We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Hotel with fab views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelebek Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kelebek Hotel to your Saves list
Kelebek Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mentese Mah.kalkan 4, Kalkan, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Kalkan
St Mawes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Traditional Hotel with fab views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at the Kelebek with a girlfriend - we had 2 different rooms and also had friends down the hill staying at the Samira Hotel. Been to Kalkan before and love it - mainly for its laid back ways and Turkish hospitality. Our rooms had lovely balconies and overlooked Kalkan and the sea.

We were on the top floor - yes 2 flights of steps up! and were next door to the breakfast terrace. Breakfast is served from 8-10am daily and is delicious. Our rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. They are cleaned every day. Air con extra at £3.50 per day per room and a safe for the week is £10 (approx). The views - one side overlooks Kalkan/sea and the other side overlooks the Police Station with views over the other side of Kalkan/sea One of the guests I chatted to said it was like a Diet Coke break in the mornings as the Police did their fitness routine outside!

The Kelebek is on a steep hill - but it did us good walking up it twice a day. Dont bring high heels whatever you do! The hotel is small and charming with the most fabulous views. It is very traditional and family owned. The parents bought the land here about 20 years ago and basically built the hotel themselves - which is very commendable. The 2 sons both speak good English and are very accommodating.

On arriving at the Kelebek you come up some steps to find a small bar - this is the hub of the business and where the repeat guests spend a lot of their time. The small pool is off this bar area and it is surrounded by loungers. About 10 in total.

I did however feel a little uncomfortable coming into the hotel at the end of the day (or night!) and was made to feel that we should be staying in the hotel and buying their food and drink. This was the only downside - other than the hill!

Kalkan has over 200 restaurants so obviously guests will want to try some of them out. We and our friends did the Turkish night at the Kalkan and the food was good. Nice to meet some of the other guests too.

So would I return - probably not as there are lots of other places to choose from.

Be warned though that the bill at the end of your stay is just a scrap of paper with the amount written on!

Room Tip: Email them to ask for a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    42
    13
    10
    10
See reviews for
33
101
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our third trip to Kalkan but the first stay at the Kelebek.
We expected very basic accommodation given the cheapness of our overall package deal, but the quality of this hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable, with a shower, hair dryer, plenty of wardrobe space, air conditioning (paid for) and a balcony which had a great view of the rest of Kalkan - despite being one of the rooms at the side of the hotel. The beds were comfortable (no scratchy sheets like you get in quite a lot of the hotels in Turkey!) and the room was cleaned without fail everyday. The pool and bar area was great to relax - the pool a little on the small side but rarely were we there with a lot of people. The Turkish breakfast provided every morning was delicious (fruit, bread, yogurt, honey, boiled eggs, cakes, a hot drink selection).
The thing that really made our stay at the Kelebek probably the best stay we have had in Kalkan so far, was the hospitality we received from the family. Each of them -father, mother and two sons - were polite, respectful and incredibly hardworking, making every effort to ensure our stay was a happy one. Being in the minority of first time guests to the Kelebek, we were slightly apprehensive that we could be considered 'outsiders' - the reviews on here seem to show that most of the Kelebek guests have been returning year after year. Let me say, there is a definite reason for that, and instead of being treated at all differently, we were given a warm welcome by both family and guests. The amount we incurred in additional costs - air conditioning, the bbq night and bar food/drinks - were similar to the amount spent by the previous reviewer (JLM_7), so we have been quite surprised by this reviewer's negativity aimed towards the Kelebek.
We would highly recommend the Kelebek hotel - and when we return to Kalkan we won't be staying anywhere else - a huge thank you to the Ozdemir family once again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in the coastal resort of Kalkan staying in Kelebek Apartments. The transfer company unknowing to us dropped us off at the Kelebek Hotel around midnight. The entrance to the hotel is on the same street as the weekly market, whose trader’s were setting up the night we arrived. On dragging our suitcases up a flight of stairs to the pool and bar area with the BBQ night in full swing, only to be informed that the apartments was down the hill. The guy was quick to take my wife’s suitcase back down the stairs for her and loaded them in to his car. A short drive brought us to the Kelebek Apartments. Our ground floor one bedroom apartment was pool side so you have to take about twenty steps from the road down to the room. Once again one of the brothers took my wife’s case for her. First impression was that the apartment was a spacious open plan kitchen, lounge and dinning area, comprising of two large sofas, two armchairs, table and four chairs, a washing machine and a TV on top of a cabinet. The bedroom had one wardrobe a dressing table, one bedside table and one armchair. The bathroom was a wet room with cupboard and mirror. The large refrigerator with integral freezer was turned on and we were shown the cooker sitting on top of it! An explanation where to find the nearest shops and it was time for him to return to the BBQ night. On closer inspection when you opened the lower kitchen units there was an earthy smell so best keep them closed. The lead from the cooker sitting on the fridge did not reach the plug socket that the fridge was plugged into. We moved the cooker down to the work surface so the plug would reach the plug socket. That is when we noticed the cable had a burn mark with exposed bare wires! and half of the door handle was missing. The twin hot plates worked but only the on/of light worked on the right hand side. The bed was ok but a bit on the hard side, one sheet to lie on and a throw with extra blankets. Only one bedside wall lamp worked. The wardrobe was fine but not long enough to hang full length dresses. The dressing table had no light and the plug was to far away for the hair dryer. Ladies my wife said you will understand. The cupboard in the bathroom covers half the plug socket! So you can not use the plug! We believe there was meant to be an ironing board and a hair dryer, but we could not find them? The next day we went to the hotel to sort out the cooker and the top sheet. All sorted out before we returned to the apartment that afternoon. Electricians look away now, black tape now covers the bare wires but the cooker now works, the only problem is you have to swop over the refrigerator plug with the cooker plug. The wall plug is sort of hanging off the wall, some times you get a white or blue flash. The apartments were cleaned every day, sheets and towels changed every four/five days. In September we had the pool to ourselves but in high season there could be a lack of sunbeds. Talking to the other guest it would seem that they were happy with the apartments and were more modern then ours. Some had good views with roof top access and could see across the bay. One even had two ironing boards! We went up to the hotel bar some evenings and the people we talked to had returned several times to the friendly family run hotel. We and other guest from the apartments enjoyed the BBQ night.
We loved everything about Kalkan and it ticks all the boxes for us as a holiday destination. We started to get to know the friendly local people because the apartments are in a safe residential area. Our apartment gave us what we wanted but was a little tired and needs to be upgraded. We will be going back to Kalkan next year and meeting up with friends we made this year. But we will be doing a bit more homework first, because like our new friends we are undecided if it will be in the Kelebek Apartments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Returned again to the Kelebek this year 2nd time and it didn't disappoint. Was nice to be remembered by the family from the previous years even though we were newbies compared to other residents who have returned many times over. Rooms comfortable and clean and the turkish breakky was lovely with the adition of yoghurt and cake! The hill leading upto the hotel didn't seem quite as bad as last year but then we knew what to expect! Its not for the faint hearted but if you want that view at breakfast well there's a price to pay, suggest you put in for some Kalkan Hill walking training as we call it!

Great to catch up with everyone by the bar in the evenings and although we did not eat at the hotel this time we had done previously and the food is lovely. Thank you to Faik and his wife and sons for a chilled 2 weeks. See you Aug 2014 with my parents too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is our fourth visit to the kelebek, and the previous reviewer who gave it a poor rating is so wrong. The family are great, friendly, informative, very chatty, and nothing is too much trouble. The whole family and there staff are to help, and do so with a great attitude. The views from the rooftop terrace are to die for, the breakfast is really good, and there is a great bar downstairs, where people gather on an evening for a catch up. I could go on and on, but come and see for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW ENGLAND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The reviews for this hotel seem very good or not so good. This is my personal opinion of what is happening here based on observation and speaking with other guests. Before I start I will say that I had no real complaints about the hotel, pool or the hill it is on, in fact I would love to own the property its that nice. My problem is with their business plan, here is how it seems to work. The guests book a package holiday through a company (in my case from the UK). chooses the Kelebek based on the write up about it which describes the property reasonably accurately eg small ,family run, roof terrace , and sees the lovely photos, great views ect. Great, book it we think, aren't we lucky...... Because we have booked through a third party the hotel must pay a commission which obviously eats into their profit margin.This is where it gets interesting because when you arrive you are actually being vetted for your next visit. You are offered to attend lamb shank night and BBQ night each at the same cost as the finest steak meal elsewhere in Kalkan but not nearly as nice ( yes I saw you drop that kebab and put it back on the BBQ). If you decline or if you don't spend vast amounts of time (and more importantly money) at the hotel and the bar you are treated like you aren't wanted there at all. My (unitemised) bill for extras was £140 , yes pounds sterling for a week for two of us. we ate lunch once, went to BBQ night once, had air conditioning but no safe ( these are extra) and had a drink, each every evening to be polite after returning from town( in my case non alcoholic my partner drank vodka). This couldn't be enough money spent because I was also charged for late check out even though the rep assured me it was included. I will by the way be bringing this up with the company I booked through.
Now if you eat and drink loads and spend loads of cash there, the owner will let you into a little secret.. he can get you flights and transfers cheaper his end next time you visit. Obviously you will leave a fantastic review here because he's a great guy right? Then spend loads of money with him next time as gratitude (even if you don't return they still have a great review out of you don't they). His hotel will eventually be booked full of the select few who choose to return each year to fill his pockets and the great reviews keep new stock rolling in. And that fellow travellers is my opinion of how the kelebek machine works. I'm really sad actually I really wanted to like this place but won't be returning as I guess I didn't fit into the grand scheme of things (and also wasn't invited back). Kalkan is very beautiful and we will be spending much more time and money there but definitely not at this hotel. I think its unfair to treat people who just want a place to put their head down at night and see a smile in the morning so poorly. And no mate, not every hotel in the world (or Turkey even, or Kalkan even) stops you from bringing snacks/ drinks into your room, yours is the first and that's just crazy

Room Tip: If you don't spend loads they won't ask you back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked at the kelebek hotel simply because of good reviews on trip advisor. We were impressed by reviews saying how friendly the owners are. Yes, they are as long as you are spending your money in their hotel. Despite attending the lamb shank night (ok) and two bbq nights (excellent) by the 2nd week we were lucky to get a "good morning", because we didn't spend any time round the pool or bar buying lunches and drinks. Kalkan is lovely with lots of beach clubs, restaurants and bars to enjoy, so there was no way we were going to spend two weeks in the hotel!!! I appreciate its a small hotel and they want to make money but we did spend several hundred lira there and would have spent a lot more if not for frosty staff making us feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelebek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Hotel

Address: Mentese Mah.kalkan 4, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#21 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelebek Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kelebek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelebek Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.