We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elixir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Elixir to your Saves list
The Elixir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalamar Yolu No:81, Kalkan 07960, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Once again a lovely week at the Elixir. When it feels like 'coming home' you know you've found a great place! Previous reviewers have covered everything about this hotel from the management to the rooms, the facilities to the food etc etc etc. But it's the staff who make this hotel and the welcome you receive is second to none. So many guests are returning visitors and that says it all. Thanks to everyone there for a fantastic holiday. Can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    48
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
194
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited in September 2012 and were not disappointed. The manager runs a tight ship and he and all his staff work long hours to ensure their customers enjoy a good time. This was evidenced by the large proportion of returning visitors while we were there.

Our deluxe roof room was large, comfortable, with air con and jacuzzi. The sloping ceilings referred to elsewhere weren't a problem to us, and neither of us is short; and we had a view of two bays from our large balcony.

You'll read other reviews about the lateness of the bar opening. I'd hardly call it rowdy - mainly 35-60 year old Brits, largely employed in managerial or higher level jobs when at home, having a good time; no roaring drunks or louts here. Sure, I used earplugs but as I'm a light sleeper I always take them with me everywhere I travel. I didn't lose any sleep here.


The hotel is clean and the food good. The tab we ran all week was meticulously kept and there were no surprises when it came to paying our "extras" bill. It is a 15 minute walk from the shops and restaurants down by the harbour - all uphill on the way back, but there were plenty of taxis, at 10 or 11 TL a trip, not expensive if you didn't want to walk.

Guests and staff are friendly and sociable, and with a strong focus on customer service it was a great place to stay. No worries all week.

Room Tip: Deluxe roof rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is definitely the best bar and staff I have come across in the whole of Kalkan!! Sebo and Ali make the best cocktails by far!!!
Not to mention the prices are really really good value!!
Would come back every year if I could as they are so so accommodating I couldn't fault them!!
I wouldnt go anywhere else!!!!!
Highly highly highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Elixir during the 1st week of September 2012.
Despite returning to Kalkan for the 12th time, this hotel thanks to Egeman and his staff made it very special once again.
The food was excellent brakfast,lunch or dinner superbly prepared in excellent surroundings
Can't wait for the return in 2013

Joan & Kevin Martin

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited this hotel in September 2012 and thought it was fantastic. It is in a great location (about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town). We had a superior room, it was spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was a good size, with a nice bath/shower. The staff are probably the best thing about this hotel, everyone was very friendly, welcoming and willing to go the extra mile (eg making late night snacks for us when our plane landed later than expected). The bar is the focal point of the hotel and is good for pre-dinner/after dinner drinks. The pool area is lovely, lots of good quality sun loungers and a well stocked library of books. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and there is a reasonable selection (cereals, fruit, yoghurt, bread, cheese etc). We ate lunch at the hotel most days, the food was very good, a nice selection and big portions. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This is my 3rd stay at The Elixir and probably will not be my last. My partner and I come here to chill, de-stress and rejuvenate ourselves before returning to our hectic work schedules. There are many strong points this hotel has, hence our returning to it. The location is perfect, 20 minutes walk out of the town but surrounded by coffee shops, restaurants and small supermarkets if you didn't want the hilly walk.
The size of the hotel means that you are away from the crowds and can be left to enjoy the peace and quiet and/or make friends with like minded folk. The pool area is very relaxing and the pool itself can house a quick dip to cool off or you can swim several lengths to work off the varied and ample breakfasts. Cold beer with a large size luncheon can be taken round the pool area at your leisure.
The big plus is that the surrounding area offers many cool, shaded areas, comfy sofas by the bar, a quiet garden area and a shaded dining area. There is always somewhere to sit and snooze or read.
One of the things we really like is that the same staff are there each year, which is a real positive thing and they all seem to remember you and are very, very friendly. The manager Eggerman welcomes all guests and is also there to bid you farewell on your journey home, this is a real nice touch.
The night time offers a meal on their roof top terrace, always a nice alternative if you don't want to move very far after a relaxing day by the pool. There is also an outside bar with an exuberant bar man who always keeps the laughs coming. It can get a little loud round the bar but it's all good fun and is only in the evenings.
Rooms are a little above basic but to be honest there are such lovely spots to settle for the day, why would you want to be in your room for very long!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for a week last year and after having had such a wonderful holiday we decided to come back again this year for 10 days. As the majority of reviews say this hotel really does go above and beyond the call of duty to make your holiday one to remember. The staff are all fantastic and Egeman and his team, Seb, Savas, Nimet & Pumpkin, to name a few really know how to look after all their guests. After being here last year I wasn't going to write another review as nothing has changed , its still great, but I must say I was rather surprised to read the few negative reviews on here so felt that I should make a few comments for those that have never been here. I know you cant please everyone but you must remember that you're in a foreign country where things are bound to be different - that's half the fun of going abroad surely, and if you want uniform fruit and veg. where it all has to be a certain shape and colour as ruled by the Common Market and Hilton type decor in the rooms then prehaps you should think twice about going abroad !! The fruit and veg certainly tastes much better than we have at home.The rooms here are nicely decorated in Ottoman style dark wood - yes the beds are low but that is prehaps the Turkish style (Ive never been in a Turkish house!) but they are kept spotlessly clean with fresh towels everyday which to me is more important than having a few pictures and nik naks in the room along with some bathroom products which prehaps the majority of people wouldn't use anyway so is wasteful for the hotel.
We find this hotel to be the most sociable we have ever stayed at and a lot of guests are repeat guests like ourselves and being Number 5 on the TA list must mean something. The bar area near the pool is the place for gatherings and Pumpkin (the barman) certainly knows how to host a bar and keep people entertained. It can get noisy especially on BBQ night which is great fun but it's certainly not rowdy - just people laughing talking and enjoying their holiday - having a good time. We certainly have no complaints and I would encourage you to ignore the few negatives on here. If you do happen to book your holiday here I'm 99% sure , like most people that stayhere, you will have a wonderful time and will want to return again. We have already decided we want to come back next year ! :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elixir

Address: Kalamar Yolu No:81, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#1 Spa Hotel in Kalkan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elixir Hotel Kalkan
Elixir Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elixir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.