We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Dragon Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Evrenseki Beldesi, Side, Manavgat, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 230 Hotels in Side
Inverness, Scotland.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Back last weekend from a week's stay at The Royal Dragon Hotel and I can't really fault it. More food than I have ever seen at an all inclusive hotel and plenty of different places to eat at. You can use the buffet, which is huge, or the beach which has a decent selection or at the pool which has a large selection of foods served over the lunch period which is found by the larger of the pool bars, also the cake room is open until midnight and the snack area is open all night, which has a selection of food laid out buffet style or the chef will make you thing's such as burger and chip's etc. We were directed here when we arrived at about 1am after a quick and efficient check in, it was nice to sit and have a drink before we went to our rooms.
Our room was lovely, clean, spacious and very comfortable, our balcony looked out at the hotel pool next door and quite a lot of building work to the right, this is a town that appears to be growing fast, with lot's of new buildings and shopping centres in the middle of being built, the rooms seem to be well sound proofed as we never heard anything.
The 2 bar's in the reception area are large and comfortable with waiters/waitresses milling around to take your order, we never waited long for a drink. The staff are very helpful, but hardly ever smiled, so most of the time they looked as if they would rather be anywhere else but there!
We didn't have any children with us so didn't really use the fair/water park, the couple of times we wandered in there we only saw the slides opened once and the fair was never open, but it was in the week before the peak season.
The pools are brilliant, very clean, quite cold but worth it when you went in. More than enough sunbed's, the only moan I have regarding them is that the plastic arms and surround were roasting, far too hot to touch and the hotel's towel's are the most meagre and un-befitting and poor quality I have ever seen for such a lovely hotel. Also why do some holiday maker's seem to think that everyone around the pool want to hear all their business and are so loud and rude that they spoil everyone's relaxation, and I am not talking about children!
We ate at the oriental restaurant which I really enjoyed, you are allowed one free meal at one of the A La Carte restaurants, but if you want to eat in another one it will cost 30 Euros per person!
We used the games room a couple of times, 10 pin bowling was a good laugh, there's a bar there also.
We didn't use the indoor pool, it always seemed to be full of children. The gym look's good and there were always quite a few people in there, I think I should of used it to burn off some of the (many) calories I consumed!
We were not able to keep our room on after noon on the day we left, but to be honest it would of cost a fortune, we stored our luggage in a room by the reception desk (which is not locked, so any one can go in), and showered in the Spa. I was really disappointed with this as there is only 1 shower for each sex and when the shower room door is opened any one standing in the reception area can see you, if there a lot of people checking out at the same time it will be very busy. You will be given a (very) small towel to use, we kept the one from the pool (you get clean ones every morning which you can change later in the day if you want), but remember to hand it back by 6pm when the towel place closes, otherwise you will have to pay for it.
All in all we had a fabulous time and I will be returning, can't wait.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool is away from all the building work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    148
    57
    31
    24
See reviews for
481
134
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ardrossan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks at the royal dragon hotel with my husband, parents and my children (1+5) ! The hotel was very impressive, it was large but very homely! Every part of the hotel was decorated and furnished to a very high standard! The cleaning staff were excellent, the hotel was spotless! The maids cleaned the rooms and changed the towels everyday and were very friendly! The buffet was excellent, I don't eat meat and i still had a lot of choice, the kids restaurant was joined onto the main restaurant and had fruit, fruit juice, deserts, salads, pizza, fish fingers, chicken nuggets, chips, spag bol and a few other things! In our second week we went to the aqua park/funfair/pools and realized that it was the best place to go during the day! Its great for kids of all ages (and grown ups) as there are pools with slides and a baby pool! The slides are open 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour in the afternoon! The beach and sea are very clean with soft sand and had water sports available! Our room was very nice it had a mini bar and a tv but no British tv channels! The bathrooms were lovely but the bath is quite small! There are ramps and lifts everywhere for people with push chairs or wheel chairs! There's a lot of shops 5 min walk from the hotel, they are a lot cheaper than the one's in the hotel! The bus stop is next to the shops, they are every couple of minutes! If you wanted to go for a drink outside the hotel you would need to get a taxi or bus because there are no bars anywhere in the area! The entertainment was the only thing that let the hotel down, there wasn't much to do at night and got very boring but i think that is because we went in April! Overall the hotel is excellent and i would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel and deserves the 5 star rating, outstanding hospitality and very clean and ontop of things straight away. Lots of children running around can get a bit annoying after a while but what can you do, we went as a couple and still enjoyed it. Would defo go back. Free use of the spa! Yes free! Drinks and food brought to you without having to lift a muscle! A beach and water park also! Want to rebook now! Lol

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel for a friends wedding and on the whole it was very good.
Food was excellent with extensive choices every night in the buffet. Always served hot, which is always a bonus :) Pool area was large and water spotlessly clean although very cold as still early in the season. Good range of restaurants and bars on site. Italian was very nice. Can highly recommend the Fried Chicken at the pool and the flat bread cooked by the ladies in the little Turkish tent near the beach.
Excellent water park on site with great slides, also a small funfair although we never saw this in action.
We paid a small amount extra for a sea view. Although the beach is a fair way away we were given a huge room on the 4th floor in the main building 4210, which had excellent views down over the main pool area and to the sea, with a large balcony.
Almost forgot, we spent a couple of great fun nights in the bowling alley, at about 5 euros per person it was well worth the money :)

Downside, the hotel inside is incredibly dark with no natural light and a bit depressing. Some of the rooms are hard to find and down very dark corridors, looks like the hotel has had extensions and nothing flows. Entertainment in the lobby bar was repetitive and not particularly enjoyable. The Michael Jackson show (the only one we saw as the the first night of full season was our last) was dire and very unprofessional in my opinion. I'm not a fan of Jackson but others in the party were and also walked out. (My wife enjoyed it)
If you are not keen on screaming kids, give the place a miss.
The beach has a blue ribbon award but I wasn't keen on going in the water as there was kind of a dirty film on top and it was a bit murky. Maybe the time of year?
The alcohol is only local brand and always tasted a bit cheap and nasty. I like Efes beer usually but found it hard to drink in this hotel for some reason!?
The beds are rock hard and we only got a good night sleep after a fair bit of booze. Also the aircon in the room was non existent. I was told by someone its centrally controlled as the dial in the room was useless?

Paid for a package in the Spa consisting of Turkish Bath, Facial treatment and Full Body Massage. It was cold in the bath area and the guy was less than thorough, the facial consisted of being painted with some green mud stuff and left in a room for 10 mins. The massage was good although after it I had to endure some hard sell by a guy telling me about all the back and neck problems which I already knew I had. I have had a bad back for years but this gut swore he could fix it in four sessions, for 160 Euros! Maybe some less strong guests would part with their cash as although he sounded very knowledgeable he was very persuasive and relentless in his quest for a sale.



A few of us walked along the beach to Side. Took about an hour and a half. Was really enjoyable seeing all the other hotels bars etc but was hard work in the unusually hot temperatures for April.
Enjoyed a couple of decent beers in town and got the Dolmus back for only 3 TL (about £1.20)
Side is a beautiful town with great Amphitheatre and the Temple of Apollo down by the harbour. It is ruined though somewhat by the ever pushy men standing by their shops and bars trying their best to attract you. I'm used to this and quite enjoy the banter but this time there was a bit of an aggressive undertone by a few of them which ruined a night out for my wife and I when one guy called me a liar when I walked past his restaurant and didn't go in for the meal he had previously invited us in for. We certainly made no promises to return and the experience distressed my wife to the point of us leaving Side early, just to get away from the area.
Unfortunately we threw the card away so don't have the restaurants name, but it was on the right corner of Zambak Str. as you turn to go to Ocakbasi (where we ate and the food was good, staff excellent)

Also enjoyed a beautiful wedding day at Manavgat Waterfalls. Nice place to see for an hour or two if you get the chance. We were lucky enough to witness the falls in good flow as the snow melt was sweeping down from the mountains :)

All in all another great week in Turkey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

just back from a week at the royal dragon (21-29 april) there were 7 of us staying there aged 24-33.
what an amazing place!
we arived at 3.30am, check in was quick and the staff friendly, the belboy took our cases for us and we were told that there was breakfast if we wanted and to return to reception once settled and we would be taken there (belboy expects a tip btw)
we were then taken to one of the many food halls where we had breakfast, it was continental and was very nice
after a few hours sleep we were back down fo more breakfast haha, the main food hall is huge, with all manner of food. although a lot of it was not what we were used to seeing it was not hard to fill your plate up every night, even fussy eaters would cope! this rooms open for lunch and dinner too
the pool area is quite breathtaking! its gorgeous!! the pool is lagoon style and is fab....its also freezing when you first enter but after a few seconds you come accustomed to it, i am a non swimmer and im quite scared of open water so i was pleased to find that the pool is 4.10 meter all the way through (excluding children areas) so i could stand in it and it reached my shoulders, the pools open 8am to 7pm after this is cleaned so your not allowed in.
there are plenty loungers to choose from and a long bar and food area to the left, you can get different types of fod at differnt times, lunch is fried chicken and a few other yummy things and at 2pm you can have doughnuts and other fattners haha there's an ice-cream stand to but it wasnt open long
the towel collection desk is there too.
we didnt spend much time at the beach area for the hotel as it was quite breezy but we did go down so a few of the group could go paragliding and the beach was clean and again plenty loungers, and has anice food bit too
the hotel is in a good spot to do a bit of shopping, thers a few shops a few minuets walk away.
we walked into side which took us just over an hour.
if you get a taxi to side or manavgat then it will cost you 35/40 lira each way and takes about 10/15 minutes.
thers a lot of building work going on outside the hotel as there are other hotels being built but it doent effect your stay at all.
the bedrooms are spotless, the maids do a great job. you get plenty of hanging soace, a free safe, a hairdryer, the balcony is small but all you need and had a clothes hanging rail (3 bars)
the mini bar is filled daily and you get soft and fizzy juice water and beer.
the hotel has plenty to do, many bars, a nightclub, bowling (pay) games room, spa, shops etc
all the staff are very friendly and happy to help.
thers a water park but it was only open 2 hours each day as it was just the beginning of the season, a couple of our group used it and said it was fab! we didnt use the fairground so couldnt comment on that.
the etertainment staff are really nice and you see them floating about all day they are friendly and you can have a good laugh with them, theres activities on at the poolside everyday. we went to one of the shows at night.....it was called broadway, and it was the team miming and dancing to broadway hits! it wasnt great but it was tsill a laugh, they do try and like i say its a laugh, dont go expecting something by prof actors/singers thats not what they are, so go with an open mind and ready to have a laugh.
like everyone else has said there are a lot of Germans at the hotel, we never had any problems with them and spoke to quite a few. everyone's entitled to a holiday so you shouldnt go judging a place by the country's that want to go there!!!!!
theres alovely balcony to have drinks on thats just off the reception lounge area, you will see a half circle with the stairs to go down to food/beach its just beside them. you get a lovely view of the pool and sea
there a re a few stary cats that live at he hotel (outside) you will see them at breakfast etc looking for food, they are all super friendly so please feed them, they ahve a wee water and food station at the back entrance to the hotel......at night outside the back gates you will find a few stary dogs again they are all really friendly and just looking for a we bit of food...i took to sneeking ham and cheese out for them every night. like i say they are ALL friendly so dont be alarmed if one or a few start following you for attention.
when you go out the back entrance you can see a peer/harbour to your right if you walk along the walk way and beach you will reach it and can walk around it....you can also see turtles swimming about in it if you look hard enough, at night the locals go fishing here and its nice to watch, you will also see the best view of the sunset here which is lovely.


all in all this place is just amazing! i really couldnt fault it at all. one of the best holidays we have had, id defiantly return here and iv been recommending it to everyone haha.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were a family of 10 staying (4 kids age 4, 5, 7 & 8) between 23 Apr - 30 Apr. We all booked spearately through thomas cook and got this holiday for a very good price when booking in August 2012. The hotel was immaculate. Impressive from the moment we stepped into the grand reception. The were constantly working to maintain a high standard if cleanliness. Staff were all friendly and courteous throughout our stay. Our party was all upgraded to duplex rooms close to each other which was an added bonus when arriving at 3am. Although we were too tired to eat when we arrived,there is food and drink available 24/7. All the food choice is outstanding if you like to try new flavours and cuisines. If you are just interested in standard english food then there is limited options. Our kids enjoyed the spaghetii bolognaise. Lunchtime by the pool however there was fried chicken and pizza. The pattiserie and dessert options were out of this world (I am dessert lover). The temperatures started at 24°C when we arrived and increased to 31°C by the time we left. Ideal for us. We spent most of the holiday by the pool where there were plenty of loungers. The one day we tried the beach it was so hot we decided to go back to the pool so cannot comment on the beach bar and restaurant. The water park and fairground were open for 2 hours each at different times and were not busy. This was plenty of time to use all the slides and rides we wanted. The outdoor pool was amazing if a little cold on arrival. By the end of the holiday it was welcome relief from the heat. The indoor pool was also open for the duration of our stay. The children took advantage of all the pools, park, fairground and slides and enjoyed the novelty of being able to get food and drink when they wanted.
This hotel is ideal if you dont want to venture too far away from resort. We got taxis to Side market which was a typical turkish market with bargains available if you barter. There are also a few shops and pharmacies about 200m away form the hotel with similar merchandise. No need to go anywhere else.
The only negative I have is that the air-con in all the rooms was blowing warm air. This is turned on at management discretion and because we were slighlty out of season, it was left off. This made sleeping uncomfortable for some of the family.
The children are already asking when we can go back!!

Room Tip: During quiet holiday periods, email the hotel in advance for free upgrade on room. They will try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

stayed here from 21/4 -28/4, the hotel definitely meets its 5* rating, very friendly staff
and very tolerant as we were in a party of 40 for a wedding.
the hotel is very clean and looked after, there was building work going on outside and very dusty if you left the hotel,but their only trying to build the place up into a better resort, the food in the resturants was outstanding,and something for every taste. the beach is very good and safe with plenty of watersports,
we will definitely be returning to this hotel next year, side town is a sight to see with the ancient ruins and shopping streets, give it a go you will not be disappointed, weather between 27 and 39 degrees when we were there, however we were told that was unusual for this time of year by an English bar owner in side town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Address: Evrenseki Beldesi, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Side
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#15 Family Hotel in Side
#15 Romantic Hotel in Side
#18 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.