We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and Chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ates Pension

Save Saved
You added Ates Pension to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ates Pension
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Yeni Cami Cad. No:3 Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Specialty lodging in Kas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relax and Chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ates is a vey relaxing place with a beautiful view, chill out vibe, and the theater just a few steps away, you feel comfortable and welcomed. Sahin is a great staff member always willing to help and to chat, He helped me plan my kayaking trip as well as scuba diving. THX BRO!! Good times at Ates

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    15
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
28
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in April. This place has a great vibe and the rooftop bar is awesome especially just to chill out. Read a book, check you email, smoke some shesha or have a glass of wine, its your call. Stunning views all around. Our room (double with ensuite) was tidy and clean, and it also had a little balcony. Shahin the guy who works here has a massive smile and is willing to help you out for whatever you want to do. If you are here for a few days make sure you do the walk around the bays past pebble beach to Liman agizi beach. Its takes about 1.5 hours and its beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have recently stayed in Ates Pension as a party of 5 friends. We stayed in rooms 11, 12 and 13. We were made to feel very welcome, despite turning up unannouced in low season quite late at night.

The terrace of the hostel is stunning, as other people have mentioned. There is an incredible 360 panoramic view of the bays of Kas, and the lounge area was perfect to chill out in. In fact, it was difficult to leave the building to go and do stuff in the day!

The rooms themselves are functional, although there are no frills. Our double on the ground floor had a terrace, although this was straight out onto the street so wasn't particularly private; although to be honest, we spent all our time upstairs on the terrace.

There was hot water, 24 hours a day. The breakfast was a lovely buffet spread which you could help yourself too between 8.30-11am. There was amazing local honey and a good selection of fruit, as well as yogurt, eggs, cheese, bread and salad.

Shihan is a very accommodating and helpful host and he went out of his way to help us when we needed something. He has travelled himself and speaks excellent English, and he has really good knowledge of the local area and activities.

Kas itself is a beautiful town - the right combination of authentic with a good tourist infrastructure. We were very sad to leave both Kas and Ates Pension.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came to this place planning to only for a couple of days. I've been here 5 days already now and could happily stay five more. The staff are friendly and helpful without being pushy, the breakfast is great (see photo) and the rooftop is a great place to chill out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my gırlfrıend stopped at thıs great place ın Kaş after walkıng the lykıan traıl. We found a nıce, clean room wıth a sunny balcony and a spectacular roof terrace.
Perfect to relax. In March only few guests.
Very frıendly people.
Recomendatıon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumelihisarı, Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ates Pension is run by a local family from Kaş. The pension is located 2 mins from the town centre. The area is generally quite and the terrace has a magnificient view.

The owners prepare breakfast and dinner. I would recommed having dinner at the pension and going out for a drink at nights since Kaş is kind of expensive for dinners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I selected Ates Pension based on the positive review from "Lonely Planet Turkey" (March 2011 edition). I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of Aug. 2012. The book rate for the a Single room is 50 TL (about US$28), however, the quoted price when I showed up was 75 TL (US$41). I think that they exploited the good ratings in Lonely Planet, by increasing the prices -- but I think that this is understandable. It's not worth the price, but a safe choice if you are willing to pony up -- the quality is good, but there are better options in Kas at say 20 TL (US$11). I would have expected such a room & place to be at the US$25 tier.

Wi-Fi Internet through out the facility -- relatively fast, no concerns. Very nice terrace for meals and to socialize with other guests. Room is fine -- I stayed in Room No. 6 which I totally recommend for the terrace -- does not overlook the Mediterranean Sea, but the garden is good enough. Kas is so small where it will take you 10 minutes to walk from one end to the other where it's difficult to say the location is good (but it is!). No toiletries, BYOT. Also, the restaurant is good for home-cooking and a nice change if you have been eating Turkish all the while. You can use the pool at Hideaway Hotel (across the street, same family owner), but you have the Mediterranean Sea steps further away where not really an incentive.

Walked by the Dorm, looked pretty typically. 4 beds per room, 30 TL per person, no thanks.

In summary, a safe bet in terms of quality and service, but there are cheaper options if you are price-sensitive.

Kas is incredible in itself. Go, soon.

Room Tip: Room No. 6 with the Terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ates Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ates Pension

Address: Yeni Cami Cad. No:3 Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Kas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Specialty lodging in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ates Pension 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kas in Turkey is a backpacker's paradise and what better way to see the Mediterranean coast than from the homely Ates Pension. The pension & hostel also offers comfortable, inexpensive lodging in a relaxed atmosphere. The pension is open year round and offers amenities such as rooms with air conditioning, book exchange, hot water 24 hours a day, free pick up from the bus station, complimentary drink on arrival and satellite TV. English, German speaking staff provides expert local knowledge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Ates Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ates Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.