We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything is perfect here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonne Otel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sonne Otel to your Saves list
Sonne Otel
Hastahane Cad. Yeni Cami Yani No 6, Kas, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Kas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“everything is perfect here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sonne Hotel a couple of weeks ago and were pleasantly surprised at the great value provided by this hotel. The rooms were newly renovated and tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Everything was in perfect working order, the hot water and air-conditioning to mention the important things, as well the beds were the most comfortable we'd encountered in Turkey so far - and we had stayed at more expensive hotels than Sonne, so that's saying something! And there is more - the view of Kas harbour from the breakfast terrace is breath-taking! Last but not least, the hotel hosts, Selattin and Alice were both helpful and gracious, and Umut and Erika, their trusted helpers were so very accommodating to our requests. Oh, and the breakfast buffet was wonderful, fresh and abundant good food. I highly recommend this hotel, excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    32
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
128
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

throughout Turkey i have stayed in clean and lovely hotels, but this hotel is the cleanest i have ever stayed in anywhere. the marble lobby is impeccable. This is a small boutique hotel. the staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. the manager (maybe owner) is kind and speaks excellent English. Our room was lovely, on the small side, but the bed was perfect and the view!!!
Breakfast on the upper terrace was great, and in the afternoons we would go up and play backgammon and feast our eyes on the view....Great hotel. i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Sonne hotel has recently been refurbished and is very modern, fresh and clean. The location is excellent. They young couple who manage the hotel were very helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel has recently been renovated with newer furnishings and finishings. As a result, the bathrooms and bedrooms show well and better yet, function well.
Selhatin and the staff at Sonne did all they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, including moving us to a room with a view of the water and providing recommendations for restaurants and tour/excursion companies.

The view from the roof top terrace (where breakfast is served) is beautiful, peaceful and the perfect place to start your day. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and served both traditional hot and cold dishes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel Sonne is a fantastic perfectly located little hotel in Kas that I just stayed in for 4 nights. As part of my two month trip, this was the best value hotel I've stayed in so far, and unlikely to get any better. Considering the price, the breakfast was extraordinary. All freshly prepared by Erica, including the cooked delicacies. And on a top floor terrace area with sensational 180 degree views of Kas and its sea, including the Greek Island of Meis smack bang in the centre.

The room was a good size for a solo traveller, with a small balcony with extendable clothes line (unfortunately booked too late to get a sea vieiw room), and fantastic shower. Hot water ran immediately, unlike many other hotels I've stayed in so far where you usually have to wait a few minutes for the hot water to start. And it didn't run out either.

You also get a business card for the hotel that you can show to the people at Elit 'beach' (not really a beach, more rocks that you can jump off into the water with ladders) across the road which allows you to use a deckchair for free.

The hotel owner was extremely helpful and friendly...we chatted for awhile at checkout telling me about the hotel and the reason for the name and why he opened it. All hotel staff were very friendly in fact.

WIFI was good, and TV had Bloomberg which was handy for me.

I intend to return to Kas for at least a week one day (4 nights wasn't enough) and will definitely visit Hotel Sonne again.

Kas is a beautiful little town. Was suggested to me by my Turkish friend and it was a great suggestion. Highly recommend the sunken city boat trip...the sunken city itself isn't that great but the boat trip is great fun to three different gorgeous swimming spots (With warmish water!), a little Greek style town and a fantastic on-boat lunch. Very good value. A walk up to the top of the mountain bordering Kas (towards the caves that you can see at the top fromthe town) is worth the trip for the view as well if you are fit, however make sure you wear light hiking pants rather than shorts unless you like getting scraped by spiky plants like I did. Even a long sleeved shirt would be handy (and good hiking shoes) Big pebble beach is also a great place to laze away a day (yes I met 'Ben Affleck' - see TA BPB attraction reviews) ...its particularly nice at sunset (its a 1.5km walk east of Kas though can get dolmus or taxi). Saklikent gorge tour was good also though be aware that you will get wet, in very cold water, and it an be a bit tough at some parts (not for everyone).

Room Tip: Book early in high.shoulder seasons to get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwechat, Österreich
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Super Hotel, nice people, nice location, nice breakfast, breathtaking view from the terrace. Nice clean and modern rooms, a bit small though, which is about the only negative thing to say. Very friendly and helpful staff. we will go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located at a very nice spot walking distance to the center. The rooms were very nicely decorated and very clean albeit a little small. The bathrooms were also very clean and roomy. The breakfast was very delicious served at the terrace with an excellent view. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonne Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonne Otel

Address: Hastahane Cad. Yeni Cami Yani No 6, Kas, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sonne Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonne Otel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.