We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy to try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahce Balik

Bahce Balik
Lycian Tomb, No: 31, Kas, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 135 Restaurants in Kas
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worthy to try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very good environment, friendly stuff. It is very famous and well known restaurant in Kas and a friend adviced it. Even though there is no sea view and it was a Sunday evening, it was totally full. We ordered one botttle of wine (48 tl) and 3 meze (cold appetizer) and 2 hot appetizer and a fruit dish. Total price was 170 TL. Meals were delicious but I can easily say that not as much as some Istanbul fish restaurants at bosphorus.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We hardly booked a table, actually we reserved the last one for the following three days. The waiter on the phone was very strict about the time that we'd arrive to the restaurant and it was a little annoying. Still, there were very positive comments and we wanted to check it out. When we arrived, our table was also a little dissapointing. Ambiance was at most average. Service was not good either. Also the staff was really busy but they were still smiling and kind.

When we began eating we forgot about all negative situations. I believe I ate the best calamar, octupus and mussel (in cabbage - dolma) of my life. We ate grouper/lagos and it was also very good. Salad and all other mezzes were perfect. In the end of that night, we understood why there was such a que.

You must visit Bahçe Balık before you leave Kaş. And I will be visiting it next summer for sure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bad service, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We showed up without reservation, but the waiter found a table for 4 for us. It was in a dark corner, almost too dark to eat. But still we thought we got lucky... He showed us the available fish and mezze. While taking our order at the mezze counter, he suddenly disappeared to attend to other people walking in. It took a while for him to show up again and finally take our order. Food arrived fast (no bread though), he forgot one of the mezzes. We asked for it, but it never came. Stuffed calamares was excellent. The swordfish saté was very dry (frozen fish without a doubt). And like I said before, too dark to eat actually. But not for a street cat, that suddenly showed up with a raw chicken leg from the kitchen!! It only took a few minutes for it to be chased away by a black dog, he ate the chicken leg next to our table :) by the sounds he was making, it seemed to taste better than the swordfish our kids ordered!
The fish we ordered was disappointingly small as well...
Anyway, we had to check the bill for items that we never got and the waiter admitted that "some things have gone wrong tonight"... last time for me, there are a lot of good restaurants in Kas and Bahce Balik is not one of them!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate here at our first evening in Kas. It is a nice restaurant. Apparantly all tables were reserved so they gave us a table near the entrance. The mezes were good but we quickly ran out of bread and had to wait too long for more bread. The waitress said due to the rain in the afternoon they had some problems with the bread supply (?). So we finished the mezes without bread. Then we had to wait a very long time for the hot mezes. We had to remind the waiter two times. Before we finished the hot mezes our main dishes fish arrived. The levrek was good but the swordfish shish and one other fish shish I forgot the name were chewy, not fresh, probably deepfrozen. The best dish was the hot meze stuffed calamar, that was really delicious. They even forgot to bring our salad but did not forget to put it on the bill. The service was really disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Memorable, romantic evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went here because a local recommended it. We picked out our own fish and had a lovely dinner for two on the cozy terrace. I've read some reviews that service wasn't so great, but I can honestly say we didn't have any problems with it. Our mezzes were delicious, as was the swordfish I ordered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahce Balik also viewed

 
Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Bahce Balik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahce Balik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.