We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is definitely a hotel to come back to and bring the family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxim Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Maxim Resort to your Saves list
The Maxim Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Ataturk Bulvari, Kemer 07980, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 179 Hotels in Kemer
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is definitely a hotel to come back to and bring the family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We have just added 2 more nights to our one week stay here in October 2011. We feel very relaxed here especially because of very professional staff, amazing cleanliness, private beach and the pincode hotel safe. The kids club is poolside adding to your feeling of security about your kids. They enjoy it so much at kids club and we always went at 10am after 2 hours sunbathing on the beach in the morning after breakfast. When u go at 3 in the afternoon they have chocolate icecreams everyday.
There is modern music playing in all areas of the hotel. The outside cafe has jazz sometimes. I haven't heard the same songs twice as u do in some hotels.
We are very comfortable in our standard hotel room which has a very large double bed and a pullout single sofa for our 3 year old. Kids go free here but they offered us other choices for him to sleep in. The curtains to the balcony are complete blackout with mosquito net blinds. They actually look nice. We sleep with the window open every night and have seen/heard no Mosquitos.
The natural beauty in this area is literally right outside the hotel door where we are surrounded by mountains. Views of the amazing coastline here can be seen from our beaches banana boat ride or parasailing for those who dare.
Now I should mention the animation team whose production of Mr Maxim was totally hilarious. They put hot beach towels around the shoulders of the crowd as we were outside And gave us mulled wine.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaxim, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxim Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Intourist The Maxim Resort Hotel. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time and you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and all your family back to Intourist The Maxim Resort Hotel for your next holiday.

Best Regards,
Intourist The Maxim Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    52
    40
    35
    32
See reviews for
94
65
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My best advise is to avoid this Hotel if your english. In fact avoid Kemer altogether as this was by far my worst holiday ever. Mid 20's couple, arrived on 4th October and couldn't wait to leave on 11th Oct. I'm not fussy, nor want much from a holiday, however staff offering holiday packages to British but speak NO English is a car crash waiting to happen. Communication was a nightmare if you needed anything (which we did), they only cater for Russians (food, language, culture etc etc). Food was tasteless and repetitive. Staff are Rude, unhelpful and bored. I would rate this hotel a 3 star at best (and that's being generous). Rooms were ok, basic but fine, air con in rooms were present but useless. The pool was the best feature however that was freezing and you would struggle for a sun lounger any time after 9am. All the Russians in fine German style had reserved most of them the night before. Russians (and there are lots) are rude, loud and not nice to be around, and damn right greedy. Just avoid at all costs! Shocking.......

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaxim, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxim Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Intourist The Maxim Resort Hotel. We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism and we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations about the room and the food service.

Also, we want to assure you, that our team is not giving priority to guests one over the other, every guest is very important for us.

We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and through constructive comments we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Intourist The Maxim Resort Hotel.

Best Regards,
Intourist The Maxim Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Only location is good. Sea is clean and warm. Beach small and overloaded. Too noisy from animation performance and from neighboring hotels. No quiet place. Staff unpleasant, dressed ugly, not speaking any language but Russian. Paper and plastic glasses everywhere. Hotel is not 5 star hotel. Advice - Do not go if you are not from Russia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaxim, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxim Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank for your comments. Please, be assured that your comments are with our Management Team and improvement needs will be programmed.

The evening entertainment program starts at 21:30 and finishing at 22:30 every day, after this we don’t have any noisy activity outside, even our disco is inside and there are no any disturbing sounds because of it. Hotels are able to use outside areas till 00:00, after 00:00 it is forbidden to make some noisy activities in here, because all hotels are closed to each other.

We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. We would like to assure you that we are taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies, in order to proof - uniform of our staff are changed!

Due to safety and hygienic reasons we are using plastic and paper glasses mostly in pool bar to eliminate the glass from pool and beach area for guests (especially – children) security.

Also, we want to assure you that our team is not giving priority to guests one over the other, every guest is very important for us.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.


Best Regards,
Intourist The Maxim Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

we arrived fri 30th departed mon3rd oct we where suppose to be there a week , thank heavens our holiday rep at home helped us to transfer us to a top class hotel on the outskirts of side ,first impression looked good in the foyer of the maxim ,it was suppose to be a 5 star hotel personally i would give it 2 stars ,we got to the room it was very basic carpet was stained , the only nice person who could understand us was the bell boy , my advice if ur british dont go there they cater more for the russians , tea & coffee in the dinning room and the foyer u had to drink out of paper cups like max pax they also served the local beer in paper cups or plastic tumblers u felt very honoured if u where given a glass this was very rare .
the food was awfull we asked for butter to go on our luke warm soup dinner time to be told by staff butter in the mornings , the only positive thing was the beach and the pool was very nice .
would never ever go back there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaxim, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxim Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guests,

We are very concerned to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations about the room and the food service.

Due to safety and hygienic reasons we are using plastic and paper glasses mostly in pool bar to eliminate the glass from pool and beach area for guests (especially – children) security. There are always choice from glass, plastic and paper glasses, for guests comfort and their priority, in other areas.

We regret that you experienced inattentive service. For sure we could meet your expectations, if you would give us an opportunity and stay longer at Intourist The Maxim Resort Hotel.

Once again tank you for the time spent in posting your comments and most of all for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future. We would like to assure you that we are taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies, in order to proof - you can get your butter easily during all dinner time! Guests never asked for this before, but you showed us an example.


Best Regards,
Intourist The Maxim Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My partner, toddler and myself stayed at this hotel 25th September to 6th October, it's the most unfriendliest unhelpful hotel ever, unless you tip well like Russians etc they don't want to know you or even crack a smile even on arrival, everything is a chore for them. We arrived early hours of the morning to be taken to our room which had stairs and no safety gate and no cot (our child is 20 month), we called to reception to be told they didn't have any cots in the hotel, eventually after five 5 mins they finally understood and about twenty mins later they brought one up that looked like it was about to collapse , anyway we were tired and had to make do with the situation until next morning, we asked reception to move us as the stairs were hazardous for us having a child,they offered us another room and asked us to check it first, we did and it was alot better, had flooring rather than a dirty carpet and it had no stairs so we informed reception 5 mins later we would take it and went and got all our luggage and went down to our new room only to open door and find people in it, so within literally ten mins they messed up and gave our room to someone else, we went back down and and had no apology nothing only that the next available room was going to be the following day, after spending the first part of the Morning sorting this out we wanted to just try and start enjoying our holiday, the reception and the majority of staff in hotel do not seem to understand a single word of English which is frustrating. We got into our room next day still no babycot, next two brought up were broken. Day three my partner treated me to a spa treatment which I did enjoy and began to feel relax until at the end of my treatment when I was relaxing a Turkish man came in while I was in my bikini and stood over my bed with a calculator trying to sell me a deal for five more treatments as apparently the therapist told him I needed it for back problems etc , as you can imagine this was very Intimidating and only left me alone when I said I needed to speak to my partner, ruined the spa treatment completely!
Also if you fancy a large drink, ie diet coke, they say no have to pay extra, we were all inclusive, five star hotel and cups are paper and plastic even at meal times, as for the snack bar its a complete joke, a breadstick and small piece of cake is all the snacks you get all day every day oh sorry apart for an icrcream cone which is only available at half four and the que is a mile long. They only had a handful of highchairs available for a hotel with 304 rooms, it was a hit or miss if we ever got one, we were told there were all out to others and then couple mins later saw them bringing one out they had kept for a Russian tipper , made to feel 2nd class the while time, the bar staff also are rude and will let russians, Dutch etc skip ques and ignore everyone else who isn't giving them tips , they also never seemed to have small spoons and to ask for one was such a hassle for them , we would get one after twenty mins of asking. Food is same every day, kebabs, pizza chips burger and lots of veg and deserts all tasted the same, we were all inclusive and had to eat out most nights even at that we would be ripped off so beware everywhere you go they will get their calculator out and make up prices. In our room the bath had mould round it and it was clear they tried to silicone over it rather than clean it properly, the rest of cleanliness of room was ok. The electricity box was open at child reach, door was broken and would not lock, the balcony had space all the way round it big enough for a child to fit through and the air conditioning never worked the whole time even though my partner complained to reception twice . During our holiday I also collapsed with what seemed to be sunstroke, people were kind enough round about to help and I was taken to doctor in hotel who told me my blood pressure was dangerously low and it was important we go to hospital, my partner and I both thought all I need to was go and lie down and drink plenty of water etc but they insisted I needed hospital but not until we sorted out insurance and called insurance company etc to get a ref number by this time (an hour later) I was feeling alot better and she took my pressure again Insisting it was still low and still needed treatment, we were worried and an ambulance was called after spending a day in the hospital being tested and on drip etc we were waiting on then receiving a form back from our insuarnce company, they wouldn't take me off drip even though it had finished unless we paid €800 or insurance got back so after being in agony and my partner having to make several calls to insurance it was eventually sorted, so beware the hotel doctor probably got commission for sending us, it really is a con and became obvious what they were doing. Might I say also there is plenty of places round about hotel to walk to ie plenty shops etc there wasn't a day that went by that we didnt get hassled or wasn't being stared at sleazily , it was so uncomfortable. To top it off we were meant to get 12 nights an they called us to say we needed to check out on 6th even though it stated we had twelve nights and should have had room till 7th October, they said no unless yet again we paid money, we just got out stuff and left our room having to wait till 10.30pm to be picked up and this was early afternoon, I told reception that we would be complaining and it was the worst hotel ever which they seemed to understand and told the bellboy to cut off our all inclusive bands and that we were finished at hotel, that just said it all , service was appalling , really the list is endless. Now I have never written a review but we don't want anyone else going through what we did, we are so dissapointed and upset by the whole holiday .

S.miller

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaxim, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxim Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for getting in touch and bringing your issues to our attention at Intourist The Maxim Resort Hotel. We are sorry for inconveniences you experienced during your holiday.

We are really sorry that we were not able to meet your room expectation at once. The hotel was fully booked during this period, so probably because of this there were such a confusion with your room.

Due to safety and hygienic reasons we are using plastic and paper glasses mostly in pool bar to eliminate the glass from pool and beach area for guests (especially – children) security. There are always choice from glass, plastic and paper glasses, for guests comfort and their priority, in other areas.

Also, we want to assure you that our team is not giving priority to guests one over the other, every guest is very important for us.

We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem. We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. We are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve.

Again, please accept our apologies.

Best Regards,
Intourist The Maxim Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targoviste, Romania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Overall the vacation was good here.
They have a nice beach (although you must know in Kemer is no sand, but little stones), very difficult to find sunbeds though, unless you wake up at 7 am i guess.
The pool is large enough and we had better chances on finding sunbeds there. Clean and they have these water slides that work from 10 am till 12 and again in the evening another 2 hours.
Food was ok. Not very diverse, not to say that certain nationalities tend to take everything they can find, even if they eat it or not! It's best to avoid the first wave of hungry people :)) so go after at least 30 minutes since the food is set.
The animation team is doing their best, even if they only speak russian and all their programs are in russian, they tried to translate for those (very few) outside Russia.
The rooms were clean, not very sophisticated, but you had everything you need. A little noisy, that's why it's best to get the 4th floor rooms since it's high above the noisy area from the lobby. Noise comes from the other hotels around as well, but at 12 am everything quiets down a little.
Sometimes the bartenders are a little rude and tend to ignore you if you don't speak russian.

Room Tip: Choose the forth floor. They're actually apartments, but it's above the noisy area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMaxim, Guest Relations Manager at The Maxim Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Intourist The Maxim Resort Hotel. We are glad for the most part you enjoyed your accommodation. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

We hope to be at your service again at Intourist The Maxim Resort.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any need or assistance.

Best Regards,
Intourist The Maxim Resort Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed a week here from 23rd-30th September with my partner. We selected this hotel on the basis of the reviews on trip advisor, not knowing any friends or family who have visited this area, however we were impressed with what was said previously and had high expectations as a result.
On arriving at the hotel at midnight, check in was quick and easy and the staff on duty were welcoming and very friendly! The hotel entrance and foyer was clean and certainly portrayed the impression that it is a 5 star Turkish hotel.
The room was very clean, comfortable and basic but the bed linen was changed daily and the views over the pool and the sea were excellent. The cleaners certainly did a great job of cleaning the room on a daily basis and ensuring the interior of the hotel was kept tidy, one cleaner even knocked on our door to enquire about whether we were satisfied with the cleanliness of our room. Unfortunately these great first impressions were rather short lived...
One of the most off putting factors of staying in this hotel was the attitude of the other guests (predominately Russians) and because of this i was ready to leave by the end of the week as I was so frustrated with how greedy, arrogant, rude and loud they were! They would push in front when you were queuing for food, give you funny looks, I was woken up at 3am by a group of them talking and laughing very loudly outside. I even saw one guest reserve 6 sun loungers in the morning but only use 2/3 when they felt like it, which meant that if you wanted a space by the pool you really have to be up at the crack of dawn and be there for no later than 8am. By the end of my weeks stay I was pretty fed up of ‘battling’ with Russians for food and sun loungers that we choose to eat out instead of taking advantage of the all inclusive food and drinks we had paid for! What seemed to be missing was a queue system, though whether this would solve the pushing in problem I don’t know.
The food itself was alright, it took a few days to figure out where everything was. Grilled meats, fish, chicken kebabs and fresh grilled/prepared fruit and veg was located outside. Salad, cheeses, dressings and desserts were located in the main dining area inside. Half way through the week we discovered that there was ice cream and fresh made Turkish savoury pancakes available (near the outside dining area), which were delicious! There didn’t seem to be great variation with that was on offer on a daily basis and sometimes it looked as though a lot of the food was recycled from Lunch to dinner as it seemed exactly the same…despite this and greedy other guests the food was alright, however you really need to be opened minded about trying new things i.e. Russian/Turkish cuisine to enjoy the food on offer. One put off was the lack of cutlery or bowls available! With eating in the dining area ensure that you get there early as if you leave it till later we found that the good food which was on offer was gone very quickly!
Nearly all of staff seemed pretty gloomy and looked as though they didn’t want to be there or were being badly treated, by other guests or management, and I can only recall one or two (apart from the enthusiastic animation team) who smiled the whole week. At times it seemed that asking for things was a big problem and an inconvenience/nuisance of them which really made it difficult and personally put me off asking them for anything if I could help it! The only staff that genuinely seemed happy were the night porter and the guest relations woman on the desk just at the left of the entrance who always said ‘hello’ when we passed. We found that being polite went a long way and striking up general chit chat with the staff was sometimes enough to get a smile…
Other thing which were off putting was the lack of information i.e. eating times and what was going on etc ( there is an information board in the lift but you’re hardly in there any length of time to read it) and when there was information available it was in Russian only! The air con seemed to have broken down half way through our stay and it was actually more pleasant to have a drink outside than in the main foyer. We also found a loose socket with cables hanging out on the floor our room was in and it took 2/3days to fix this.
The hotel also has shops and a spa available, albeit expensive compared with what was on offer in Kemer town. There also is an indoor swimming area, tennis facilities and the beach is a very short walk from the pool.

Kemer itself is a lovely laid back town, very picturesque with the pine forest covered Taurus mountain background rising from the shingle beaches and the aqua coloured sea. The locals are very friendly however most assume you are Russian which becomes a minor irritation, then again it seems as though this area of Turkey is marketed towards Russians as indicated by the ads. and abundance of fur/leather shops...The town itself has good transport links to the main regional city of Antalya (50 mins by bus), a must see once you get used to their underground system! I recommend walking along the marina and the old part of the city with its crowded bazzars full of hidden delights and Turkish charm.

Personally I would go back to Kemer but wouldn’t visit this hotel again nor recommend it to anyone unless you don’t mind all what I have mentioned above or are able to converse in Russian/Turkish…maybe you’ll get better results than we did. I guess as the old saying goes ‘ you get what you pay for’ perhaps sums this up nicely.

Room Tip: Ensure you know some conversational Russian or Turkish before you come to this area.... Try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxim Resort

Address: Ataturk Bulvari, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Kemer
#16 Spa Hotel in Kemer
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Kemer
#35 Luxury Hotel in Kemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Maxim Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Maxim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maxim Hotel Kemer
Maxim Hotel Kemer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxim Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.