We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent balance of quality, friendliness and price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hideaway Hotel to your Saves list
Hideaway Hotel
Anfitiyatro Sokak No:7 Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent balance of quality, friendliness and price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed for 10 nights at the Hideaway Hotel for a family holiday. We were very pleased with our choice. This is a family hotel run with efficiency to a high quality. All of the staff enjoy making sure that guests have the best time possible while in Kas.
If you choose this hotel, expect exceptionally clean rooms, good quality food, outstanding service and a genuine pleasure in your company.
We enjoyed several trips and activities organised by the hotel and felt that we had been led towards the best quality and value every time. It is a place you can completely relax in the knowledge that you will be treated fairly and well.

Room Tip: Ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    98
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
53
271
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Initial contacts for quotes, etc were all very timely and pleasant. Reading the reviews on TA I had high hopes as we hoped to stay a little closer to town center than on the peninsula.
The driver that picked us up in Dalaman was pleasant and a very safe driver. We were pleased. Upon arrival somewhat late on a Sunday night we were advised we could get dinner on the terrace. This was welcome since we were tired' average cost for a meal in Kas at 15 TL.
Room: Our room was clean, reminded me more of a pension than hotel. No phone to contact front desk, no tv but WiFi was available in rooms and terrace. As others mentioned; the showers are somewhat hazardous. Other open showers I've used often have a half wall or small barrier on the floor to help with the water draining. The water literally flooded the whole bathroom every time we showered. Just a note for folks who are not sure on their feet.
Overall: We enjoyed the daily breakfast; coffee or Orange Juice was extra but well done.
Definitely a no frills stay. Owners helpful with information and we did take advantage of the free ride to the bus station.
Much more like a pension to me than a hotel. I think the owners were spread a little thin doing everything themselves. Unless you ask for help you'll be dragging your bags down stairs, etc yourselves.
We had high hopes for this and the value brought us in; but next time we would upgrade for a few more amenities like we had in Patara and Istanbul. (Although Patara was actually less expensive). If you are really on a budget and looking for something pretty simple this may be for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideawayhotelKas, Owner at Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor member,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments.
We would also like to comment regarding the facilities and services our hotel provides.
We would like to clarify that we are a small, family owned and run hotel. We try to offer the best value possible to our guests in a clean building but having extra amenities such as
TVs in the rooms or 24 hours front desk reception would mean hiring more people and would increase the prices of our rooms. Like you said, if you would like to upgrade for a few more amenities, there are plenty of other hotels in town, or on the peninsula, that offer the services expected. Yes, our rooms are simple but they are certainly of higher standards than a room in a pension, the hotel decoration in general is also of higher standards than one may find in a pension/hostel. Regarding our bathrooms, pictures on our website or on other websites over the internet show they are bathrooms with open showers but we have already started to install shower cabins and all rooms will have them by the start of the next season.

We are happy to be highly recommended on TA. but I would like to insist that we are not a big hotel with 24 hours front desk. If someone needs help carrying their bags to the room or downstairs at check out, we have always done it ourselves and will be very happy to keep doing it. Thank you again for your comments as it is our goal to constantly improve in order to meet our guests’ expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We only stayed one night here. I wished we had stayed longer. We drove our rental car here. We were given the best directions to find the hotel. There is free parking and free use of their computer.
The breakfast on the rooftop was nice. The dinner there was great. The room was very simple but clean and had everything we needed, ie beds and bathroom. There are a lot of stairs, but we managed. We drove into town and walked around but had our meals at the hotel.
Kas is a small town, but there are a number of things you can do there or near there. There is a Greek Island just a short distance away to visit, other islands to visit, ruins to see, etc.
This hotel cost less than $60 USD. Since we stayed only one night, they did charge my card before we arrived. Very nice owners. Quick to respond to all e-mails.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Pros
Nice complimentary breakfast
Friendly staff
Short drive to beautiful beaches (Kaputas and Patara) and walk to restaurants and shops in town
Great value for money
Cool rooftop bar

Cons
This isn't a real problem with the
hotel, but we went up to the rooftop after midnight, which we were told was 24h, and we were
quiet but someone apparently heard us and complained so we were kicked off. It was disappointing!
This isn't a real issue with

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Hideaway is a great basic hotel. The rooms are a little on the small side, but they're clean and comfortable. The small balcony is a nice feature, and there is plenty of light from the windows. The bathroom is small, and since there is no separate shower stall, the floor of the bathroom would be wet for a long while after using the shower. Drainage could have been better, but given the warm, dry weather, it would usually be mostly dry in several hours.

The rooftop terrace is cozy with some wonderful views of the Mediterranean, a TV and a PC for internet usage. They will not let you use the fridge on the terrace to, for example chill a bottle of wine you've picked up elsewhere. Since the rooms themselves don't have refrigerators, I wish they would change this policy.

It's a short walk down to the main square and harbor, where most of the shops, bars and restaurants are. The walk back to the hotel is uphill, but isn't too bad.

Ahmet, the owner, is very extremely helpful and seems to know everyone in town. He helped us setup local tours, activities, and a car to Antalya airport. It couldn't have been simpler - all we did was ask him to set it up, and it was done! When we arrived in Kas, he also drove to the bus station to pick us up. We had to ask one of the bus companies to give him a call, but since he seems to know everyone in town, this wasn't a problem either!

I would definitely consider HIdeaway if I'm visiting Kas again. It's basic, but affordable and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Four of us stayed at their apartment which was separate from the Hideaway Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They provided a driver to pick us up and deliver us back to the airport for a very reasonable price. (3 hour drive each way) We enjoyed the drinks and meal on the hotel terrace. Our apartment had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, two balconies, and lots of space with modern appliances. Our apartment was up a hill, but close to the center of town. It did require walking up many steps to get to the apt. but you could always get a taxi if you preferred not to walk. We would definitely go back. I was in "pinch me" mode for the entire week!

Room Tip: Apartment was good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Unlike a lot of places that get rave reviews and then get complacent, the owners/managers of this hotel, a Belgian/Turkish couple, run a tight ship and have not become victims of their own success. The rooms are small but spotless. All have balconies. The lack of a sea view from some of the rooms is more than compensated for by the magnificent terrace, from which a good breakfast (including cereal and bread and jam for those like me that can't stomach a turkish breakfast first thing in the morning) and a good value evening meal (15 lira extra) can be enjoyed. The terrace is spacious, well laid out, has uninterrupted sea views, and has a contiguous room with large TV and a good collection of films. Good wifi throughout. The plunge pool is small and hemmed in but with so much to see and so many excellent bathing spots nearby it's not really an issue. I can recommend (as was recommended to us by the Turkish half of the couple that run the place) the nearby Kas Camping, whose terraced bathing areas and good restaurant non-guests can go and use. There is just one beach in Kas, 2ks to the east, but the real gem is Kaputas beach, nearer Kalkan to the west; we hired a scooter through the hotel and found it to be a great way to get around and preferable to the local minibuses which stop everywhere. All thanks to the owners for a very pleasant stay!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Hotel

Address: Anfitiyatro Sokak No:7 Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway is a small family run hotel,located in the most beautiful part of Kas. Hideaway and its terrace restaurant give you a STAR quality of accommodation with AC rooms, traditional home-made Turkish cuisine and a beautiful roof terrace and bar, surrounded with olive trees and tranquil ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Hotel Kas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.