We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barut Arum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barut Arum to your Saves list
Barut Arum
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumkoy Yolu PK.78, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in Side
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 10 days at the Barut Arum hotel. It is well positioned with a 40 minute walk into Side, some people say 20 mins but its not. The walk is along a paved wide flat walkway which is lit up at night an perfectly safe.
The hotel was faultless. The food excellent, we were half board. The presentation was 1st class, there were chefs and managers on the floor at all times welcoming you. Our room was on the sixth floor well designed, apart from no drawer space! Also probably one of the smallest rooms which was a shame as we were there for 10 days.
We did a jeep safari booked through Thompson which was good but over priced you can get the same trip booked in Side for half the price. We did another 2 trips booked in Side to a Hamman which was excellent also had a facial and threading done. The other trip was to the Sapadere Canyon full day for 30 euros including lunch and visit to Antalya.
The resort is predominantly German tourists and the Turks speak more German than English but they manage to communicate quite well with the Brit minority.
Entertainment at the hotel was ok.
You can catch a dolmus bus outside the hotel or anywhere along the road for 2 lire into Side. We also went to Manavgat to see the waterfall you need to get second bus from Manavgat to waterfalls outside Burger King there are usually men there to help you.
Overall very good holiday lots to see and do. A trip into the mountains is well worth it to get a different slant on the area.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    121
    50
    17
    6
See reviews for
278
255
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel, wonderful room (side sea view) cleanest pools I've seen on holiday. Food was fantastic, careful or you will put pounds on, plenty of healthy options. Good location, easy walk into Side centre. Fantasia bar less than 10 mins walk, very friendly staff and good fun. We had a great holiday, thanks to all staff.

Room Tip: Pick sea view or side sa view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked this on a bit of an impulse online and kind of regretted it at first, not having been to this part of Turkey before, but I was so glad I did it! This is a lovely hotel...spacious, clean, on the beach (the hotel has its own private section), great food. Soon to be all inclusive for all guests - we were B & B which suited us as we don't always like to eat in the hotel, although it wouldn't have been a hardship as the food was truly fabulous! Such variety I have never seen! On the occasions we did have dinner here, we found the price very reasonable - you just pay a fixed amount and help yourself as many times as you like! The Palmiye restaurant where the buffet meals are served is massive and never seemed crowded, with further seating outside. On arrival, you receive your key cards, the colour of which tell you what board you are on. This is a cashless hotel - when you want to buy anything, you just hand over the card and you get a receipt which you sign and then get a copy of. You can settle up at reception whenever you want. All inclusive guests don't even have to do this - you just flash your card and because the colour of it tells the staff your board basis, they just serve you with whatever you want. Guests here are predominantly German, and the staff will greet you in this language first, but are quick to apologise when they realise their mistake! Some of the staff are now taking additional English lessons and are keen to let you know this! The grounds and gardens of the hotel are spotlessly clean, with many pools and loads of sunbeds - didn't have any problem baggsing 3 each day, although it was early in the season and I expect it might be a bit trickier as the season progresses! I did have one disappointment, however. I booked this holiday through tour operator Thomson and let them know that the purpose of this trip was to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. I received an email from them telling me they had let the hotel know and that hopefully the hotel would take this into account. Sadly, there was no acknowledgement of this special occasion whatsoever, not even as much a complimentary drink on arrival. It kind of put a dampener on the holiday for me, as there was not that personal touch that you could be assured of on a package holiday in years gone by. Probably why this was the first package we've been on for many, many years. Needless to say, if we go again to this hotel, it will not be through a tour operator. Also, having spoken to other British guests, the rooms allocated to our tour operators seemed to be all at the front overlooking a dusty dumping ground (although still spacious and clean)! Funniest moment...Turkish singer in the bar one night was belting out Living Next Door to Alice, only he was innocently adding the unfortunate line that we Brits add..."Alice...who the **** is Alice?" Hahahaha!!!

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room overlooking the gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I took the opportunity to have a look on tripadvisor prior to booking our holiday and was pleasantly surprised to find that previous reviews were very accurate. The hotel caters primarily for German guests but that certainly shouldn't deter other nationalities from staying here. All staff seem to have an excellent level of English, German and French and are very hospitable delivering first rate service. We stayed on half board which was just right for us as it allowed us to go on day trips without missing paid for meals.

Side town centre is about 40 minutes walk along the beach front but it's a pleasant walk with bars and restaurants along the way but once in Side there is lots to see.

The holiday rep (Julie) was great and offered several local trips at reasonable prices. Perge and Aspendos were particularly good.

Overall, the hotel was clean, tidy and the food was well presented with plenty of selection. The Arum caters well for families with plenty of activities for all. I rarely return to the same resort twice as i like to venture out and find new places but this was one hotel that i would certainly return to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in March 2013. Check in experience was efficient and we were in our room within 10 minutes of arriving.

The rooms are fitted to a high standard and spacious. the beds very comfy, the bathroom had a walk in shower which was lovely. There was a nice selection of complementary toiletries. I was a little surprised to find no alarm clock in our room, it would have been helpful.

The diningroom was spacious and we had no problem finding tables. The food was displayed to a high standard, the patisserie in particular were beautiful. the menus in general offered a large variety each mealtime and was always to a high standard. It was reassuring to see the head chef supervising the food each mealtime, Service was effiecient without being intrusive.

The public areas were all maintained to the highest standards. The main bar area was pleasant in the evenings, however the entertainment could do with a makeover as it was quite monotonous after the first couple of evenings as mostguests tended to stay at the hotel in the evenings as most of the bars in the vicinity closed around 7 pm. The drinks were ok, the wine was expensive if you wanted somethinh halfway decent. The Efes beer was very good though.

The pool area and grounds were very pleasant and restful, the sunbeds comfy. We would haveappreciated some waiter service whilst sunbathing though. The pool was very cool, but you could use the indoor pol, which was very nice. The spa was good, can recomend trying the Turkish bath experience, yo frrl lovely and extraordinarily clean when you come out. Beware though the other continental guests tend to use the spa unclothed!

We had a room with a disapointing view over the building site of the adjacent hotel, but there was only minimal noise disturbance, It was also disapointing to fin that only the German guests were offered an all inclusive option, I am sure it would have been appreciated by the other nationalities also staying at the hotel.

Overall, an excellent hotel with extremely well trained staff, who go the extra mile to make you feel special. I would definitely return to this hotel when I want a relaxing week away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much in early March. The walk on the seafront was very pleasant and we walked the path most days. It took us 25 minutes to reach the old town and the harbour. The old town is not big but there are lots of ancient ruins to explore. The shop keepers were friendly and would invite us into their shops but they let us go when we showed no sign of interest.

We took three trips out - Antalya, Manavgat and Alanya from a tour agent in the old town of Side. Prices were lower than Thomson's. The trip to Antalya (10 Euro per person) was stressful because we were taken to a jewellery factory and a leather factory and were pressurized into buying. The other two outings were very enjoyable. We liked the boat trip on the river in Manavgat (15 Euro each) and we bought Turkish delight at the market. They were cheaper than those in Side. Alanya (25 Euro each) is a beautiful seaside town. Lunches were included in these two trips. The tour agents seemed to work together. I don't think it matters much which agency you book with as long as they are licensed.

Toilet is always charged for - either 1 Lira or 50 cents in Euro. They were not always clean. Some proprietors exploited their locations and charged double.

Prices of goods were in Euro. Shop keepers gave different rates when paid in Lira. This was confusing.

Fish is plentiful in Turkey, especially trout. The dinner buffet in the hotel as well as the trips to Manavgat and Alanya provided fish in their menu. They were tasty. The buffet in the hotel was full of variety and well presented. It was difficult to resist the food, especially the desserts. I particularly liked the salad - stuffed veg, olives, pickled chili, tomatoes in various forms. Various sorts of fruit tea were also provided. Drinks were not included but they were not expensive.

One of the highlights of out trip is the Turkish bath and the message. They were expensive but there was no way to tell whether we had been over charged. However, the message was thorough and gentle which was different to what we had experienced in Thailand.

The hotel provided each of us 1 GB of free internet usage which was enough for our stay. We used it to access the BBC news and UK newspapers because the hotel TV showed only CNN and Euro news channels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Second time at this hotel in 4 years. Good value for money after booking with Thomson. Weather was ok, on average 19-21 degrees with a bit of cloud for early March, a few rainy days. The highlight of the hotel if you book half-board or all inclusive is the food. There is so much to choose from at the buffet restaurant, with different food theme every night. The hotel has many facilities. The spa offers Turkish bath, indoor pool and sauna which are free to use, as well as a gym. Room was cleaned almost everyday and new bed sheets were put on every day. Complimentary bath robes and slippers are provided for guests which are handy when walking to the spa. This time of year there was no option to have snacks during the day. Only downside was all snack bars were closed including pool bar, the only alternative was to pay 30TL PP for buffet lunch. The beach front bar was open but only for drinks. The main road outside hotel is currently a building site. A new hotel is being built next door but noise is nothing to worry about. Again, early in the year there are no restaurants open on the main road, only a few supermarkets and shops. If you want to explore in the evenings or daytime, take a Dolmus bus into Side or Manavgat around (1.75TL PP) which has a large choice of restaurants. There is a Dolmus stop right outside the hotel on main road. There is a huge stretch of beach and promenade where you can walk to Side in around 40 mins. Activities at hotel on offer include table tennis, Tennis (extra charge 18TL) giant chess board, crazy golf, archery, beach volleyball. If you want an excursion, I highly recommend the Jeep Safari. We booked with our rep - £44 PP and the jeeps hold around 7-9 people and includes lunch, trip to waterfalls, off road up to the mountains and into the old towns and ancient roman ruins (drinks not included). Great day out and you see parts of Turkey you wouldn't see with a car or on foot in and around the resort. Overall staff on reception and around the hotel were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful, clean hotel throughout, modern and spacious and good facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barut Arum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Arum

Address: Kumkoy Yolu PK.78, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Side
#2 Luxury Hotel in Side
#4 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barut Arum 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Barut Arum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hotels Arum Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Arum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barut Arum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.