We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total disgrace!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Papermoon Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Papermoon Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Papermoon Hotel & Apartments
Yaliboyu Mah. Cumhuriyet Cad. No 63, Kalkan, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Walsall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A total disgrace!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I had booked to stay for nine nights in the 'Roof top Suite with roof terrace' room 12 with booking.com.
When we arrived at 11.30pm we were shown the apartment and were met by what could only be described as a couple of small, tatty rooms with headroom suitable only for a couple of 'Circus Midgets'. The 'Romantic Roof Garden' consisted of two chairs on a large slab of unattractive concrete, accessed through a small window/door. This suite is totally 'Unfit for purpose' (infact unfit for any purpose that I can think of!!) Please do not book it!!
We immediately refused to stop in this suite saying that it was dangerous (headroom and unstable stair- rail) and unsuitable (number and steepness of steps). The young boy in charge (Onur) said that he could only move us that night to room 7 but would move us as soon as he possibly could, which we had little choice but to accept.
Room 7 is small, has a tiny balcony over looking the Kalamar Road but with no chairs. It has single beds and a wardrobe with three hangers which also houses a tatty old fridge. There is little or no storage space and suitable only for either a one night stay for a couple or more for a single person who could then use the second bed for clothes etc.
After two nights nothing had been said about us moving rooms and when I asked how much we were being charged to stay in room 7 I was horrified to told that it was 'All our fault' and that we would be charged the same rate as the suite we had booked!!
We ended up having to pay for an extra night (cancellation fee) but at least for the room that we had actually stayed in. The attitude of the two 'boys' in charge was aggressive and unhelpful.

We moved to a Hotel nearby and enjoyed a lovely holiday.......

Room Tip: Do not book the 'Roof suite' room 12 or room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our stay in Papermoon Hotel was great. After reading reviews I had high expectations and was concerned that I was going to be disappointed. Kalkan is a magical place and the Papermoon family made the holiday extra special and we'll be returning next year and if the prices don't increase too much.

The family who run the hotel can't do enough for you and make you feel at home. With the hotel being small, there is a family atmosphere which is lovely to be part of but not too intrusive. The rooms were clean, comfy beds, air conditioning and a fridge. The pool is large enough for people who want to swim and families playing. Most days we had the pool to ourselves and this is within the 6 weeks school holidays, as other people are often on day trips.

I was so sad to leave and touched when the family came to wave us off. It's this type of personal service that makes a difference to your holiday - it can't be bought.

Thank you Papermoon!

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartment (there's only one) is great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

stayed at the papermoon for just one night as we had a villa booked,honestly wished we had just not bothered with the villa.the management are fantastic,even giving us an extra room for free to enable our large party to be more comfortable.the hotel is clean and the rooms are good.Burc and Mat who run the hotel are excellent hosts and speak very good english.the pool is large and well kept and the food was good.free wi-fi around the pool.all round we couldn't fault the papermoon.we went back a couple of times over the duration of the holiday and we were so impressed we have booked to return next year to stay in their one bed rooftop appartment (very cozy and romantic,although not on the website)its just far enough away from the nightlife to be quiet but there is a handy store 2 mins away to buy provisions if your self catering.taxi into town about £2.50.all in all an excellent hotel,very welcoming and friendly and easy to recommend so get yourselves off !!!

Room Tip: the superior rooms are spacious and have lovely little balconies looking onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Small Sweet hotel with lovley friendly Management and best service ever. There did everythink for me. Beautiful Garden and clean poolares with chilloutlounge, hammocks, flowers, turtles and Sweet babycats. The barman mert makes Great cocktails and realy good Fresh Milcshakes. The Food and Drinks for the rest of kalkan are Low-prices! Thank you very much for everythink. The best Time i Ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

my wife and i never actually stayed at this wonderful hotel, our hotel was across the road it was not a patch on this place.We spent nearly all our time at Paper Moon, the new management team of Matt and Burc plus Burcs mother and father have done a great job of refurbishing this hotel.We looked at all the rooms and they are far bigger than most places. The pool area is spotless and the new poolside furniture looks great.The salads and light lunches are very good value for money,as are the drinks. Thoroughly enjoyable time and we will without a doubt be booking Paper Moon for next year.

Room Tip: there is no loud music so any room is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Turkey,Kalkan was amazing. Our stay at Papermoon was also a highlight of our holiday. We felt at home from the first day and both Mert and Burc made us feel very welcome.The hotel has a very friendly,homely atmosphere with a lovely bar and pool area.The rooftop breakfast terrace was a fantastic start to the day with stunning views of Kalkan.We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Arrived back in the Uk on 5th July 2013 after a 9 Night stay at the Papermoon hotel Kalkan.
We are a family of 4 with 2 children aged 16 and 12.
We travel around the world regularly staying in 5 star hotels down to zero & have been visiting Turkey for 21 years.
We chose Papermoon hotel because of the good reviews and was not disappointed.

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment which was the biggest we have stayed in Turkey.
Two bedrooms both with there own air con, a very large living area and a kitchen with fridge cooker etc, which we did not use because the breakfast which is included is so good.

I can only confirm and back up the positive comments made about this hotel, You will not be disappointed.

Room. A very good shower plenty of room and very clean with a good nights sleep.

Pool & Sunbeds . Very relaxed atmosphere genuine & friendly.

Bar. Excellent value and great atmosphere day or night if you like a chat at the bar or just want to relax in the very comfortable chairs and surroundings there is something for everyone.

Thanks Guys for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papermoon Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papermoon Hotel & Apartments

Address: Yaliboyu Mah. Cumhuriyet Cad. No 63, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 9-minute walk from Kalkan’s marina and beaches, Papermoon offers a terrace restaurant and comfortable accommodation with air conditioning. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool.All accommodation at Papermoon features a minibar, a private bathroom and a balcony. The hotel also offers self-catering apartments, complete with a kitchen and a spacious living area.As well as a fresh-water outdoor swimming pool, Papermoon also has a children’s pool. Guests can also benefit from free Wi-Fi access in public areas.The hotel's Cyprus Kitchen restaurant serves Mediterranean and Middle Eastern dishes for breakfast and dinner. The pool bar serves a variety of cocktails and snacks.Kalkan’s city centre with its many shops, bars, and restaurants is only a 7-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Papermoon Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papermoon Hotel And Apartments
Papermoon Hotel Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papermoon Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.