We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanthos - Lycian Antique City

Xanthos - Lycian Antique City
Kinik, Kalkan 07970, Turkey
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Kalkan
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Xanthos was the capital city of the Lycian Federation and its greatest city for most of Lycian history.
UP NORTH
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Turkey never disappoints and always there seems to be a delightful surprise around the corner. Such is Xanthos, reached via a very interesting working town / large village which was worth a visit in itself.
It is the site of an ancient Lycian city, with many buildings, monuments and tombs in fairly good condition - and in a stunning position above the river.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    86
    30
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice historic city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Well preserves. You can walk on the well preserved streets and sit in the amphitheater. I also went swimming near teh ruins.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Xanthos - Lycian Antique City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recent visit really worth a visit due to the history behind this city, we had a guide with us who told us all about the history.

The tombs were amazing where the people buried their dead and where some lived really unbelievable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You need a guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visiting Xanthos in August was always going to be an issue as we were hitting 40 degrees. We decided this would be best visited later in the day so arrived just before 7pm, as it was closing! None of the sites are secured so we walked around anyway, and were certainly not the only ones with the same idea. Xanthos is a large site so we decided to do half and were joined by a young man who helped show us things we would definitely not have seen without him. There are few if any information posts so unless you had a guide book with you would have been clueless (or am I judging everyone by my lack of knowledge...). Make sure you agree a price before you start and a guide will make your visit worthwhile.
Even my teenaged sons enjoyed this eventually after hearing the bloody history of the site; I'm glad they learned something of the history of this area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Xanthos, Salkilent Gorge and Patara beach trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went to Xanthos first for a 30 minute stop. It's very hot and dusty and most of the site is in the British Museum. There's enough left to get a feel for the place though. Saklikent Gorge is lovely but be prepared to get wet. We paid an extra £10 per person to go rafting, which was really good fun. To get to the gorge, you need to wade through waist high water and a bit of a current, but well worth it. Lunch was on cushions on a platform over the river. Lovely. Patara beach is beautiful, but the area with beds and shades for hire was extremely busy. We chose to walk further on to a very quiet part of the beach, but there was no shelter there at all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xanthos - Lycian Antique City also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Xanthos - Lycian Antique City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanthos - Lycian Antique City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.