We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Gardens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Peninsula Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
Beyhan Cenkci Cad. | Selahattin Sonmez sok., Kas, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel is phenomenal. I cannot fault one single thing. It's beautiful. The rooms are spectacular. We stayed in platinum and it's the best room by far. Our own pool an terrace balcony. The food is divine. The service is impeccable - everyone was so friendly and bent over backwards to help with anything and everything. Kas is amazing - much nicer than kalkan. The free boat trip was an experience never to be forgotten - the day was perfect. We are going back this year - and we never go back to anywhere!!! But this cannot be topped. Perfect weather, perfect hotel, perfect food. Bliss. :D

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    31
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
129
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our Ideal Retreat Sep/Oct

The Peninsula Gardens Hotel offered us some surprises. We had several days of peace, tranquillity and rejuvenation. Tipped on the side of a hill almost part of the sea, this little gem was a delightful find. We spent most of our time down by the water’s edge with another couple. There is a pontoon but they said next year they’re having a pier. We went on a boat tour with lunch which was very good quality. We took several trips into Kalkan which is where we stayed in the past but there is no hotel like the Peninsula Gardens there so we treated each trip almost as a mini excursion. We did snorkelling for a day and that was a welcome change. We did use the spa twice for different treatments and thought that the care and attention of the spa technicians were very good. The bar service offered a variable mix and that kept us happy each evening we stayed at the hotel.

The Peninsula Gardens Hotel is new and my partner and I were really surprised at the level and standard of service for a place so recent to the market. One of the Elixir reps was particularly good at his job and we used his knowledge of the local area to find out some interesting facts about the history of the region, thank you Mustafa! Ironically, I’m not one to go over the top on praise but as I said at the beginning, I was pleasantly surprised at the staff, food, and the rooms. We went out a lot but we stayed for the boat trip and the barbeque night. I will go again next year and take a couple of mates with me. By the way, we stayed in Gold.

Room Tip: Gold has a spacious area to relax and a great pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

When we went to Peninsula Gardens Hotel via the Portville Villas in Gocek, we were slightly apprehensive as we thought that there was no way that it could live up to the Portville. We were very pleasantly surprised. The Onyx coloured floors with under floor lighting is really charming during the late evening and at nights at the Peninsula Gardens Hotel. What we thought the pros were:

The attentive staff
The great food
The comfortable bed
The nice decorative ideas of the rooms
Brilliant shower
Plunge pool
Kas itself
Bathing platforms direct to the warm Mediterranean

We stayed at the Portville Villas for 3 nights which was luxurious and delightful and set us up for our 7 nights at the Peninsula Gardens Hotel. Elixir Holidays gave us a fantastic return transfer so I thought that they are worth mentioning. The driver stopped off at a cafe to break the journey up at no extra charge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel has a wonderful position directly overlooking the sea but fails to deliver because of poor design and inconsistent service and quality. We travelled with Elixir holidays who appear to be disorganised. Despite giving our contact information on booking we were rung on three different occasions for the information that we had already given. On arrival in Turkey we were met and transferred from a mini coach to a SUV for the transfer, no refreshment was available and no stops were made during the two hour transfer so we arrived thirsty and tired.We had booked the 'signaure' suite-Jade for a one week stay.Jade is a long room with a dark end with no lighting so trying to find clothes in the wardrobe was a hit and miss affair. By accepted hotel standards this is not a suite but a long room with seating for one person so one of us had to use the bed to sit on-not what you'd expect in a suite. The room has a large mirror above the bed-very Austin Powers and en- suite shower room. The bathroom has no extraction fan so does become steamy and the floor becomes slippery. The room has a large external decked area containing a plunge pool. This area is overlooked by five other rooms and using it makes you feel as though you are an exhibit in a zoo. Elixir claims there is a private corner which there is but this is dark and dingy-not the sort of place you'd want to spend time. When we visited the glass balcony above this area was shattered and looked as though it would fall at any moment. The decked area has external lights so you can enjoy being on exhibition in the evening as well-except of course you can't because if you switch the external lights on the room lights fuse and the whole area and the room are plunged into darkness.When we visited in mid October there was a morning of heavy rain which revealed that the patio doors to the balcony leaked and water crept across the floor. The rain also revealed the flaws in the overall design of this hotel as some walkways are outside and fill with water;the water then runs down the staircase turning these into slip hazards. One of the guests did slip on the stairse whilst we were there and had a nasty fall. As some of the stairwells have no handrails if you do slip there's nothing to grab hold of to stop you falling.
The hotel is built into the hillside and stepped down so almost all the rooms are overlooked, it's probably best to choose the cheaper rooms right at the top as they appear to be the only ones not overlooked but you will have to negotiate the 164 steps down to the lower levels of the hotel which contain the bar, pool and dining area .Guest with walking difficulties and wheelchair users will find the hotel a difficult prospect, although it has two lifts these are linked by a staircase and there is no lift or ramp access to the dining area and bar.
There is a spa which is like a grotto with very little natural light. It contains a sauna, steam room and Turkish bath as well as a tiny gym(two pieces of equipment and some free weights) as well as an indoor pool-which appears to be about 12 metres long-the spa person didn't know how long it was! It's difficult to any serious swimming as it's so shallow, pillars intrude into the space and the steps intrude where you would turn. The indooor pool is also very narrow-only enough for one person at a time. The external pool is a free form pool with artificial rocks at one end so length swimming is off there too. The hotel has its own pontoon in the sea so dependent on weather conditions you can do some sea swimming.
The significant weakness of the hotel is that it has no management. Although the staff are for the most part smiley and pleasant they are unsure of their roles and there is a general air of muddling through. For example, cleaning and restocking the room was a hit and miss affair either toiletries would be forgotten or the bin would not be emptied etc-it's clear the staff don't have a checklist of what they should do in each room. Staff who wait on tables have a mixed experience and some of them know what they ough to be doing and others do not. Service is way below what you'd expect in a hotel with aspirations to be 5 star. Food quality like the service is so variable. Breakfasts are buffet style with four hot choices but as none of the dishes are labelled it's not clear what your choices are! Except of course for the obvious like boiled eggs, or pizza slices or soggy chips-these were all breakfast choices as indeed were cold baked beans. On one occasion the boiled eggs were not boiled and simply ran out of their shells-when this was pointed out to the staff no action was taken even though there may have been a health hazard. Evening meals were variable, only four Turkish dishes were available they were very tasty but presentation wise were very poor. Steaks were very tasty and artistically presented acompanied by three quarters of one potato and some sauce. It was difficult to know what the portion control criterion was. The choice of soup was tomato or tomato-usually accompanied by cheese and croutons except by the middle of of our stay when the waiter stated croutons were off until I offered to go into the kitchen and make some-after this they did appear.
Overall the staff tried but with no leadership and management standards were low in terms of consistency of uniform and personal presentation. No one wore a name badge so it was impossible to know names or roles, incidentally the same was true of Elixir personnel. Staff apppeared to turn up when it suited them, have their own breakfast and then think about the guests, overall they were way off what would be expected in a quality hotel. However as this is a seasonal hotel the staff too are seasonal so next year who knows?
The only room tariff is bed and breakfast so all other items are chargeable, food charges were reasonable and the house wine was both reasonable and of good quality. However when we were settling our bill on departure it was impossible to know if we had been charged correctly or not as all items charged to your room appear inder the heading of 'A La Carte' so you have no idea if an item is food or drink or whether it is actually yours to pay for or not.
Two complimentary extras worth mentioning were the day's boat trip which was excellent with a fish lunch included except of course it wasn't fish but lamb and chicken but nonetheless it was good day. Also included was a complimentary candlelit dinner for two which we had looked forward too thinking it would be a special occasion except of course it wasn't. It was the same as every other evening, for candlelit read tea light in a container. Most of our meals were in what the hotel calls a dining room -it resembles a basement garage complete with stacked tables and computer terminals in one corner where the waiting staff can check the football results whilst serving you. It has no ambiance or atmosphere and is small and is the only area for guest to gather if the weather is wet and/or cold.
Overall we were bitterly diappointed by this hotel which promises so much and delivers so little. There is such potential to create something really special but this potential will only be realised if the hotel's owners and Elixir are really honest with themselves and make some serious improvements to the building and to the quality of service.

Room Tip: The higher the better to try to get some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiptopservice, Public Relations Manager at Peninsula Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
A Wasted Opportunity

Reading this essay of opinions does not give a clear or logical picture of the Peninsula Gardens Hotel as this guest has had lovely meals which he freely admits were tasty and artistically presented but that positive feedback does get lost amidst everything else. Elixir Holidays’ checks are to ensure that all clients’ details are up to date and correct as it is not unknown for passengers’ names or passports to change between booking and departure thus, denying them boarding. We are happy that Michael B also says that the Peninsula Gardens Hotel enjoys a wonderful position directly overlooking the Mediterranean Sea as this is a clear feature that our guests love.


We are pleased at the playfulness of the Austin Powers referral to the size of the bed but thankfully, the decor is much more subtle and understated with semi precious Onyx and under floor lighting. The description of the Elixir Holidays’ transfer vehicles are to be found on our website, the mini coach is one of our specially converted 2011 Mercedes and we do use the newest and highest quality SUVs. Clients are positively encouraged to ask the drivers for stops at cafes or restaurants if they need it but we generally find that getting there is most people’s priority.


The enormous amount of space with muted lighting offered by Jade is one of the assets that previous guests have loved as can be seen under the excellent reviews provided by other Trip Advisors’ commentators. To continue the theme, its external deck is extremely large, even bigger than some private villas’, with a very wide parasol which offers great cover when not sunbathing.


Kas is lucky enough to have a substantial amount of daily sunshine. The storms that occurred in mid-October were the worst weather in recent recorded history with eight people dying in monsoon like storms in Antalya which is only two hours away, so a bit of water ingress if a door is left slightly open would not be unheard of in such inclement weather.
The location of the Peninsula Gardens Hotel gives those who want to keep fit the amazing opportunity of the stairs but the lifts are there for the fainter hearted. We have stated in our literature that the Peninsula Gardens is not suitable for those with mobility problems.


The layout of the spa is created as a sanctum away from it all in a peaceful and quiet area. We had a professional rugby player who worked out daily in the gym, as the hotel is small, the size is not an issue. The indoor pool is 25 meters long and is perfect for laps. The outdoor pool is large and contains a water feature of rocks at one end. Most rooms have their own plunge pools so this one never gets over crowded. All other guests have welcomed the pontoon which allows full use of the calm, quiet, health giving properties of the Mediterranean Sea.
We are happy that the staff’s pleasant and helpful demeanour came across in such a positive light. The new manager will ensure that any training gap is covered for next season. Michael B took most if not all his meals at the hotel but were given information on many outside restaurants in the charming and beautiful town of Kas. There was ample opportunity to dine out even with the Peninsula Gardens Hotel’s extensive menu, a change is sometimes a good idea.


We will be continuing the day’s goulette excursion with lunch (a popular favourite), honeymooners, anniversary and birthday guests will also receive a complimentary candle lit dinner and partner massage. There will be eight new cabanas by the waterfront with some complimentary drinks and private butler service, Wii Fii, and Ipod docking station. Indoors, for 2012, clients will be enjoying the new feature of a guests’ lounge including a snooker table. Peninsula Gardens Hotel wishes all a great holiday for the winter season but we are now taking early bookings for 2012, don't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our 1st visit to Turkey and having been tempted by an introductory offer in the paper we booked through Elixir holidays and we were recommended to stay in Opal room so this is what we booked. Weather for 1st week of October was lovely and sunny in the daytime but very windy around the dining areas in the evening, I think we left just in time as it had been forecast to rain for a few days after that.
On arrival we were told the transfer would be 2 hours, Elixir had said it would be 90 mins and after a 4 hour flight this was a slight disappointment as we lost most of our 1st Saturday to travel despite leaving the house at 4am, however the scenery was stunning on route and we had the transfer bus to ourselves so we kicked our shoes off and chilled out.
On arrival we had a swift check in and were shown to our room which was lovely, spacious, huge bed, lovely terrace with views of the sea and we immediately ordered room service as we were too early for dinner and too late for lunch. So we ate our 1st meal which was tasty and watched the sunset.
After an early night and early rise I wondered out onto the terrace and was slightly disappointed by the amount of shadow in the area despite the suites either side being bathed in sunshine (we quickly realised that this was because our plunge pool was completely covered with the balcony upstairs) so we headed down to the beds nearer the sea after breakfast and returned to our room about 12ish once the sun was high enough to reach our terrace. The pool however rarely got any sun as described above. Anyway we soon got into this routine and it was quite nice to break up the day and have a chance to be near the pontoon for swimming in the sea. I used the indoor pool every day to do some laps as the plunge pool was too small for anything than a dip and so sadly never got used. The spa treatments were excellent, thoroughly recommend the Hammam, with a foam massage to die for.
Our main difficulty with this hotel was the difference in staff attitudes and communication, some were excellent, others not so and I sometimes felt a pain asking for things and then having to ask again over the next few days as it appeared to be misunderstood. Examples of this were my husband asking for our safe to be looked at as it wasn't working...no-one came. After the 1st night I had back pain from the very hard mattress and asked if it was possible to have another duvet cover or extra bedding so I could pad out the mattress a little, it was met with a blank stare and after embarrassing miming actions of me trying to show a bed cover we were told it would be arranged....no-one came, so the next day I asked again and was told any extra bedding had to come from the property in Kalkan so it would come the next day, 3 days after my original request, 1 very sore back later and a half empty hotel with empty beds and surely spare bedding!! I wasn't asking for a new mattress just an extra duvet....anyway after asking our Elixir rep it finally got sorted and I was much more comfy for the duration of the stay.Totally agree with other reviews pointing out the lack of clarity in Elixir's role) I really hate myself for saying this but with a majority English customer base it would be really helpful to have reception staff who are able to communicate effectively and if there is a misunderstanding to ask one of the many staff at the hotel who do speak excellent English to help out. I walked past reception a couple of times to see people trying to mime there words to a bewildered receptionist.
My only other suggestion/request for next season would be offer a very simple evening housekeeping service, a bed turndown is common practice in 5 star hotels but more importantly than this is having the bins emptied particularly the bathroom one where used toilet tissue had to be placed rather than flushing down the loo. Our room sometimes did not get cleaned until after 2pm therefore soiled tissues were sitting in the bin for over 24 hours so this would be a nice addition.
Anyway, enough of the negatives, the property is beautiful, there are some lovely staff and Kas is a nice change from eating at the hotel occasionally, although the lunch/dinner in the hotel is excellent. Breakfast was a little hit or miss dependant on what time you went down (the fruit salad was either full and fresh or on it's last legs) Overall we had a very relaxing stay and would definitely recommend it (with hopeful improvements) next season.
We have been lucky enough to visit 5 star resorts across Asia and this hotel needs to step up a little to meet it's 5 star aspirations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Having thoroughly enjoyed a two-week stay at the Peninsula Gardens with my partner at the beginning of September I now find myself with time to comment on how much we enjoyed it. I have to say that we were somewhat unsure as to how we would find the hotel given its relative newness and certainly anticipated some teething problems. We were, however, keen to actually stay in Kas having visited for the day on two previous occasions over the years and given that we have always enjoyed good holidays when booking with Elixir we were more than happy to give it a try. Well, we were certainly not disappointed in any way.

The location is absolutely magnificent with wonderful views and we marvelled at the feat of engineering and design necessary to achieve the final result. We were amazed at the maturity of the gardens throughout and the smell of cedar on the staircases and walkways was truly captivating.

The staff, without exception were extremely friendly and made us feel most welcome. The Reception staff were very helpful indeed, as were the housekeeping people and those working at the bar and in the restaurant. We certainly did not experience any queries or problems which the staff were unable to put right and are confident that any little niggles which people might have encountered will be ironed out for next season.

We stayed in Jade which is an extremely large, comfortable, well-equipped suite with an extremely comfortable large bed and ample storage and wardrobe space (even enough coathangers - possibly a first for me in a hotel in Turkey!!). There was a huge outside terrace with a sizeable pool (bigger than a mere plunge), sunbeds and umbrella, and an extremely comfortable settee. Jade has the most amazing view and the sunsets we experienced were truly magnificent. During the days it was hard to pull ourselves away from there, although we did venture downstairs on a couple of occasions to the lower sun terrace by the sea in order to take advantage of the opportunity to swim from the platform at the edge. Everywhere was so peaceful that the hours and days just melted away. I particularly enjoyed being able to slip back into the air-conditioned atmosphere of the room to take a cool drink from the fridge, change my reading material or pick up an I-pod from the docking station by the bed - talk about idleness!

Away from the comfort and relaxation of the suite we both enjoyed a visit to the Spa each day for a swim in the tranquil pool or, in the case of my partner cover a few kilometres on the running machine (a conscience easer?) and spend a few minutes in the steam room or sauna. This we tended to do before breakfast when, of course, it was quiet and we were able to enjoy a chat with the delightful Esteban who has to be one of the best-read young people I have had the pleasure to meet. He also advised us very well on the variety of treatments available and we can certainly recommend them. A traditional Hamam (Turkish bath) is a MUST and there are massages to suit all tastes - again excellent. But don't plan on doing much afterwards! Perhaps a time to enjoy Room Service? We certainly did.

Speaking of food, it was very good indeed. The buffet breakfast was plentiful with something to suit most tastes, including freshly prepared eggs of all sorts. The menu available throughout the day was interesting, ranging from light bites to more substantial dishes, although we tended to save ourselves for the evenings. The menu then was excellent and the presentation of the dishes most attractive. We felt it to be a nice touch to begin with a little amuse bouche and to serve a sorbet between courses. The service was splendid with the waiters being most helpful and keen to advise if required or to arrange for any special requests with the chef. We liked it that the tables were nicely spaced apart and whether you were on the side facing the sea or by the poolside you always enjoyed a pleasant vista. The Turkish Barbecue evening with live music was very good value with a lovely selection of mouth-watering mezze and deserts as well as all sorts of barbecued fish, meat and chicken to choose from.

We also enjoyed a courtesy gulet excursion from Elixir. The gulet picked us up at the landing stage below the hotel after breakfast which was rather good and we had a very pleasnt lunch on board - all organic produce - as well as afternoon tea, prepared by our Captain who gave us a great day and was very amusing company as well. There were several opportunities throughout the day for swimming in the sea.

We actually went into Kas only on 4 occasions, I think, and while we had thought about taking the ferry across to Mace and the local bus through to Kalkan, somehow we did not get around to it! Perhaps next time? Yes, we have already booked for next year and are looking forward to it. For a thoroughly relaxing, memorable holiday Peninsula Gardens more than filled the bill. As on previous occasions Elixir did not fail to please - and we have travelled extensively throughout the world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have travelled with Elixir many times before and were happy to try their latest 'discovery' as we know they have generally high standards.

There are certainly positive things about the Peninsula Gardens Hotel - but these were balanced for us by some down sides including some things that weren't right yet in this first season.

On the plus side, the junior suite we stayed in was very spacious, with a huge bed. It was light and bright. The air conditioning worked - though other guests had problems. We personally found the onyx decorations and ceiling mirror naff and tacky looking but no doubt some/ many would see them as an asset. The whole design of the hotel was ingenious in fitting so many good-sized rooms into a small space.

In addition, the day's gulet trip included in our stay was enjoyable and the lunch onboard excellent.

On a less positive note:

1. Although the hotel is sold on its individual terraces, etc and the word 'secluded' is even used in the blurb, in fact, the terraces are very over-looked so there is little sense of privacy. We had to cower under the beach umbrella night and day to avoid being directly overlooked from several other terraces cheek by jowl, plus people passing up and down on the outside stairs. In a wider context, this part of the Kas peninsula, which we've visited several times over the years, is now very built-up so we could see lots of other villas etc from the balcony as well as the sea.

2. We had a good sized plunge pool but you could not swim far in it, just cool down. Unfortunately, it wasn't possible to do much in the main hotel pool either because - in a quest for novelty, in our view misplaced - one end had been filled with concrete 'rocks', thus restricting swimming space.

3. the standard is not - or not yet - what you might expect from a truly top class hotel. To give a small example, the shower was good but the bathroom (which was very dark and had no fan to keep air fresh, which I personally would have preferred to the onyx!) had 4 towels, as you'd expect for 2 people - but only 2 hooks and nowhere else to put the towels! Gave an amateurish impression.

4. Bizarrely, given the time of year, there was no sheet for the huge bed, only a duvet. It was possible to remove the duvet from its case but the empty case was nothing like large enough to cover 2 people properly on the huge bed, which didn't make for a very restful night's sleep! (The sheets didn't feel very luxurious to me either though I can't be sure of their thread count). There was no turn-down service - but then there wsn't much to turn down.

5. In particular, we absolutely agree with the previous reviewer about the management vacuum. The owner's daughter did not seem to be managing or to have yet acquired the skills for such a position. With a different attitude, 3 and 4 above could have been sorted, as could various other minor niggles (eg, promised free dinner not deducted from bill until 3rd time of asking; spare loo rolls not replaced). Individual junior staff members were very pleasant and eager to oblige but generally lacked direction and leadership. The Elixir staff were helpful when there, but could not be expected to take the management role.

In the evening we preferred to eat in Kas. We tried the hotel a couple of nights and found that the chef, no doubt from a praiseworthy ambition, over-complicated almost every dish. We find it preferable - and actually much more genuinely sophisticated - to have excellent primary ingredients prepared so as to let them speak for themselves (cf, the River Cafe, Jamie Oliver, Rick Stein et al). Perhaps the Turkish night would have been better. The wine was pretty pricy but that was to be expected. Breakfast was OK but I've had better in Turkey. I like simple things, but the 'feta-type' cheese was taste-free and the fruit salad uninspiring.

Overall, I don't think we would return. But I hope that some of the problems are just teething troubles and will be sorted so that future visitors experience the higher overall standard of comfort and expertise that this place seems to be aiming for.

-

Room Tip: Anyone with limited mobility should be aware that, though there are lifts, there are also a good man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiptopservice, Public Relations Manager at Peninsula Gardens Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Guest

We are grateful and very happy with the praise of the service that you received from Elixir Holidays. We seek to provide the highest quality at all times to our clients and customers.


We are also very happy that you were satisfied with and pleased about your complimentary upgrade to the suite and the all day boat tour with lunch. Many guests have commented on the positive aspects of the under floor lighting, onyx and the mirrors. We are also pleased that you acknowledged the great service being given by the hotel’s staff.

To briefly respond to the other points:


We take your point on the seclusion of the hotel which will be upgraded for the 2012 season with higher partitions between rooms using several devices including lush green trees, walls and furniture. We understand that Jade’s deck area and swimming pool are extremely large and difficult to totally obscure from the above room but, conversely, it has a hidden nook which is covered on three sides with only the front view to the Mediterranean visible. It can be occupied by a large bed and recliners and some of the guests have asked for these to be put into this area to while away the hours in total privacy. Since you were last in Kas, the area has become so desirable that the more wealthy Turkish and European nationals have built their gorgeous villas on the Peninsula – this helps to give the area a rich and varied set of neighbours. The important thing to note here is that there is clear view of the Mediterranean from each room given the position of the Peninsula Gardens Hotel.


A good size plunge pool for each room is what is advertised but for those more energetic the 25m indoor swimming pool is almost always empty. The main outdoor pool also has a very strong current wave machine to offer the resistance for those hoping to keep up competition training up or just want to get/stay fit. Admittedly, the water feature of the rocks may seem annoying to you but a concept hotel will always have small aspects which differs from other less concept driven establishments. Many people also love swimming in the vast area of the Mediterranean in front of the hotel which also offers a challenge to the more serious minded or just for enjoyment.


We promise to investigate the sheets and we have already commented on the owner’s daughter in earlier responses.


On the matter of the chef, he has been praised by many of the other hotel’s guests and his preparation and cooking are well liked. We are sorry that your opinions have not matched those of many of our other guests who have had only positive experience. We do take your point that the Kas of many years ago is no longer available to those who remember the former quieter days and that the vibe today is more trendy and fast paced and hope that you will join us again in one of our other establishments.


The Management
Elixir Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Gardens Hotel

Address: Beyhan Cenkci Cad. | Selahattin Sonmez sok., Kas, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the most luxurious new hotels we have found on the Lycian coast. As you read this, the first guests are already splashing in their private plunge pools, or basking on their secluded terraces. Literally from the ground up, The Peninsula Gardens has been designed to make the most of the craggy coastal cliffs on which it stands. There are two buildings, but the slope allows the second building to command just as splendid a view as the first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Peninsula Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.