We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tender and delicious meat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaika Ocakbasi

Zaika Ocakbasi
Ilkokul Sokak No: 13 / 1, Kas, Turkey
+90 242 836 2373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 136 Restaurants in Kas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tender and delicious meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I'm a vegetarian myself, but my wife and children assure me that the lamb and chicken dishes at this restaurant were exceptional - tender and succulent, and cooked fresh in the grill behind our table. The meze were very good too, but you need to be brave to handle the 'heroin' chilli dish. Everything is mopped up with the restaurant's signature pita bread.

The house wine is served in glass beakers and was reasonable. There are about 20 tables in a pleasant courtyard - we arrived early and got the only table that wasn't reserved. The reputation of this place is clearly spreading. Service was efficient.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unquestionably the best restaurant in Kas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We loved Zaika and went back on a number of occasions. It certainly deserves to be much higher on this website than it actually is, and the supposed top 3 are not a touch on it. The meat is so tender, it’s great value and the ambience is very relaxed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich,Norfolk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Amazing food atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

During a two week stay in Kas we went to this restaurant twice following our first visit we booked to go again because it was so good. We were recommended to go here by a couple from our hotel and so pleased we did. The service was great a relaxed friendly and helpful. The menu choice is amazing they prefer to serve food which has specific tastes and flavours and they grill or roast on wood fires. The theme is Turkish/Arabic. We tried a variety of different mezes, ( dried tomatoes, Aubergine with yoghurt, black eye peas) salads, meat balls, minced lamb and chicken kebab. They bring you little seasoning pots to add you own extra flavours if required.The food is fresh and very flavoursome and delicious. I also had the figs for dessert with ice cream very tasty and big enough to share. The aroma of the food cooking from the grill/bbq drifts through out the resturant and this really awakes your appetite. The restaurant is hard to find off a cobbled street but it opens out into a lovely area and makes a great & special dinning experience. The resturant was very busy both times we went but this just adds to the great atmosphere. Recommend reserving a table especially over a weekend. Amazing.... 100% worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Zaika - one of our top three restaurants in Kas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Zaika is one of our top three restaurants in Kas with the other two being Ikbal and Kosk. Is is a bit tucked away in a courtyard. It is more stylish than most but still with Turkish food, The food is cooked on the charcoal grill with an emphasis on meats and fresh bread. It definitely deserves to be higher rated than is currently the case. Regards, Bob and Anne

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ask for Benan to help you we went 3 times and each was better than before..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went on the advice of the area rep from the Hotel and were really surprised and amazed at the quality of the food. The waitress Benan is an asset to the restaurant and she advised us what to eat and what to try,and each of the choices she made for us were incredible .We are both very foodie and also ex chefs so to go back and eat in a restaurant when only in one place for 2 weeks is unheard of,we went 3 times! and each one was brilliant,so much so that we even made recommendations to the other guests and one nite there were 4 couples from the same hotel. We ate everything on the menu at least once and couldn't fault any of it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaika Ocakbasi also viewed

Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Zaika Ocakbasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaika Ocakbasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.