by the beach!

Pool is lovely & never seemed to get over busy. Beach & sea are gorgeous too. Was a little busier but you always seemed to get a lounger.

Down side was that our room was at the front of the hotel & this road is busy, even at the early hours, with traffic & noise from a couple of bars. Could still hear it with patio doors shut. Also it's a long walk to the restaurants & facilities from here. Apparently the British tourists are put there according to a couple of British guests I spoke to! Not sure how true that is though. Would have asked to be moved but we had three rooms between us (with teenagers who loved this place) so didn't want to be split as these were together. The other downside is the time it can take to be served at the pool & beach bars at busy times.

Saying that I would go back to this hotel again as the good points outway the few bad :D

Room Tip: Definitely ask to be moved if you are put on the busy road. This is the front of the hotel & th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    89
    26
    15
    6
See reviews for
112
118
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

just returned from the asteria 4/6/13 the hotel is built on the hill side and as a number of steps down to the pool / beach area , plenty of germans but no problem , the food and the services we recived was first class could not do any more for you the bedrooms where clean every day and the all place was spot less roll on 2014 hols.

Room Tip: sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here Oct 2012 ( 2 adults 1 child ) what a fantastic holiday food is great our 12 yr old is a picky eater but here we had no problem with his eating he loves his meat and had half a chicken every day for dinner at the pool side bar and in the evening there was always something he could have in the main restaurant, everyone is friendly here and yes it does cater mainly for Germans but im sure youll agree when we go on holiday you want to feel on holiday so just nod and smile as a smile goes along way, everyone acknowledges and understands a smile. the location is good (even though the hotel it self has many steps) you can walk out the font of the hotel and either way you go you will come across shops if you turn left out side the front keep walking and there are plenty more shops, if you walk along the beach as many have said b4 you will come to side town also a great place. the beach is wonderful and is also great for a stroll ( remember to take water with you ) i can not comment about the pool its self as we spent our time on the beach. the rooms are big we paid for sea view and well worth paying for. entertainment - we only watched one show as we always had a stroll out after our evening meal but the entertainment staff are wonderful, they came up to the bar when they had finished and mingled with everyone, the weather was very changeable and ive never seen rain as bad but it was fun even when the power went out for a short time. One thing i forgot to mention about the room - the shower/bathroom has a slash blind - all i can say is make sure its turned the right way as you can see into the shower from the bedroom. we will be going back this year if we can get in as this is a very popular Hotel - it was only by luck we got in last year, what are you waiting for go book it..

Room Tip: get a sea view its worth that bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 and even though the hotel caters mainly for German guests thorougly enjoyed it.The hotel is built on the hillside and the several levels and various numbering systems caused a bit of confusion at first.The first night the restaurant seemed vary chaotic not helped by the loss of outside dining because of the weather.After the first night the food was excellent and the choice is good.The pool snack bar did a good choice of food each lunchtime all freshly cooked and everything full of flavour.Service is good the hotel is on the beach and there is a nice walk along the promenade into Side.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look onto a road and are a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. Drinks on arrival, rooms were big, clean, mini bar stocked daily. We had a bit of a rubbish view from our balcony but the rest of the party had nice views. Massive pool, clean. Gorgeous beach, hotel is on the beach so you don't have to walk far to get to the sea. 9 bars, so you can choose a different one each night. 24 hour all inclusive so you can drink the night away if you wish, Nightly shows, bit cheesy but no different from any where else ive been, the last day of our trip one of our party fell ill and was hospitalized. Every one traveled home but i stayed as i didnt want to leave my friend. The hotel couldn't have been any more helpful. I had no where to stay as we had already checked out. The hotel had no rooms spare as it was middle of july and they were fully booked. But they had a room which they called the maids room, it had no windows, was extremely warm, but it was clean and a place to sleep and they let me stay there free of charge, they helped me to and from the hospital and also let me use the hotels facilities free of charge and they even packed me up a pack lunch each day to take the the hospital for my friend. again, free of charge. when my friend was discharged after 6 days we couldn't get a flight home for a further 4 days so again the hotel let us stay in the maids room free of charge. For them 10 days extra we stayed i don't know what id have done without the hotel staff. They came to the hospital and translated what was being said, they helped with calling the insurance company, they drove me about, they were truly amazing. Our holiday was fantastic but the service asteria provided and the help they gave was priceless. Ive since returned to asteria and i will continue to do so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

have recently returned from this lovely hotel stayed only for the week but so wished it was for longer, yes the hotel is aimed at the german market but so what with the free flowing drinks and food i have no doubt that some brits would just get drunk eveynight. the hotel is high up on a perch so plenty of steps to get to each bar area but for us it wasnt a problem however maybe diffrent if you a bit weak with the legs,the service here is excellant all the staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable rooms are ok need updating slightly but are cleaned every day and the mini bar gets stocked up every morning with soft drinks etc.the food well its just delicious lots of fish dishies and everything else in between with a diffrent menu every evening. hotel is right on a well kept beach nice clear sea to swim in. a 40 min walk along the sea front takes you to old side with its wonderfull monuments etc. we really recomend this hotel for a lovely relaxing break. the only thing i can not comment on is the entertainment team simply becouse we went towards the end of october and things winding down somewhat however we went with my son of 15 so he wasnt bothered anyway unfortuntely IRON MAIDEN was fully booked this week....anyway listen go your love it !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for two weeks in September 2012.we upgraded to a sea side view as the standard rooms were next to a busy road, and we were not disapointed as the room was located in the new annex building with wonderful views across the bay to the harbour of Side.The room was clean and tidy with balcony on the 4th floor with easy access via lift.The food in the dinning room was very good and there was plenty of it with themed nights every night.You could dine inside or out on the terrace.There were also an Italian,Chinese,Turkish resurants to visit.The service was excellent in all the bars and there were a few in this hotel. All the staff were polite.All in all a good relaxing 2 weeks in the sun around a nice pool or on the hotels own beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Side Star Elegance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Star Elegance

Address: Kumkoy Side, Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey (Formerly Hotel Asteria)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 234 Hotels in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Side Star Elegance 4.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are separated in 3 categories: “Standard Room“, “Suite Room” and “Family Room” which are designed in modern style. Room features are detailed below.Standard RoomCarpet Floor, Twin bed or French Bed, Air conditioning(timed), Balcony, Mini Bar, Electronic Safe Box, Satellite-TV, Music Channel on TV, Telephone, Bathroom (with bathtub), hairdryer, cosmetic mirror. Standard rooms are at land side or seaside.Family RoomOur Family rooms consist of two floors. On the ground floor; living room with a large terrace and a sofa group, WC/bathroom, 1 double, 1 single bed & on the upper floor; toilet/shower-Jacuzzi bath and a bedroom with double bed. Other features are the same as standard rooms; a TV on each levels, mini bar and air conditioning exist. In addition to standard room’s features, there is coffee maker.Suite Room Our suite rooms, which consist of a bedroom (double bed) and living room, are located on the upper floors. All have a direct sea view. In addition to standard room’s features, there is coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Side Star Elegance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Side Star Elegance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.