We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escudo; a class act” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escudo

Escudo
Hasan Altan Cad | 26 Yaliboyu Mah, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
2428443133
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 183 Restaurants in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Escudo; a class act”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is truly special. You might not have noticed it, as you wander down the main street. (Its by the Gourmet, but on the right, just after that bend.) I'm afraid you will have to look up for the sign, because Ismail, the managing owner, doesn't believe in trying to coax you in. That's just not his style, but he's always there... standing under the sign, ready to speak to you. The ingredients are all fresh and with over 20 years experience the chef really knows what to do with them. If its fish you're looking for then try the sea bass on spinach... frankly, one of the best meals I've had; and I don't just mean in Kalkan. We're talking top end food, but not top end prices. But its not just the delicious food; its the whole experience. Being a little smaller than others, the terrace has an intimate, relaxed atmosphere. The attentive staff are professional, but not too over the top. (They will actually let you pour your own water, if you really want to!) Service is excellent, always comes with a smile and more often than not, done with a sublte sense of humour. Overall impression?... what can I say, you'll be left wanting to go back, again and again... Put it at the top of your list to try and I promise you; you won't be dissappointed. Escudo really is a class act.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    25
    9
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I advise you to visit this place!!! The food is delicious, the staff is nice, I visited this restaurant folowing the reccomendation from my turkish friend and I was surorised, it was really really nice place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We ate twice at this restaurant,once for breakfast and once for an evening meal.The food is fantastic and the staff very friendly and professional.Great value for money,5 star food and 5 star service.We will definately eat there again.Thanks lads for a great time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Escudo restaurant has a great atmosphere & the food is delicious, Ismail & his brothers make you feel very welcome & cant do enough to make your visit enjoyable.

We dined here more than once as we returned for my nieces Birthday where Escudo had a yummy cake & fireworks for her, which was a lovely touch, she loved it when they all sang Happy Birthday to her.

We will definately return when we go back to Kalkan & would recommed to everyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“DON'T MISS OUT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having visited Kalkan 5 times in the last 2 years it is difficult to stray from your favourites however, we visited Escudo following a high recommendation from our turkish friend and we were not disappointed.

The food and atmosphere were great and the staff all extremely attentive, friendly and entertaining!

We were a party of 7 and there were no complaints even from the fussiest eaters! We decided to return for our last night as we had, had such a good experience on our first visit.

Definitely a new favourite and could not give a higher recommendation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escudo also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Escudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escudo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.