We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but not for english” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saray Regency Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Saray Regency Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Saray Regency Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Titreyengol Mevkii PK 34, Manavgat 07700 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 287 Hotels in Manavgat
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but not for english”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks in october room was nice and clean with good hot shower.The food was good always something hot it did get repetetive, but AI al ways does after 2 weeks. The mexican al a carte was very good and we had beer and soft drinks and didnt pay for them. Totally agree with everyone about the rude staff. Olive bar in reception was a sta nding joke that you would be served last after all the ge rmans. Palm bar was different again Ali was great remembered what u drank and always had it ready for u with a smile needless to say we used this bar most. Animation team were mostly good but they could have done more for kids.it did get boring for them on a night. but we still had a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    105
    42
    14
    9
See reviews for
140
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 week stay at this hotel.

Starting with the good, cleanliness was good, the hotel is well laid out and decorated reasonably well,we liked our room.

Now then the bad, in no particular order- the food in the main restaurant is not nice at all, the restaurant has works canteen feel to it ,and the standard of catering reflects this with mass ,cheaply produced food it also caters heavily towards the german pallette,with german style sausages and meats served at breakfast and dinner. There was no bacon or sausages , also not one piece of red meat was served all week, by the end of the week we were not looking forward to meal times at all.

The hotel is not particularly close to any of the local towns, there was no effort by the hotel to put on evening entertainment which meant a lot of people were really bored, and lots spent the evening on their phones and ipads using the excruciatingly slow wifi connection.

The worst aspect of the holiday for me was the rudeness and ignorance of the hotel staff, the worst i have experienced. They would be laughing and speaking in german to the germans, the minute you spoke to them in english, they gave a stern face, the smile disappeared, drinks would be slammed down ,and they couldn't wait to get back to the germans.

we read the visitors book, and those that were written in english pretty much said the same as the recent trip advisor reviews, with the most frequent comment being about the rude staff.

I do not see how any english person can enjoy staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We always check reviews on trip advisor before booking our holidays, so we felt it was only fair that we return the favour!

We are very aware that reviews are always subjective depending on your own expectations based on previous experiences, so all we can do is give our own opinion.

In brief, it is a German resort and everything is okay and this may be where the problem lies. It was our first time in Turkey, but we met others in the hotel that had been to Turkey numerous times and each of those people said that they had stayed in much better places. We had a relaxing week but would not choose to return to this hotel. If you want to know more...read on...!

Rooms:

Reasonably spacious and clean. We were on the ground floor in the garden area. We overlooked the hotel next door, so perhaps not the best location, although equally we were grateful not to be near the animation stage as it was lovely and quiet where we were.

We would question the security given that on our last day, a complete stranger opened the door to our room just at the moment when I was getting out of the shower! I don't know who was more shocked - me at having a stranger enter our room or them having perhaps opened the wrong door and finding a naked blonde girl in front of them! Jokes aside, it was unnerving that someone was able to unlock our door. If this had happened at the start of our holiday we would have been very concerned about the safety of our possessions.

Food:

It is okay....but that is part of the problem. There is a variety but we found it all to be quite bland and much of it catered for the German pallet. By the end of the week, meal times became very repetitive. We started to feeel a bit sick at the thought of eating the same stuff again, but this is just our opinion. We have never done all inclusive before and perhaps we just had cabin fever!

On a positive note, the salad bar was great. Very fresh and lots of options.

They have 3 a la carte restaurants, but were surprised to find that it was very difficult to book a table as they were either closed or full. After a couple of attempts, we managed to book two out of three of the restaurants - the italian and the fish restaurants.

It was a very strange set up as there appeared to be only one sitting which was very early. As with one previous review, there were empty tables so we didn't really understand why it was so difficult to book it. We are not big drinkers at all, but popped to the bar beforehand for a couple of drinks and as we hadn't finished them by the time of our reservation, we took them into the restaurant, only to have them taken off us by a rather rude memeber of staff! We were surprised at this, as being AI, there is normally no problem to walk between different areas of the hotel with your drinks, but as we soon realised, eating in the al a carte restaurants meant that you now had to pay for all the drinks! We thought this was a complete cheek given that they were now charging for drinks were inclusive just two steps away!

The italian was nice. The food was more inspired than that served at the buffet and the service was much better. However, the food at the fish restaurant was pretty bad. The main course was salmon (a favourite of ours) but it was as tough as rubber! Not how salmon should be!

Service:

In our experience the staff were not very friendly. We have never been to all inclusive resort before and were surprised that were never given any explanation as to what the resorts all incluisve policy was and what facilities were available. Also, some of the men were quite sleazy. One would always do kissing gestures to me the moment my husband was out of sight! We would agree though that the member of staff at the Palm Bar was lovely and genuinely friendly.

German resort:

This is very much a German resort and as such is catered towards German tourists. The staff will always speak to you in German as their default language and even when we said we were not German, they continued to speak to us in German! We are not the kind of people that expect everyone to speak English (in fact far from it, we always try hard to speak in the language of the country we are visiting) but we did find being spoken to in German quite odd and after a week it started to grate a little. We would have preferred them to speak in Turkish as we were in Turkey after all!

I am also afraid to say that we have to agree with one of the previous reviews that we often found the German guests to be rather rude. We were surprised that even with basic manners such as us holding the door open and there would be no thank you or even an acknowledgement that we had been standing there waiting for them! This is obviously no fault of the hotel and perhaps it is just our own perception of what is socially acceptable.

Pools:

The outdoor pools are great. One which is more for the children, with loud music, surrounded by the animation team. We were therefore very grateful of the second pool which was by the palm bar and was more relaxed and seemed popular with adults without children. The pool was absolutely freezing - more so than any other pool we have ever been in! But perhaps that was due to the time of year.

Indoor pool looked very dirty. An empty jacuzzi less than a metre from the pool had small creatures in it - looked very unhygienic so didn't go anywhere near it or the pool!

Spa:

A highlight of our trip. The spa is the only thing remotely 5* about the hotel. It is noticeably different from the rest of the resort, from the decor to the service. We went for one of the package spa deals which included a turkish bath, massage and access to the steam/sauna rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed this and whilst you may be able to find a cheaper alternative, it is worth the money.

Gym:

Small and dated. Some used it though and had no complaints.

Beach:

Only a short walk from the hotel and the sea was lovely. The beach was clean and the sea was lovely to swim in. Very calm and safe for children. My husband noticed drops of oil in the sea, probably from all the watersports boats right next to the beach. The beach had lots of sunbeds and was mostly covered by sun screens. It depends on your experience but for us it was extremely crammed. We always had someone right next to us and when they are chain smoking, it is not quite the relaxing beach experience you want!

Trips:

We knew a family that went on an organised trip to Antalya. They were hugely disappointed as it turned out to be less about sight seeing and more about visiting jewellery shops and restaurants, which were clearly set up by the tour guide to earn him some money.

In summary, we wanted a week in the sun to relax and that is what we had. We have given a really detailed review in the hope that it will help others that are looking to book. We want to say once again that this is our opinion and we are aware that others might go and have a different view and have loved the hotel. But if we were going back, we would look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

stayed here in september for 14 nights already booked to go back staff were always nice and friendly yes the germans are in the majority but did not find them rude food was good and drinks were fine room was big clean and the air con was fab i think that you get what you pay for and this hotel is very cheap for what you get
its a laid back hotel with no pretence of granduer they do their best to accomadate what you request we never encountered any rudeness from staff were given a lovely upgrade room for 25 euros beach was great swimming pools CLEAN whole hotel spotless get real people or pay for 5 star service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a fortnight on 16th October 2012, reception staff were ok on arrival and we were asked if we wanted anything to eat as it was nearly midnight when we arrived, rooms really nice and cleaners did really good job. All bar staff except Ali at the Palm bar where totally rude and ignorant if they knew you were English, Germans always got priority at all bars and the Olive bar and Polo bar staff didn't crack a face once. Ali at the Palm bar deserves a medal compared with all the other staff, he never let you have an empty glass and always greeted you with a smile. The animation team always seemed to concentrate on adults and not kids which I found a bit bizarre, if you took part in darts etc and won a certificate then you had to attend the show on the night at 9 30 or you couldn't have it, with 2 kids, especially who love their beds, we found this too late, kids could play darts and archery but not Boccia!!!!!!! Cesar and Sam in the animation team were excellent. The food was really good and always something to chose from. The German guests were ignorant and rude also, manners cost nothing and these were downright rude, well the ones I encountered anyway. All shows were spoken in German so English were definitely in the minority here and wouldn't come here again. Hotel fab, rooms fab, Ali, cesar and Sam fab but bar and restaurant staff were awful. I tip for been treat well not tip to be treat well, good service deserves rewards and these wanted to be rewarded beforehand.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Disappointed - Not a patch on IC or Delphin hotels at Lara Beach

Good points
animation team - pleasant enough
food - good but a bit repetitive
staff - about four waiters I found to be friendly
bedroom - garden area - pleasant room (but initially given a ground floor bedroom at the back of the hotel looking onto a brick building)

Not so good points
boring - nothing AT ALL to do in the evening - no professional shows - the one animation show was so bad it was laughable
repetitive - kids disco - my 7 year old daughter didn't want to go back after the 5th night
not A/I - have to pay for fresh orange juice at breakfast, ice cream, cocktails, drinks before 10am and after midnight
tired - decor is dated
staff - generally rude especially the female reception staff member who spoke a little English
waiting staff - again generally rude even after being given many a tip
cleanliness - ok but the shower at the indoor pool was disgusting and you'll have to use this if you have a late flight
gymnasium - is that what you call it? dated equipment

This hotel is not run very professionally and really has to try much harder. I felt that I had to write on Trip Advisor as this hotel seems to be rated far too high. I would say that one or two of the waiting staff were lovely to my daughter.

You guessed it - I won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Being honest you will have a nice holiday at this hotel, everywhere clean tidy, food good and tasty, room we had was good but we upgraded to a small suit which i think was worth it with a little bit more space and a great see view for £30.
Its just this place could be so much better and its so frustrating that they have all the right bits in place but the staff let this hotel down big time, managment have a team talk and ask them to smile! it doesn't cost anything and they just don't like the british quite blantantly, we can get on with anyone but the germans just must keep grinding the staff down and they just do not respond to a morning, lovely day or anything, the reception staff are the worst and have no customer relations and it just has no pleasant atmosphere because of it.
I agree with a few others that there is nothing to do for the younger generation at all after the good entertainment team have finished after 10ish, no disco no music just bed or pleasant company with friends ( thanks lyn and lynette!)
Other notes are the spa was good, drinks average with only really beer and wine and main mixers with no cocktails on offer, Why oH why charge for OJ in the morning at 1.5 Euro and 1 Euro for the safe everyday it just annoys the hell out of people for liitle return!
By the way if you want a table in one of the al la carte restaurants you will be very lucky, they were all booked or closed on different days, when we did get a table which we set the alarm to book! the place had 4 empty tabels, so annoying! but at least in this restaurant you had your table for the full three courses, we had in one occasion three tables for 1 meal in the main buffet restaurant due to the cleaning up and constant pressure on the staff to get more tables ready, so bring a cheap pair of sunglasses and put them on your table for your lunch dinner or you will be playing musical chairs all night!
in conclusion this was good value holiday for us and only minor points that i have mentioned put a downer on it which can easily be changed like the Rudness of the staff , if you can put up with that enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saray Regency Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saray Regency Resort and Spa

Address: Titreyengol Mevkii PK 34, Manavgat 07700 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Manavgat
#36 Luxury Hotel in Manavgat
#45 Family Hotel in Manavgat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saray Regency Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Saray Regency Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saray Regency Hotel Manavgat
Regency Hotel Manavgat
Regency Hotel Saray
Saray Regency Resort And Spa Manavgat, Turkey - Antalya Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saray Regency Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.