We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gul Restaurant - CLOSED

Gul Restaurant
Gul Cad. No.16, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
0555214 0046
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Faversham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate at Gul last week and were really impressed. There is a lovely sea view from the open terrace, the food was great - the best we had in Side, the kids were kept entertained by the (tucked away) play area and Fistik the dog. Very friendly without being intrusive which had been a problem elsewhere. We are returning to Side next year and will definately be visiting Gul again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    31
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“More than good fod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited this the Gul after reading reviews and was not disappointed. The food was excellent as was the welcome, the view and the atmosphere. The owner also entertained us with his numerous wooden puzzles. There was no doorman to try and hassle you inside and we enjoyed the Gul very much. Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will always come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Me and my partner went to Side three times last year and first time we came to Side and this lovely restaurant we just had to ask for direction to one shop (we went up the stairs because noone was said anything or try to drag us in, the best deciccion we made). The owner was really helpful and so his Swedish wive. No hustel or nasty coments, we borrow their toilet (very clean and well looked after) before we should go and we decided that we will stay for one drink-have not regrett it for 1 second. The restaurant was quit crowded so we got a table in behind but when one table was avalible with view of the street we was offerd to sitt there so one thing led to another, we asked for the menue and decided that we will come back another day because we already been eating that evening.
We came back already next evening and the owner and his wive was as pleasant and polite as the day before, we came around 19 and after just half hour the restaurant became very crowded and everyone (what i could see) was treated in same good way as us-and this i think help it to be a relaxed restaurant where you feels important. We order our dinner and if we had any questions the wive could easly explain in swedish to us. We order one bottle of wine and two different kinds of kebabs (Saray kebab and Gul special kebab) and both of us was stunned because the taste was amazing, much flavor and it was well composed and absolutly good value for our money. Since that day we have been there many times and i cant wait to pay them several visits again in may, august and late october.
This is a must to try this restaurant when you are on holiday in Side-you will not regrett it!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Timeless perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you are looking for 5* style with all the trimming go elsewhere and pay for it. There are plenty who will charge you a lot more than this unpretentious little restaurant that seems only to wish to please. Great food great service and nice view if you get the right table.
I have been going to Side for a long time and I always drop by. Never fails to make you feel 'home'
The rest of Side may be getting posher by the day but this place retains the timeless quality of its location and the hospitality and welcome that has long gone in other 'successful' places.
Look forward to meeting Ahmet and Missus again soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great food, the owner was a fabulous host and food was lovely, with a good selection on the menu, i chose fish which was very good and my partner had the chefs special which he thoroughly enjoyed, would definitely return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gul Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gul Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.