We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Elixir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Elixir to your Saves list
The Elixir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalamar Yolu No:81, Kalkan 07960, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anstruther, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A group of 6 of us recently went to the Elixir first of all for a few drinks. The bar was great with good music and the barman was very attentive. It was getting late so we asked if we could eat at the restaurant upstairs. The barman duly booked us a table. From then on, things went rapidly downhill. There were only a few tables occupied, but it was obvious right from the start that it was not going to be a good experience. We ordered wine, and it was almost undrinkable, with the red being very vinegary. Some relatives of ours were already at a table and had been for some time. They were not enjoying their meal. (Later my brother in law was to have a bad tummy for a few days due to a steak with a cold middle section) The table behind us called the waiter over and said their meal was inedible. By this time, we had been there for over an hour, with no sign of any food, and the waiter came over to tell us it would be another 20 minutes or so. The waiter was very nice and apologetic, but we did not have a good feeling about the place, and so after paying for our drinks and complaining, we left. By this time it was about 10:30 pm and we wondered if we would get a meal anywhere, but,no problem, just further down the street we had a great meal, served quite quickly, and cost less than half the price of the meal at the Elixir would have.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    48
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
194
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Elixir just gets better and better. Pumpkin (Sezai) is a bar man in a million. Assisted this year by Semih, the "party nights" at the bar are legendary. Any cocktail mixed and plenty of them. Staff are the same year after year which means it's like visiting friends. Guests return year after year so familiar faces are at the bar when you arrive. Think of Turkish "Cheers" and you won't be far off the mark. Any new guests are made to feel welcome and part of the Elixir crowd. From Bilge the reception manager to little Ali and Savas in the sports bar, all are helpful, cheerful and friendly.
Rooms are spotless and new mattress toppers have been fitted to address some of the complaints on this site about hard beds. Another welcome addition this year was a cooling water spray in the bar.
The Hotel caters for all ages and this year families, single parents and couples were all mixing around the pool and bar.
The Hotel is a little way from town, but this make things quieter. Taxis to/from town are 11Tl this year but not the Hotel's fault.

Room Tip: If you are friendly and like to spend time in the company of others then standard rooms are fine. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for a week with my partner in late May. The hotel is small and friendly. The accommodation is very comfortable, the staff very helpful. The pool and bar area are exceptional. The barman, Pumpkin, makes everyone feel welcome and is always attentive, fetching me freshly made lemonade while I was reading in the beautiful shaded gardens. A good walk into town for the excellent restaurants and a cheap taxi ride back. Altogether a great holiday.

Room Tip: We had a superior room overlooking the garden at the side, worth the extra as it was a good size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A group of 4 of us booked in for a Turkish Bath here. The guy who does the treatment is Pumpkin,who is also the bar manager. Pumpkin made the experience,the Turkish bath was fantastic,very good massage and exfoliation. The foam massage was the best bit! Here on TA lots of people mention Pumpkin and we can understand why,he's a great guy,very funny and friendly,telling lots of jokes and generally making us all feel welcome.

We went back to the hotel for drinks-Pumpkin makes great mojitos! Would highly recommend the Turkish bath here,great value and fun experience too! Go to meet Pumpkin too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A very well organized boutique hotel. The staff was great and very friendly. The breakfast was always delicious and it was a delight with the splendid view. One night we also had dinner at the hotel, I vastly suggest you try that out as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We returned to Elixir Hotel again this year with our two teenage children and had yet another fantastic stay. This is a small hotel where all the staff are incredibly friendly,helpful and wonderful especially Pumpkin the bar manager. He runs the bar brilliantly, mixing any cocktail you want and he never fails to make you laugh! The rooms are very comfortable and are cleaned daily to a high standard. The breakfast on the roof terrace is delicious from fresh orange juice to any egg you want and plenty of fresh fruit, The lunches and suppers are also delicious with a great choice and very high quality.
The hotel is in a fantastic location with wonderful views and an easy 10 minute walk down to the town.
I highly recommend this hotel for your perfect holiday in Kalkan. We have so enjoyed our holiday in this heavenly hotel and looking forward to returning next year! Thank you to all the staff who have made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A lovley boutique hotel. The staff are amazing nothing is too much trouble. It is a bit of a hike to get back after being in town. This didn't really bother us though taxi's are very easy and cheap to find.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elixir

Address: Kalamar Yolu No:81, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elixir Hotel Kalkan
Elixir Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elixir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.