We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanthos - Lycian Antique City

Xanthos - Lycian Antique City
Kinik, Kalkan 07970, Turkey
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Kalkan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Xanthos was the capital city of the Lycian Federation and its greatest city for most of Lycian history.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Xanthos will take your breath away. Its as cheap as chips to gain entry and the £6 we gave a local tour guide was well worth it. A brilliant trip out ut avoid the afternoons its gets incredibly hot!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    87
    31
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is understandably a world heritage site, which despite it's very old age and dereliction provides a real flavour of the scale and civilization that existed here more than 2,000 years ago. You can walk amongst it, stand in the ampi-theatre and see the influences of the different civilizations that had control of the city in different times of it's checkered past. There's nothing of this antiquity in such good preservation in the UK and therefore well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“sloppy :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is really sad how neglected this UNSESCO site is. There are not many tourists in Xanthos but that is not the reason to not taking care of it. What is more, in august 2012 some parts of ruins were inaccessible. Of course a ticket seller won't tell you a word about it.

Besides that Xanthos is a really interesting place with fantastic theatre.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievable History Dating From 460 BC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Get a guide, the man with the very large tash, will give you all the history and show you things you could fail to spot, I gave him 10tl, worth every penny.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Visited as part of a trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was 1 of the 3 stops we made on our day trip. It was nice to see but I wouldnt make it as a sole day trip. There were lots of ancient ruins and worth seeing. I was interested in the tombstones but we only got to see them from a distance. We were glad to drive off on our jeep safari as it was very hot and as mentioned in previous reviews there is no shade.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xanthos - Lycian Antique City also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Patara, Antalya Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Xanthos - Lycian Antique City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanthos - Lycian Antique City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.