We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ismael, an angel without wings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiley's Restaurant

Smiley's Restaurant
Yat Limani | Kaş-Antalya, Kas, Turkey
555.3561863
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 135 Restaurants in Kas
Cuisines: Chowder, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Mediterranean, Barbecue, Turkish, Wine Bar, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ismael, an angel without wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beware this is not a restaurant review, but what I have to say about Ismael should prompt anyone visiting Kas to drop by Smiley's if only to meet an angel in the body of a human being.

We were anchored at Kas, getting ready to hit the town when my 5 year-old daughter fell from the steps of the boat, hit her head and had a major concussion and passed out without a pulse and not breathing for about 30-40 seconds. We thought we had lost her. My wife managed to resusitate her after much yelling and screaming.

Within minutes a stranger showed up, called an ambulance and accompanied us to the hospital, called a whole bunch of people and places and found us an excellent hospital in nearby Fethiye where they could perform the necessary diagnostics on our daughter. He acted as our personal interpreter, talking to the hospital staff and taxiing us back and forth to the harbour and the hospital. Our ordeal could have ended up much worse had it not been for the kindness of the stranger, whom we found out was named Ismael (Smiley).

When I tried to compensate him for all his help the next day, he would not accept a penny from me, until I insisted that he take the money and give it to the needy. I am forever in his debt. We owe him for our daugther's health who recovered fully from her brain hemorage.

There are angels in this world.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    46
    13
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic environment and wonderful host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a wonderful evening at Smiley's. the food was fantastic and the service was wonderful. Great value for fresh seafood, wonderfully cooked, and the friendliest environment on the Turkish Riviera.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service from Smiley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a lovely sailing holiday in Turkey, we visited Kas for two nights on our way up and down the coast. Our first night we moored in the town harbour with much help from Smiley, he was able to provide us with a sink plug and a bucket which we had been looking for, in a matter of minutes and free of charge!! We ate at Smiley's of course! The food was nice but not the cheapest ( he had to recover the cost of the bucket!!) The services was excellent and Smiley very helpful also he provided us fresh bread, fruit and vege in the morning delivered to the yacht and again no charge!! If your seeking fine dining in Kas Smiley's is the not your destination, but for good food and and great service you cannot not go wrong, especially if your a boatie!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Happy experience at Smiley's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived at Kas by boat and were expertly assisted in mooring up by Mr Smiley. He was charming and very helpful. When we walked into town we were greeted by name and introduced to his wife. We were also given a guided tour of the cystern under his restaurant.
We were slightly sceptical and checked out the reviews on tripadvisor before agreeing to eat at Smileys that night. We Were slightly shocked by the wide variation in reviews - some really awful ones and others full of praise. Despite the mixed reviews we decided to give it a go and were greeted warmly when we arrived.
We said we'd eat fish, but the waiter checked with us that the costs were ok before we committed to the order. We avoided the fried fish and went for grilled as some of the reviews of the fish in batter were so awful.
Our starters were delicious and the fish was absolutely marvellous. In fact probably the best of all our trip.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Smiley's to anyone going to Kas.
Not only that but he phoned one of the shops we were going to, and requested an extra discount. I've no idea whether this made any difference but certainly made us feel valued customers in both establishments.
The next morning we had fresh bread delivered to our boat at the crack of dawn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great variety, good quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have used Smiley's over many years, even when it had a roof! Bey and Beyan Smiley were as welcoming as always. We chose kofte and chicken casserole, which were both tasty and of high quality; and to drink we had the option of draft Efes or draft Turbourg, and of course bottled beers or wine. There have been some negative comments in the past, and I think the Smileys have taken note of the comments. If you have been disappointed in the past, it is worth giving this restaurant another go. I like that they now have a website.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiley's Restaurant also viewed

Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Smiley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiley's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.