We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Dragon Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Dragon Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Evrenseki Beldesi, Side, Manavgat, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 230 Hotels in Side
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from an October half-term holiday (one week) at the Royal Dragon Hotel. Overall, the visit was excellent - thoroughly enjoyed by all the family. On balance, I would say that the holiday was the best that I have ever had.

The hotel was spotlessly clean. The hotel had many staff regularly cleaning. Bathrooms and rooms were immaculate.

We were delighted with our room. We opted for a two-storey duplex room. My wife and I slept upstairs and had our own bathroom, while my teenage children slept in twin beds, and had their own shower and WC. This gave the family plenty of space to spread out and two bathrooms were much appreciated! The showers in the room were absolutely superb, and the hot water was always hot.

The air conditioning didn't seem very effective and was quite noisy, so we were pleased that we were not there in the middle of summer. We ended up opening the door to the balcony to keep the room cool.

Being October, the hotel was fairly quiet, which we loved. No issues with getting sunbeds at any time of the day and the weather was very kind to us, averaging 25C.

There were very few English guests at the hotel, and there were many German guests, although this wasn't a problem.

Staff were generally very friendly and attentive. They got to know us as we progressed through the week.

Overall, the food was excellent. We had one meal in the Chinese a la carte restaurant (which we were disappointed in) but we very impressed with the normal buffet restaurant. The Chinese restaurant lacked authentic Chinese cooks. We regret not trying the Turkish a la carte restaurant instead.

Breakfasts were absolutely superb, with a massive choice on offer. I became addicted to their wonderful omelettes and pancakes.

For lunch, there was excellent choice in the normal buffet restaurant, although we ate most of our lunches in the pool cafe. There was a nice selection of food. We would have become very fat using the buffet restaurant for lunch and dinner!

Dinners were always excellent - with an outstanding choice of hot and cold food, which was varied throughout the week. Hopefully, the photos I took do the food justice. We tended to find that the food that was being freshly cooked was the best.

My children really appreciated being able to help themselves to food and drink throughout the day - such as slushies, donuts and ice cream. I loved the cocktails and the almond liqueur.

There was no WiFi access in rooms, although free WiFi was available in the lobby and by the pool. This was quite slow but usable most of the time.

The lobby area was absolutely huge. No issues with getting a sofa at any time of day or night.

We paid extra to keep our room until 7pm, as we had a nightime flight.

We would not normally return to a holiday destination, but are considering returning to the Royal Dragon. It really was that good.

There was very little to see outside the hotel, which was slightly disappointing given that I am a photographer. However, there was a small harbour nearby and the sunsets were beautiful.

Room Tip: Given that heat rises, it may be advisable in summer to avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    148
    57
    31
    24
See reviews for
481
134
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We're just back from a 10 night stay at the Royal Dragon. It's fair to say our experience was mixed and I think it's largely down to what is important to us on holiday.

The hotel itself it lovely, clean and overall, well presented but lacked a wow factor in comparison to other hotels we have visited in Turkey.

We booked a family room with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. The rooms were lovely and our maid kept them tip top. The air-con wasn't up to much although we kept it on as much as possible. It may be because we visited in mid October that the heating was a little higher in the hotel but temperatures were in the mid 30's during the day and low 20's at night so we were melting! The bathroom was nice - nothing fancy but very clean and the maid kept thing well stocked.

The pool is long and we'd describe it as quirky. It's a fairly narrow pool with 'branches' coming off in various places which made sure it never felt crowded. The external design gives a feeling that everything is nestled away and encourages you to explore. Again it stops the place feeling overcrowded. it does take a couple of days to get used to and is not for everyone. The lad at the towel bar is a character. Very funny and worth having a chat with.

There are lots of small but very steep inclines around the pool area. In quite a few of these areas it can be a bit slippy and there are no hand rails. This is also the same of the hotel lobby. Many of the steps have no handrail either.

One thing we were all a little disappointed with was the location and access to the aqua and luna parks. These feel like they are in a separate location to the hotel. To reach them you have to go through an underpass (a very smelly one!) and then climb a very steep hill. Again it's fairly slippy. For most people this may not be an issue but if you have any mobility issues the hill is like a mountain.

The buffet restaurant had an amazing selection of food and it catered to just about every taste - from plain eaters to the more adventurous. The service however was a big let down overall. If you find a good waiter make sure you revisit that spot at each meal. It took us until the last day to find the most amazing waiter (Emre Can). He could show his colleagues a thing or two on how to make you feel welcome. On several occasions no-one offered a drink, when ordered we'd wait and wait...and wait. Tables were rarely cleared after courses and we felt ignored.

The guests are mostly German and we think that waiters who were not confident with English avoided us. It takes almost no English to clear a table or bring some water. Management should take note.

We visited the Oriental restaurant twice and it was ten out of ten for food and service -a lovely meal and our waiters were so welcoming and helpful.

The food on offer around the pool was great. The chicken was a huge hit with al the guests - KFC eat your heart out!

The piano bar served lots of cocktails. Some of the barmen could be very heavy on the booze so some were like firewater! The waiting staff in the lobby were great. Some were really lovely and made us feel like they were happy to be there. They bring lots of little snacks too like salted popcorn, nuts and pretzel sticks which soak up the very boozy cocktails!

At about 10.30 in the evening a punch bowl with some of the most delicious cocktails are served. Get in quick as once it's gone, it's gone!

The entertainment in the hotel was ok. There were a few darts competitions and we saw them doing rifle shooting and there was a animation programme but not a great deal of encouragement form the animation team.

At 4pm in the afternoon we asked to book the tennis court which was completely empty. We were told the first we could use it was after 6.30pm when it was dark and we'd have to pay 10 euros for the lights and a 50 euro deposit for the rackets.

The evening entertainment catered well to young families (although it was almost all in German). It was fairly busy for the 9.30 show so we only saw one as we struggled to get a seat. We saw the belly dancing which was so-so. No on for too long so probably worth a look-in. We heard the other shows were a bit naff but horses for courses - give it a try and see what you think.

We read a few things about check-in staff being helpful but we were a little dismayed. We had booked a trip but as I was poorly we asked for help from reception to cancel. We needed someone who could explain in Turkish. The first person we spoke to at reception pointed to the number on our booking form and said we could phone from our room. We asked a second person and she said she would call but would have to charge. It was a local number so we were surprised. It cost all of 26cents so we paid but zero for customer service.

On check out we were told we had to pay for using the phone in our room. The call we made was to reception!! Never heard of anything like that before and not very impressed!

Side is worth a visit and so easy to get to. Get your haggle on in the shops and don't be afraid to walk away of you don't like the deal! We loved the abundance of Roman ruins in Side antd walking around the harbour and cliff sides was really lovely.

We did enjoy our stay because we make the most of any holiday we go on. To us service is very important and perhaps we are being harsh but as it failed so often to hit the mark it took a lot of shine from our experience. We wouldn't go back but still love Turkey as a destination to offer everything you need on an all inclusive break. We'd rate this 3.5 out of 5 (the rating only let us select 3 or 4).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned home from a 2 week stay at the Royal Dragon Hotel, Side. this was our second visit in 2 years. The whole holiday was fantastic. All the staff from the top to the bottom were most friendly, helpfull and could not do enough for you. The hotel is spotlessly clean, including the pool areas and the beach. The range of food was unbelievable, at the buffet and the food stations. We had a side sea/pool view room which was quite large and the furnishings were luxurious. Hopefully we hope to return again next year and meet up again with several staff members who we made friends with. The entertainment team are great, they work very hard, entertaining the children and adults with games and sports etc. They work so hard with the evening entertainment. Some of the shows were excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skemersdale
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from a holiday in this hotel and I have to say it was superb. We are a family of four (me and my girlfriend with two boys aged 6 & 9). The hotel is spotless, the rooms were great (we stayed in the family duplex and it was worth the extra money) and the service from all staff was the best I have known and I travel quite a lot with work all around the world. There weren't many English families but the clientele were fine. I was amazed to find that we didn't need to rush to get sun loungers by the pool in the morning. Some days we want at 12pm and there were still plenty. The choice of food was excellent with a huge buffett restaurant and many a la carte restaurants plus several lounges and snack bars. It's also right on the beach with a restaurant and many rows of loungers belonging to the hotel.
The aqua park is brilliant considering it is part of the hotel. Even the fun fair is decent although it only opens for a couple of hours in the evening.

The only negatives I can give are that the aircon in the room wasn't always working properly and there isn't much outside the hotel. There are a few shops nearby and you can walk to the kumkoy shopping complex in about 20min. We also took the bus to side for about €1.5 each way per person.

Overall I was made up with our holiday and will probably go back in the future (and I don't normally go back to somewhere I've already been). I highly recommend this hotel to families.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Royal Dragon 2 adults and a child 9 and had a lovely holiday .
We had booked a side sea view and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a family room which was gorgeous . The furnishings were luxurious and both the rooms spacious . Bathroom was a good size with a shower and bath and all the toiletries you would require for your stay including a hairdryer . The balcony was a little on the small side but to be honest we didn't spend much time in our room . Tv channels in room are pretty much all foreign with the exception of 4 news channels !.
The reception area is very big and the furniture is amazing loads of room to hang out great service from the waiters, but in my opinion the bar areas are not used to its full potential as there's is pretty limited entertainment in these areas . A bit bit of background music wouldn't go amiss.
We went to a couple of the shows , Michael Jackson & The Magician , these were pretty good, however, the rest was pretty poor but the animation team do work hard .
Slides were great for the kids, but the water in all the pools is very cold , that includes the indoor pool .
The funfair was good also with trampolines, dodgem cars etc, and a pirate ship that is only suitable for some older kids and adults, I would say as it is pretty frightening ,( maybe I am just a wimp !)
The games rooms is a fantastic way for parents to lose some money to their kids every night .
The main restaurant is great , good selection of food, and we were very impressed with the Italian and the Chinese restaurants, both served 5 course meals and it was a refreshing change sitting down to eat together at the same time ..
The beach is fab , water is really warm, hence why it's busier than the pools, beach restaurant serves lunch in the day and doubles as an entertainment venue in the evening .
The animation team seem to change the kids programme to suit themselves most days and cater more for German holiday makers .
Not the best place we have visited in this area but would recommend it no problem .
You will have no regrets if you have booked this resort .

Room Tip: Side sea view or family room is great but not essential .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived on the 29th September for a week. Weather was very warm, temperatures during the week were daytime 28c to 33c and mostly around 31c and night time was 20c to 22c and you did not need a cardigan or jacket at night. We had loads of sunshine with occasional light cloudwhich to be honest was a relief at times. It rained twice during the early evening for an hour or two which was not a problem I have been to turkey in August with daytime temperatures of around 38c to 44c and this time of year was much more pleasant but still hot.

There were 3 of us, 2 adults and my 13 year old daughter who had a great time. The room we had was spacious and my daughter even had her own room with twin beds but she did choose to sleep with us on the sofa bed but it gave us extra room. Its worth E.mailing the hotel a few weeks before you go to ask for a upgrade to your room which we got.Air conditioning in the room was not that strong but if you leave your keycard in the room from around 6pm when you go for dinner its very cool when you go to bed.(make sure you have 2 key cards)

The choice and variety of food is outstanding for every meal and no one should say they cant find anything to eat. Try the handmade pancakes in the tent from 11am until 4pm which are really nice,the beach restaurant servers lovely food including Pasta, hamburgers,Salad,chips and Desserts from midday until 3pm and if you like Fried chicken and pizza for lunch and Pancakes, donuts and Biscuits the pool restaurant is very convenient. food wise you cant go wrong and the waiters and Bar staff are very quick, friendly and efficient.The rate at which they clean up and take away empty plates is amazing and every where is very clean.

The pool is very big and shaped so that it spirals like a river down towards the beach where at the end it flows into a almost olympic sized pool. The hotel seemed full but the pool was never crowded and there was never a problem getting a decent sunbed especially if you were at the pool before 9.30am but even after this you could easily get a place.

The hotel is situated around a 10 to 15 minute taxi ride from Side( See-day) and a taxi cost us 30 Turkish lira one way around £10 but you can get the bus which goes every 15 minutes from near the hotel. The main shopping centre ikn side has lots of shops selling the usual gifts and shoes, Jackets and Jewellery. The harbour with restaurants is off the main square and you can catch a lovely sunset there. Don't forget to haggle as its expected and you may get a bargain.

Entertainment if you wanted it was day and night. During the day there were games organised by the Entertainment team and nightly shows some professional and others done by the Entertainment team. Overrall they were mixed as you would expect but if you take the attitude its just a bit of fun you should enjoy and they only last for about 45 minutes.

There are no kids clubs for the over twelves so did not use these but from what we saw the kids really enjoyed themselves.

Our transfer from Antalya airport took one and a quarter hours and we were the fith drop off going and it took about the same going back. The queues going back were quite slow and we were around 45 minutes standing in the Baggage check in Queue. We were a few kilos over and wee noticed some people whose bags were a lot over but no one appeared to be charged for extra baggage.

we did ask for a late check out room when we arrived but were told to ask the morning of our departure but when we did they said the hotel was full and they did not have one. You can use the SPA facilities to change shower if you want to or do what my daughter did and use one of the indoor toilets.

The hotel is situated very close to the beach a 2 minute walk and has its own Bar/restaurant and hotel sunbeds under shade if you want it.

The shops on site are very expensive so its best to get your gifts locally or in the markets.

The only real negative experience was my daughters unfortunately who complained of unwanted attention by a young employee in the Aqua Park on our second day. She said he was winking and smiling at her and felt uncomfortable. unfortunately this did make her a bit wary of using the Aqua Park. I have heard reports of some Turks liking young girls so it might be something to be aware of but nothing beyond this happened and he was one of hundreds of staff who behaved very well. It might be something I report to Thomas cook as it could lead to a very upsetting situation.

The Aqua park /luna park overall was ok but I have seen better Aqua parks for kids. Maybe we are a bit spoilt as we went to Lykia world in Olu Deniz last year and the Aqua park with around 18 water slides was fantastic.

The other thing to note which may or may not be an issue for some families was that we only came across 5 other British families during our week stay with mostly Germans and some Swiss and other nationalities making up the numbers. I am not sure if this is always the picture but my German had improved by the end of the week.

Overall we all had a fantastic time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: E.mail the Hotel a few weeks before you go and ask for an upgrade/Pool view or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is stunning! We had a great week here! There were a lot of activities to do at the hotel which was good as it is a few miles away from the nearest town. There is always something different to eat at one of the many restaurants at the hotel, I was a bit overwhelmed by all the choice! Our hotel room was lovely! The staff at the hotel are kind and helpful, but sometimes we struggled as a lot of the staff speak very little English! The beach is nice and clean. The swimming pools were excellent. If you want to venture out of the hotel there are cheap buses that go into the nearest towns.
I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Address: Evrenseki Beldesi, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Side
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#15 Romantic Hotel in Side
#15 Family Hotel in Side
#18 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Dragon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.