We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Gardens Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
Beyhan Cenkci Cad. | Selahattin Sonmez sok., Kas, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Kas
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I share the comments completely with mr b's reviews. Visited this hotel last summer and now me and my husband can finally admit to one another that it was the worse holiday we have ever experienced.

The holiday was a treat for us both as we had been very stressed out with work and wanted a flop and drop holiday. The suites are not suites, just long narrow rooms which are dark. There is little lighting around the wardrobe area which is not helpful. We ordered room service a number of times, it was never actually what we ordered or complete.

The bar and pool area is beautiful and the boat trip fantastic, we did this twice - the second time as a private tour and it was excellent.

Food in the restaurant is average- not ideal when you have no intention of leaving the hotel, tinned fruit on a salad is not what your would expect from so called 5 star. Breakfast room appeared or looked liked spare room which no one knew what to do with it, very dark and low ceilings. Breakfast food was ok but chips and pizza??? We did wonder if these were left overs from the night before...?

Hotel management is no exisitant, elixir rep promised a number of things which the hotel could not deliver, when raising our dissatisfaction the attitude of the rep was not professional. Bar and restaurant staff were very nice.

So there are good and bad points but the good points are at least what you expect form a 5 star hotel.

A very disappointing stay and a missed opportunity by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiptopservice, Director of Sales at Peninsula Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Elixir Holidays currently have guests staying at the Peninsula Gardens Hotel on their iPads reading the latest review of the hotel that Ms Penney posted. We have been informed by them that had they read this review before they booked, they would have never done so and would have thoroughly regretted it as they are having such a great time.

Now, we are aware that many people like to have independent minds and will use their own judgment to balance out positive and negative reviews in order to decide whether or not to go ahead and book this holiday anyway. On balance, the independent thinker does, but, when confronted by someone genuinely unkind in their opinions such as Ms Penny, the strongest person can be swayed, so to what end has this delayed complaint been made?

Having a great holiday at the Peninsula Gardens is what many did last year and 2012 has started with a bang. Every new establishment tends to have teething problems and changes have been made to staff, management, the breakfast area and guests’ activities. Cabanas with butler service have been added, a fixed pier has been built and a swimming platform for those wanting to be truly alone has been placed in the sea at the end of the swimming platform.

This review at the beginning of a new season surely is meant to do more harm than good? Constructive criticism is one thing but how can we offer remedies almost a year later when we have been given no opportunity to ameliorate the original situation? We at Elixir Holidays strive to offer the highest quality service to our guests and yet, we were never given any opportunity here. Despite the raving reviews that we have had from very satisfied guests, this will forever genuinely mar and colour the views of future guests.

We are very disappointed that the Penneys did not see fit to call our offices to mention any of the difficulties they appeared to have been having and yet, have now issued a scathing review nearly a year later. We still offer the delightful weekly boat trips and dinners for special occasions. Kas is also the diving capital of the region with a plethora of diving schools, sky diving and many more water sports which can be organised with our local staff. It is also one of the top locations for history buffs, those interested in unique shopping boutiques and lovely restaurants.

Food in the restaurant is super and is ideal if you have no intention of leaving the hotel. Tinned fruit is far more expensive than the fresh variety which is simply more plentiful and would never be found on the menu anywhere that we are aware of moreover in Kas in Turkey. The newly built breakfast room is vast with a diverse number of European and Turkish cold meats, a variety of cheeses, jams, breads, cereals and eggs.

It would be useful to know what the Elixir rep promised, as it’s now almost impossible to confirm such a conversation due to the passage of time.

We understand, however, that these guests may have got into an argument with someone at the spa (not an Elixir staff member), and an otherwise delightful holiday was marred by this experience. Without the Pennys confirmation to us, it’s very difficult to clarify the facts.

On balance, we genuinely hope that potential guests will read between the lines on this one and question the veracity of a review given so far from the actual date of the holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    24
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
107
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is phenomenal. I cannot fault one single thing. It's beautiful. The rooms are spectacular. We stayed in platinum and it's the best room by far. Our own pool an terrace balcony. The food is divine. The service is impeccable - everyone was so friendly and bent over backwards to help with anything and everything. Kas is amazing - much nicer than kalkan. The free boat trip was an experience never to be forgotten - the day was perfect. We are going back this year - and we never go back to anywhere!!! But this cannot be topped. Perfect weather, perfect hotel, perfect food. Bliss. :D

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our Ideal Retreat Sep/Oct

The Peninsula Gardens Hotel offered us some surprises. We had several days of peace, tranquillity and rejuvenation. Tipped on the side of a hill almost part of the sea, this little gem was a delightful find. We spent most of our time down by the water’s edge with another couple. There is a pontoon but they said next year they’re having a pier. We went on a boat tour with lunch which was very good quality. We took several trips into Kalkan which is where we stayed in the past but there is no hotel like the Peninsula Gardens there so we treated each trip almost as a mini excursion. We did snorkelling for a day and that was a welcome change. We did use the spa twice for different treatments and thought that the care and attention of the spa technicians were very good. The bar service offered a variable mix and that kept us happy each evening we stayed at the hotel.

The Peninsula Gardens Hotel is new and my partner and I were really surprised at the level and standard of service for a place so recent to the market. One of the Elixir reps was particularly good at his job and we used his knowledge of the local area to find out some interesting facts about the history of the region, thank you Mustafa! Ironically, I’m not one to go over the top on praise but as I said at the beginning, I was pleasantly surprised at the staff, food, and the rooms. We went out a lot but we stayed for the boat trip and the barbeque night. I will go again next year and take a couple of mates with me. By the way, we stayed in Gold.

Room Tip: Gold has a spacious area to relax and a great pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

When we went to Peninsula Gardens Hotel via the Portville Villas in Gocek, we were slightly apprehensive as we thought that there was no way that it could live up to the Portville. We were very pleasantly surprised. The Onyx coloured floors with under floor lighting is really charming during the late evening and at nights at the Peninsula Gardens Hotel. What we thought the pros were:

The attentive staff
The great food
The comfortable bed
The nice decorative ideas of the rooms
Brilliant shower
Plunge pool
Kas itself
Bathing platforms direct to the warm Mediterranean

We stayed at the Portville Villas for 3 nights which was luxurious and delightful and set us up for our 7 nights at the Peninsula Gardens Hotel. Elixir Holidays gave us a fantastic return transfer so I thought that they are worth mentioning. The driver stopped off at a cafe to break the journey up at no extra charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel has a wonderful position directly overlooking the sea but fails to deliver because of poor design and inconsistent service and quality. We travelled with Elixir holidays who appear to be disorganised. Despite giving our contact information on booking we were rung on three different occasions for the information that we had already given. On arrival in Turkey we were met and transferred from a mini coach to a SUV for the transfer, no refreshment was available and no stops were made during the two hour transfer so we arrived thirsty and tired.We had booked the 'signaure' suite-Jade for a one week stay.Jade is a long room with a dark end with no lighting so trying to find clothes in the wardrobe was a hit and miss affair. By accepted hotel standards this is not a suite but a long room with seating for one person so one of us had to use the bed to sit on-not what you'd expect in a suite. The room has a large mirror above the bed-very Austin Powers and en- suite shower room. The bathroom has no extraction fan so does become steamy and the floor becomes slippery. The room has a large external decked area containing a plunge pool. This area is overlooked by five other rooms and using it makes you feel as though you are an exhibit in a zoo. Elixir claims there is a private corner which there is but this is dark and dingy-not the sort of place you'd want to spend time. When we visited the glass balcony above this area was shattered and looked as though it would fall at any moment. The decked area has external lights so you can enjoy being on exhibition in the evening as well-except of course you can't because if you switch the external lights on the room lights fuse and the whole area and the room are plunged into darkness.When we visited in mid October there was a morning of heavy rain which revealed that the patio doors to the balcony leaked and water crept across the floor. The rain also revealed the flaws in the overall design of this hotel as some walkways are outside and fill with water;the water then runs down the staircase turning these into slip hazards. One of the guests did slip on the stairse whilst we were there and had a nasty fall. As some of the stairwells have no handrails if you do slip there's nothing to grab hold of to stop you falling.
The hotel is built into the hillside and stepped down so almost all the rooms are overlooked, it's probably best to choose the cheaper rooms right at the top as they appear to be the only ones not overlooked but you will have to negotiate the 164 steps down to the lower levels of the hotel which contain the bar, pool and dining area .Guest with walking difficulties and wheelchair users will find the hotel a difficult prospect, although it has two lifts these are linked by a staircase and there is no lift or ramp access to the dining area and bar.
There is a spa which is like a grotto with very little natural light. It contains a sauna, steam room and Turkish bath as well as a tiny gym(two pieces of equipment and some free weights) as well as an indoor pool-which appears to be about 12 metres long-the spa person didn't know how long it was! It's difficult to any serious swimming as it's so shallow, pillars intrude into the space and the steps intrude where you would turn. The indooor pool is also very narrow-only enough for one person at a time. The external pool is a free form pool with artificial rocks at one end so length swimming is off there too. The hotel has its own pontoon in the sea so dependent on weather conditions you can do some sea swimming.
The significant weakness of the hotel is that it has no management. Although the staff are for the most part smiley and pleasant they are unsure of their roles and there is a general air of muddling through. For example, cleaning and restocking the room was a hit and miss affair either toiletries would be forgotten or the bin would not be emptied etc-it's clear the staff don't have a checklist of what they should do in each room. Staff who wait on tables have a mixed experience and some of them know what they ough to be doing and others do not. Service is way below what you'd expect in a hotel with aspirations to be 5 star. Food quality like the service is so variable. Breakfasts are buffet style with four hot choices but as none of the dishes are labelled it's not clear what your choices are! Except of course for the obvious like boiled eggs, or pizza slices or soggy chips-these were all breakfast choices as indeed were cold baked beans. On one occasion the boiled eggs were not boiled and simply ran out of their shells-when this was pointed out to the staff no action was taken even though there may have been a health hazard. Evening meals were variable, only four Turkish dishes were available they were very tasty but presentation wise were very poor. Steaks were very tasty and artistically presented acompanied by three quarters of one potato and some sauce. It was difficult to know what the portion control criterion was. The choice of soup was tomato or tomato-usually accompanied by cheese and croutons except by the middle of of our stay when the waiter stated croutons were off until I offered to go into the kitchen and make some-after this they did appear.
Overall the staff tried but with no leadership and management standards were low in terms of consistency of uniform and personal presentation. No one wore a name badge so it was impossible to know names or roles, incidentally the same was true of Elixir personnel. Staff apppeared to turn up when it suited them, have their own breakfast and then think about the guests, overall they were way off what would be expected in a quality hotel. However as this is a seasonal hotel the staff too are seasonal so next year who knows?
The only room tariff is bed and breakfast so all other items are chargeable, food charges were reasonable and the house wine was both reasonable and of good quality. However when we were settling our bill on departure it was impossible to know if we had been charged correctly or not as all items charged to your room appear inder the heading of 'A La Carte' so you have no idea if an item is food or drink or whether it is actually yours to pay for or not.
Two complimentary extras worth mentioning were the day's boat trip which was excellent with a fish lunch included except of course it wasn't fish but lamb and chicken but nonetheless it was good day. Also included was a complimentary candlelit dinner for two which we had looked forward too thinking it would be a special occasion except of course it wasn't. It was the same as every other evening, for candlelit read tea light in a container. Most of our meals were in what the hotel calls a dining room -it resembles a basement garage complete with stacked tables and computer terminals in one corner where the waiting staff can check the football results whilst serving you. It has no ambiance or atmosphere and is small and is the only area for guest to gather if the weather is wet and/or cold.
Overall we were bitterly diappointed by this hotel which promises so much and delivers so little. There is such potential to create something really special but this potential will only be realised if the hotel's owners and Elixir are really honest with themselves and make some serious improvements to the building and to the quality of service.

Room Tip: The higher the better to try to get some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiptopservice, Public Relations Manager at Peninsula Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
A Wasted Opportunity

Reading this essay of opinions does not give a clear or logical picture of the Peninsula Gardens Hotel as this guest has had lovely meals which he freely admits were tasty and artistically presented but that positive feedback does get lost amidst everything else. Elixir Holidays’ checks are to ensure that all clients’ details are up to date and correct as it is not unknown for passengers’ names or passports to change between booking and departure thus, denying them boarding. We are happy that Michael B also says that the Peninsula Gardens Hotel enjoys a wonderful position directly overlooking the Mediterranean Sea as this is a clear feature that our guests love.


We are pleased at the playfulness of the Austin Powers referral to the size of the bed but thankfully, the decor is much more subtle and understated with semi precious Onyx and under floor lighting. The description of the Elixir Holidays’ transfer vehicles are to be found on our website, the mini coach is one of our specially converted 2011 Mercedes and we do use the newest and highest quality SUVs. Clients are positively encouraged to ask the drivers for stops at cafes or restaurants if they need it but we generally find that getting there is most people’s priority.


The enormous amount of space with muted lighting offered by Jade is one of the assets that previous guests have loved as can be seen under the excellent reviews provided by other Trip Advisors’ commentators. To continue the theme, its external deck is extremely large, even bigger than some private villas’, with a very wide parasol which offers great cover when not sunbathing.


Kas is lucky enough to have a substantial amount of daily sunshine. The storms that occurred in mid-October were the worst weather in recent recorded history with eight people dying in monsoon like storms in Antalya which is only two hours away, so a bit of water ingress if a door is left slightly open would not be unheard of in such inclement weather.
The location of the Peninsula Gardens Hotel gives those who want to keep fit the amazing opportunity of the stairs but the lifts are there for the fainter hearted. We have stated in our literature that the Peninsula Gardens is not suitable for those with mobility problems.


The layout of the spa is created as a sanctum away from it all in a peaceful and quiet area. We had a professional rugby player who worked out daily in the gym, as the hotel is small, the size is not an issue. The indoor pool is 25 meters long and is perfect for laps. The outdoor pool is large and contains a water feature of rocks at one end. Most rooms have their own plunge pools so this one never gets over crowded. All other guests have welcomed the pontoon which allows full use of the calm, quiet, health giving properties of the Mediterranean Sea.
We are happy that the staff’s pleasant and helpful demeanour came across in such a positive light. The new manager will ensure that any training gap is covered for next season. Michael B took most if not all his meals at the hotel but were given information on many outside restaurants in the charming and beautiful town of Kas. There was ample opportunity to dine out even with the Peninsula Gardens Hotel’s extensive menu, a change is sometimes a good idea.


We will be continuing the day’s goulette excursion with lunch (a popular favourite), honeymooners, anniversary and birthday guests will also receive a complimentary candle lit dinner and partner massage. There will be eight new cabanas by the waterfront with some complimentary drinks and private butler service, Wii Fii, and Ipod docking station. Indoors, for 2012, clients will be enjoying the new feature of a guests’ lounge including a snooker table. Peninsula Gardens Hotel wishes all a great holiday for the winter season but we are now taking early bookings for 2012, don't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our 1st visit to Turkey and having been tempted by an introductory offer in the paper we booked through Elixir holidays and we were recommended to stay in Opal room so this is what we booked. Weather for 1st week of October was lovely and sunny in the daytime but very windy around the dining areas in the evening, I think we left just in time as it had been forecast to rain for a few days after that.
On arrival we were told the transfer would be 2 hours, Elixir had said it would be 90 mins and after a 4 hour flight this was a slight disappointment as we lost most of our 1st Saturday to travel despite leaving the house at 4am, however the scenery was stunning on route and we had the transfer bus to ourselves so we kicked our shoes off and chilled out.
On arrival we had a swift check in and were shown to our room which was lovely, spacious, huge bed, lovely terrace with views of the sea and we immediately ordered room service as we were too early for dinner and too late for lunch. So we ate our 1st meal which was tasty and watched the sunset.
After an early night and early rise I wondered out onto the terrace and was slightly disappointed by the amount of shadow in the area despite the suites either side being bathed in sunshine (we quickly realised that this was because our plunge pool was completely covered with the balcony upstairs) so we headed down to the beds nearer the sea after breakfast and returned to our room about 12ish once the sun was high enough to reach our terrace. The pool however rarely got any sun as described above. Anyway we soon got into this routine and it was quite nice to break up the day and have a chance to be near the pontoon for swimming in the sea. I used the indoor pool every day to do some laps as the plunge pool was too small for anything than a dip and so sadly never got used. The spa treatments were excellent, thoroughly recommend the Hammam, with a foam massage to die for.
Our main difficulty with this hotel was the difference in staff attitudes and communication, some were excellent, others not so and I sometimes felt a pain asking for things and then having to ask again over the next few days as it appeared to be misunderstood. Examples of this were my husband asking for our safe to be looked at as it wasn't working...no-one came. After the 1st night I had back pain from the very hard mattress and asked if it was possible to have another duvet cover or extra bedding so I could pad out the mattress a little, it was met with a blank stare and after embarrassing miming actions of me trying to show a bed cover we were told it would be arranged....no-one came, so the next day I asked again and was told any extra bedding had to come from the property in Kalkan so it would come the next day, 3 days after my original request, 1 very sore back later and a half empty hotel with empty beds and surely spare bedding!! I wasn't asking for a new mattress just an extra duvet....anyway after asking our Elixir rep it finally got sorted and I was much more comfy for the duration of the stay.Totally agree with other reviews pointing out the lack of clarity in Elixir's role) I really hate myself for saying this but with a majority English customer base it would be really helpful to have reception staff who are able to communicate effectively and if there is a misunderstanding to ask one of the many staff at the hotel who do speak excellent English to help out. I walked past reception a couple of times to see people trying to mime there words to a bewildered receptionist.
My only other suggestion/request for next season would be offer a very simple evening housekeeping service, a bed turndown is common practice in 5 star hotels but more importantly than this is having the bins emptied particularly the bathroom one where used toilet tissue had to be placed rather than flushing down the loo. Our room sometimes did not get cleaned until after 2pm therefore soiled tissues were sitting in the bin for over 24 hours so this would be a nice addition.
Anyway, enough of the negatives, the property is beautiful, there are some lovely staff and Kas is a nice change from eating at the hotel occasionally, although the lunch/dinner in the hotel is excellent. Breakfast was a little hit or miss dependant on what time you went down (the fruit salad was either full and fresh or on it's last legs) Overall we had a very relaxing stay and would definitely recommend it (with hopeful improvements) next season.
We have been lucky enough to visit 5 star resorts across Asia and this hotel needs to step up a little to meet it's 5 star aspirations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Having thoroughly enjoyed a two-week stay at the Peninsula Gardens with my partner at the beginning of September I now find myself with time to comment on how much we enjoyed it. I have to say that we were somewhat unsure as to how we would find the hotel given its relative newness and certainly anticipated some teething problems. We were, however, keen to actually stay in Kas having visited for the day on two previous occasions over the years and given that we have always enjoyed good holidays when booking with Elixir we were more than happy to give it a try. Well, we were certainly not disappointed in any way.

The location is absolutely magnificent with wonderful views and we marvelled at the feat of engineering and design necessary to achieve the final result. We were amazed at the maturity of the gardens throughout and the smell of cedar on the staircases and walkways was truly captivating.

The staff, without exception were extremely friendly and made us feel most welcome. The Reception staff were very helpful indeed, as were the housekeeping people and those working at the bar and in the restaurant. We certainly did not experience any queries or problems which the staff were unable to put right and are confident that any little niggles which people might have encountered will be ironed out for next season.

We stayed in Jade which is an extremely large, comfortable, well-equipped suite with an extremely comfortable large bed and ample storage and wardrobe space (even enough coathangers - possibly a first for me in a hotel in Turkey!!). There was a huge outside terrace with a sizeable pool (bigger than a mere plunge), sunbeds and umbrella, and an extremely comfortable settee. Jade has the most amazing view and the sunsets we experienced were truly magnificent. During the days it was hard to pull ourselves away from there, although we did venture downstairs on a couple of occasions to the lower sun terrace by the sea in order to take advantage of the opportunity to swim from the platform at the edge. Everywhere was so peaceful that the hours and days just melted away. I particularly enjoyed being able to slip back into the air-conditioned atmosphere of the room to take a cool drink from the fridge, change my reading material or pick up an I-pod from the docking station by the bed - talk about idleness!

Away from the comfort and relaxation of the suite we both enjoyed a visit to the Spa each day for a swim in the tranquil pool or, in the case of my partner cover a few kilometres on the running machine (a conscience easer?) and spend a few minutes in the steam room or sauna. This we tended to do before breakfast when, of course, it was quiet and we were able to enjoy a chat with the delightful Esteban who has to be one of the best-read young people I have had the pleasure to meet. He also advised us very well on the variety of treatments available and we can certainly recommend them. A traditional Hamam (Turkish bath) is a MUST and there are massages to suit all tastes - again excellent. But don't plan on doing much afterwards! Perhaps a time to enjoy Room Service? We certainly did.

Speaking of food, it was very good indeed. The buffet breakfast was plentiful with something to suit most tastes, including freshly prepared eggs of all sorts. The menu available throughout the day was interesting, ranging from light bites to more substantial dishes, although we tended to save ourselves for the evenings. The menu then was excellent and the presentation of the dishes most attractive. We felt it to be a nice touch to begin with a little amuse bouche and to serve a sorbet between courses. The service was splendid with the waiters being most helpful and keen to advise if required or to arrange for any special requests with the chef. We liked it that the tables were nicely spaced apart and whether you were on the side facing the sea or by the poolside you always enjoyed a pleasant vista. The Turkish Barbecue evening with live music was very good value with a lovely selection of mouth-watering mezze and deserts as well as all sorts of barbecued fish, meat and chicken to choose from.

We also enjoyed a courtesy gulet excursion from Elixir. The gulet picked us up at the landing stage below the hotel after breakfast which was rather good and we had a very pleasnt lunch on board - all organic produce - as well as afternoon tea, prepared by our Captain who gave us a great day and was very amusing company as well. There were several opportunities throughout the day for swimming in the sea.

We actually went into Kas only on 4 occasions, I think, and while we had thought about taking the ferry across to Mace and the local bus through to Kalkan, somehow we did not get around to it! Perhaps next time? Yes, we have already booked for next year and are looking forward to it. For a thoroughly relaxing, memorable holiday Peninsula Gardens more than filled the bill. As on previous occasions Elixir did not fail to please - and we have travelled extensively throughout the world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peninsula Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Gardens Hotel

Address: Beyhan Cenkci Cad. | Selahattin Sonmez sok., Kas, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Kas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 hotels in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the most luxurious new hotels we have found on the Lycian coast. As you read this, the first guests are already splashing in their private plunge pools, or basking on their secluded terraces. Literally from the ground up, The Peninsula Gardens has been designed to make the most of the craggy coastal cliffs on which it stands. There are two buildings, but the slope allows the second building to command just as splendid a view as the first. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Peninsula Gardens Hotel to your Saves list