We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff to be complimented.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunlight Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunlight Garden to your Saves list
Sunlight Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Selimiye Mah. Yali Cad. Gul Sok, Side, Manavgat, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 230 Hotels in Side
Greenock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff to be complimented.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a week specifically to join our friends who had booked for 2 weeks. On the day we were travellling the agent informed us that we were being outbooked. We weren't happy with this as our friends were already at the hotel. We complained to agent and to staff at the airport on arrival. It appeared to be common practice. 3 days later we got our own apartment in the hotel. After this we had a fantastic time. The pool areas were great. Rooms (if you get a pool facing one) are good. The staff are the biggest asset. Adam and his team in restaurant are brilliant. Food was good. Pretty much something different each day. Generally good choices. Bar staff, again excellent. Very accommodating. In general, a nice place to stay. Entertainment could be improved especially since the hotel's a wee bit out - 10-15 mins downhill to beach that then leads to shopping area. That's a good half hour uphill!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    264
    116
    49
    30
See reviews for
301
224
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Formby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Just returned from a one week stay at the Sunlight Garden Hotel with my 9 year old boy. We arrived late at the hotel and there was a problem as the booking agent - Travel Republic had not informed the hotel of our booking therefore there was no rooms available, this was not the hotels fault and they placed us in their sister hotel for the night. The hotel staff and management are very customer focused and despite it not being thier fault, they sorted it out for us and the next night we were back in the hotel in a nice spacious room with two bedrooms for the remainder of our stay. They did more than the agent we booked with who really were very slow to respond.

The hotel has two pools, both a really good size, the bottom pool tends to be quieter than the bar pool which can get busy at times.

The food was good, lots of choice and each night they would have a chef performing some al fresco cooking like stir frys, fish and chicken dishes - nice touch and tasty too. One week and no upset tummies so I guess hygienically prepared to!

The hotel has wireless Internet covering most but not all of the grounds, it tends to be unreliable though so don't depend on this if your a workie whilst away like me.

Location wise it's not perfect but is good, around a 10 minute walk to the seafront but you do have to cross a busy main road- please use caution with young children as there does not seem to be any road traffic laws in turkey, the road crossing is just after a slow bend in the road and a speeding car will be on you without warning, anyway, just be cautious.

One tip, do not book any excursions with travel reps, they charge you around 30-40 euros per person for example a day White water rafting...if you walk out of the hotel, turn right then turn right again by the rester aunt on the corner( great bar and resteraunt by the way, fab pizza ) there is a little place next to the supermarket that does all of the same trips at much better price - you can knock them down to 10 euro per person and its a great day out. The boat trip to dolphin island is good but a long day. If you do this boat trip, there is a boat with a yellow slide that comes out of the back for swimming at sea.... This boat rips you off when at sea by selling ice creams for 5 euro each! They tell you the costs at the beginning of the trip but then you don't pay until the end and by then the costs have trebled , so be wary of this.

All in all a great holiday, would definatley stay at the Sunlight Garden , good value, clean and great staff. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I read some reveiws about this hotel and was quite worried but i had nufing to worry about it was an amazeing holiday. The apartments were very big and very clean. The food was lovely and the waiters were funny and very helpfull. There were 2 adult pools and 2 kids pools which were also very clean and amazeing. But the best part of this hotel was the bar and the bar men they made our holiday and i never wanted to leave i will defenitly be back just to see them. If you have the chance to go on holiday here please do it will be a holiday off a lifetime i couldnt fault anything about it. Happy holidays. xxxxx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is a great hotel for the money. The staff are very welcoming and each meal time made lots of efforts with the guests. Adem Kaya (aka daddy to us as he always called my husband daddy!) is a real character! Well done you for always being so happy and smiley... 2 great pools (1 for relaxing and 1 that provides daily music) that were always kept clean....apartment blocks with about 4 apartments in each with 2 bedrooms that were serviced (although this was a quite wipe over the floor really) each day...could have done with some fresh towels half way through the week but we managed. The only thing is the pillows were so hard as was the mattress but again we managed. If I was to go back I would take some vacuum packed cheap pillows and just leave them there at the end of the holiday! Food was very good with some variety most days...well done sunlight garden!

Room Tip: Direct holidays provided the best offer for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011 via mobile

After arriving late or early in the morning due to delayed flight was relieved to finally check in which was quick and efficient .. This was our second time at the sunlight garden had such a nice time last year 2010 we wanted to come back as the kids loved it so did we obviously . The kids just played all day long . My wife and I were able to relax people were friendly .. Staff are extremely nice especially my two mates Hasan from the restraunte and Adem from reception. We knew Hasan from last year and he recognised us straight away and he provided excellent service as always .. Adem was also excellent in his local knowledge and calling taxis had many a chats with him.... We would definately go back there as the whole town is good to explore and surrounding towns which we didn't do in 2010 but did this year .. Make sure you go to the Market in manavgat on a Monday well worth it .. Loads of bargains ... The food has improved alot from last year just need to change the dishes bit more frequently but most nights they had an extra chef cooking outside the kitchen cooking and serving many delicious traditional Turkish dishes.. All in all you will have a nice time promise

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Having read previous reviews we were under no illusion on the standard for the Sunlight Garden. The rooms are spacious as as stated on previous reviews and the food was ok!
What we did not expect was that the first night we had to chase and kill numerous cockroaches in both the bathroom and bedrooms. We spoke to reception who promised to sort out our problem. The next night another chase and the death of 5 more (3 got away).
We again approached reception who promised that they had been to the room and had sprayed the room the previous day. Ever day after that was the same, we complained, they promised they would again sort the problem out. The room number in question was 3120, so if you go and are offered this room - be warned!!

The food was good, the waiter staff were very friendly, as were the bar staff.

It appeared that this hotel is popular with families with young children due to the number of kids, running about the pool area. But I have to admit they were no problem during meal times. They were well behaved and were acredit ti their parents.

Turkey is not cheap!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was our second stay in Sunlight Garden and I'm pleased to report that since our last stay the rooms have been refurbished, with new bathrooms, which is excellent because that was really my only criticism lats year.

The staff were brilliant - especially Volken, Mehmet, Adam who all remembered us and made us feel really welcome.

The pools and garden are really good with plenty of sunbeds - around the pool is very slippy though so kids should always wear sandals.

The food was excellent and had plenty of variety for everyone.

It is a little bit out of the way, but a free bus takes you to the beach, and Adam in the restaurant will offer to drive you out for cheaper than getting a taxi.

Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunlight Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Garden

Address: | Selimiye Mah. Yali Cad. Gul Sok, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunlight Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
85 apartments and 10 villas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunlight Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Garden Side
Sunlight Garden Hotel Side

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunlight Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.