We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best grilled octopus in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahce Balik

Bahce Balik
Lycian Tomb, No: 31, Kas, Turkey
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 136 Restaurants in Kas
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“the best grilled octopus in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Bahce Balık is a very good fish restaurant. Everything you order in Bahce Balık will be very tasty. You can find different kinds of fish. I strongly recommend you to taste the grilled octopus. The best in town, probably the best in Turkey :)
Bahce Balık has no sea view however it has a lovely garden with lemon trees.
It is a very popular restaurant so, I advice you to make reservation.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You never tasted such a delicious grilled octopus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Bahce Balık has a "top" quality in terms of its foods. All the"mezes" have great tastes, they are as they should be (but most of us -I'm sure- already forget about because of the invasion of industrial foods even in fish restaurants). But they have one special taste which we never forget (and give up): grilled octopus. Until we tasted it, we were thinking that Turkish restaurants do not know how to cook a great octopus, which idea immediately changed after tasting Bahce Balik's grilled octopus.

At our latest visit (which was last week), we regrettably learned that Ms. Sahika who was the organizator and creator of this delicius foods have left, yet the tastes are still there. We spared 4 nights (out of 8) to dine there because we were sort of attracted to the place and its tastes. One more thing: Try to avoide eating as much grilled octopus as I did last summer, since it may trigger "acute urticaria" on your skin, as it happened to me:))))

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb grilled octopus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We went to this restaurant in a large party on a Saturday night. The restaurant was packed with Turkish customers but still the manager made room for us. The mezes were delicious and can be selected from behind a glass counter. The main courses are all fish, try the specials. When we were there one of the specials was grilled octopus in an almost smoky marinade, delicious! Just be warned that although the owners of Bahce restaurant are related to the owners of this one, the dishes are not the same, so if you are dying for the mashed walnut from Bahce, you will be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Bahce Balik is in a street of restaurants a little back from the port, close to the Lycian 'king's tomb'. It specialises in fish, as the name suggests. Over the road there is the courtyard sister restaurant which is where the meat eaters go.

We had several good meals here. We found it better to order a large fish for two than individual dishes.

Service is efficient and discrete. The cats are friendly!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine food and meze in kas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Fine meze but overall does not meet expectations
Octopus quite delicious, service friendly, garden is spacious , nice ambiance. Dont order sufle, cause its like cake.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahce Balik also viewed

 
Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Bahce Balik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahce Balik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.