We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Viking Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Viking Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Viking Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ataturk Cad. No:117 Kemer Merkez, Kemer 07980, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 178 Hotels in Kemer
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I dont know what standards these people are used to that have wrote previous reports but i work for a world wide travel agents and i am a frequent visitor to turkey alone and this is by far the worst hotel out of the 8 times i have visited.
Bed bugs found in room, dirty pools with bateria build up round edges, food terrible not even warm, 2 nights a week entertainment, carpets in room dirty and frayed, kids club in a bad condition, pool area fitted with green astro carpet type which was dangerous and never cleaned in my 2 week stay, i never saw the pool cleaned, my partner and son both had bad viral and ear infections, potenailly caused by the pool water, sun loungers had mould growing on the bottom and the cushions were dirty. The staff were not even happy, and i was given a massage by someone not trained who left me with a migrane and now receiving treatment back home!!!!!!! Baby pillow was found dirty when i took pillow case off. Not very good location taxi or bus into town or beach

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    34
    14
    5
See reviews for
42
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Grand Viking Hotel is a very good family hotel for families with small children. The service is excellent, the food delicious and plentiful, drinks served in glasses.
The rooms are large and nicely furnished with large balconies overlooking the pool or mountain that starts just behind the hotel parking lot.
The hotel has a shuttle to town and just beautiful and the only sandy beaches in Kemer. Transportation takes about five minutes from the hotel to the beach. There are always enough sun loungers and parasols on the beach.
All-inclusive concept is phenomenal and you do not need a wallet because all you need you have and the hotel.
Next year we come back and recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a real vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I've been to Turkey twice, so I can compare two different resorts and hotels.
At first, I would like to mention that Kemer is the best place for family holidays. It isn't as noisy as Marmaris BUT If you need some kind of entertainment, you will find it easily!
Talking about the GRAND VIKING HOTEL, I would like to start with its pros: It was clean all the time, staff were friendly and helpful, also the food was always delicious.
However, I wasn't satisfied with its location. The sea and city centre was pretty far, so we had to use hotel's bus. Well, the pool area could be a litte bit more bigger, because in the morning GRAND VIKING's guests had to fight in order to reserve the sunbeds in front of the pool. TO SUM IT UP, I'd like to say that this hotel has more advantages, so don't miss the chance to visit it! :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I will start by saying that, if you are travelling to Turkey, remember that, unless you are Turkish, you will need to pay for a visa on entering the country (at the moment you can pay with the following currencies: euros €15, GBP £10 or USD $20 per person, and this includes children). For some reason the Scottish Pound is not accepted when paying for the visa and this was announced at Antalya Airport. I brought the following currencies with me, all which are accepted throughout the country at the present time: euro €, USD $, GBP £ and TL Turkish Lira.

This was our 2nd trip to Turkey, (25th June to 9th July 2011) and, yet again, we found the Grand Viking Hotel to be excellent value for money, although we paid considerably more for the flight with all its added extras the airlines charge for. We stayed there last June and there were a few more British than this year, where we saw only one other British couples during our 2 weeks there. .

The free wi-fi connection was much better than last year and we were able to go online in our room. The signal near reception is excellent but is low in the room, although we were still able to access our emails and go online. As before, all members of hotel staff were helpful in numerous ways. We went all inclusive, as before, and found all but a few facilities were free. If you want a safety deposit box, a Turkish bath, freshly squeezed orange juice and certain alcoholic drinks (eg whiskey or brandy) you would have to pay extra. Our room was cleaned regularly. There was a TV with 2 English speaking channels (one of them a movie channel and the other an entertainment channel). There was a walk-in shower (please note the temperature can vary depending on what time of day you have your shower), hairdryer and plenty of storage space. There is a balcony with table and chairs to sit out in the sun if you wish. It was a lot hotter this year (in the 30’sC and sunny our whole stay) so we were glad of the remote controlled air conditioning in our room when it was at its hottest. There is also a fridge in the room to keep cold drinks in, although there was a notice to say you are not allowed to bring food or drinks to the room. We used it to keep bottled water and medication cool.

There is a small shop near reception where you can buy hats, swimming gear, cold drinks, bottled water and souvenirs etc. Reception is open 24 hours and we found the members of staff, who spoke very good English, to be extremely helpful throughout our stay. Both last year and this year we were offered a drink on our arrival. One of the members of staff when out of his way to help us to arrange a boat tour which we also found to be excellent value for money. It was run by Detur Tourism and the whole day was all inclusive with an air conditioned coach to take us to the Bostanci boat at Kemer where we spent the whole day travelling up and down the Mediterranean coast. The boat stopped 3 times to allow the passengers a chance to swim in the sea. The trip included a meal followed by fresh melon a few hours later. All soft drinks and alcoholic drinks were included. The captain was very entertaining and joined in with the passengers throughout the day, as did the 2 Detur reps who joined us on the trip. We got back to the hotel in plenty of time to change before dinner.

If you don't bring your own laptop, there are 3 PC's near Reception that are available for guests to use at a small charge.

We ate out under cover near the pool which provided us with protection from the sun when it was hot, In the evenings the sunbeds by the pool were removed and replaced with tables and chairs so that you could sit out by the pool.

The buffet style food suited us because we are vegetarians and there were always plenty of fresh vegetables, pasta dishes, soups, rice dishes and trays of sliced melons available. There was an excellent selection of cakes and sweets as well. Coffee was available throughout the day from the vending machine. Breakfast was from 8am-10am, lunch from 1pm-2pm, coffee break 5.30pm -6.30pm and the evening meal from 7pm-9pm. The food is more Mediterranean so it would not suit you if you wanted fried chips or roast beef and Yorkshire pudding on the menu every day.

There is an indoor swimming pool with a gym and sauna, all included, but the Turkish massage and bath was extra and, if you want to book a session, there is a member of staff who will arrange it for you. My husband had a session which lasted over 2 hours and included a sauna, a normal massage, a face mask, and finally a medical massage.

There is one lift. The rooms are kept very clean and you will always see members of the cleaning staff cleaning and polishing around the hotel.

There is a free shuttle bus which runs regularly to and from either the shopping centre or the beach. It is worthwhile going to the beach where you can walk along a beautifully landscaped garden path. We did not eat in the restaurants there but there were plenty available as well as kiosks selling ice cream and one selling corn on the cob. There are also places along the path where you can sit and enjoy the scenery.

There is a playroom for children. There is also a small hut done in nomadic style where a woman prepares Turkish pancakes during the day.

The hotel itself is located on the outskirts of Kemer and it is surrounded by steep, wooded mountains with stunning views.

I would like to end this review by saying that anyone who wants to run down the hotel by saying it does not offer four star facilities etc. they should allow for the fact that it provides many facilities for free that other more expensive hotels charge for. I would also like to add that we have felt very well looked after by all of the members of staff during our entire stay here.

We will certainly be going there a third time next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is the first time that we had been to this part of Turkey and we was disappointed. The Hotel itself is fine and position is nice if you like it quiet but are able to walk into the town and beach. We found the reception staff to be helpful and friendly. It took a little longer to win over the bar staff and dinning room staff. Communication was better with some staff but they all tried very hard.

Our room was facing the road but this was a quiet road. The room size was adequate for two of us. It was a nice comfortable room with working air condition which you definitely needed all times of the day. Our room was always cleaned to a good standard.

Now I come to the food which was very disappointing but us Brits are in the minority and this hotel and it is definitely aimed at the Russians. The food is very limited, no variety at all and very repetitive. You will be ok if you like salad, pasta and rice every day for lunch and dinner! We have been to Turkey for the past five years to different parts and this is the first time we have come across such a limited choice. We always try things but this time it beat us. All inclusive drinks were fine - no problems there. We were lucky that in the morning and afternoon a lovely Turkish lady cooked pancakes to die for.

The entertainment was only three times a week. Turkish night was excellent with lots of fireworks and dancing. Food that night was better. One other night was live music and again dancers which was good but oh dear there is a magician night. He was not very good but the children seemed to enjoy him. Not much else to do in the hotel except drink!

As British were in the minority here most of the shows etc and games during the day were spoken in Russian or Turkish and was very difficult for us to join in. We did try to make an effort and be friendly but the Russian's unfortunately did not really want to know.

The area of Kemer has plenty of shops, bars and restaurants although a little more expensive that other regions of Turkey but still ok.

The Beach was nice and clean but nearly always packed. The hotel ran a shuttle bus to the beach which was free and fairly regular. Food at the beach was expensive.

The best things about our stay was we met some great people from Wales, the weather was fantastic although sometimes a little too hot but you can't have everything! and we made the best of our time there. We only stayed for one week but I don't think we would
have wanted any longer.

Would I go back to this area - no I think I will stick to Bodrum and Dalaman.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous two week holiday at this hotel. It is very clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and work really hard. The food is good although chicken does appear on the menu most days. Entertainment is only provided on 3 nights each week so evenings become boring after a while, unless you go out into Kemer centre where there are plenty of lively bars. We were All Inclusive so did not want to spend our hard earned money on drinks in town so stayed around the hotel chatting to other guests. Plenty of foreigners who speak English and so could understand us and we them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Read some reviews about this hotel and if people want british, go on holday in britain! food was fine, breakfast was quite continental but fine, lunch & dinner was ok but one week was enough as food got repetative. the gozleme (pancake type thing) was lovely, nice wee snack now and again. lots of russians and germans in hotel and they were all fine, didn't speak much but not as rude as other reviews would have you believe. rooms and hotel very clean, staff spoke perfectly good english (certainly much better than my turkish) and they were always very helpful. beach is about 15 mins walk away and it's lovely. i would rate the hotel 3 stars. perfectly good for one week holiday but lacking in entertainment facilities and variety/quality of food for a two week stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Viking Hotel

Address: Ataturk Cad. No:117 Kemer Merkez, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 178 Hotels in Kemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Viking Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Viking Kemer
Hotel Grand Viking

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Viking Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.