We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but that is all this hotel offers..............” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dionysia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dionysia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dionysia
Cumhuriyet Cad, Kalkan 07960, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 hotels in Kalkan
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location but that is all this hotel offers..............”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel gives a great first impression, fantastic location, the exterior is kept clean and looks very appealing. However, upon arrival there was no-one to greet us, eventually we were shown to our room. For the price paid we expected budget, the rooms are really small, but very clean, only a single wardrobe and no drawers, therefore one of us had to live out of a suitcase for the week. The shower/toilet was so tiny that we gave up with the shower curtain and had to use it as though it were a wet room. Our room faced onto the road outside which was extremely noisy both at night and in the morning, as we stayed out of season, I cannot imagine the noise level mid season. Breakfast was awful, in fact we chose to go to an alternative restaurant and pay for breakfast. The younger staff were sullen and rude. Will definitely return to Kalkan but not to Hotel Dionysia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    30
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wombourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is basic cheap accommodation. It is very traditionally Turkish, reminds me of places I stayed in 20 years ago! It does however have free wi fi & much needed air con. The beds are hard, as mentioned in other reviews, but I still stuggled to get up in a morning! There wasn't much storage space, so pack light. The real attraction is the location, just a walk to the end of the street & two minutes across the car park,& you are in the town by the taxi rank & dolmus stop. We stayed in the Samira Deluxe last year, which was fabulous , but that hill!! Hence the change of location this year.Overall, this accommodation was fine if you are o.k with cheap & cheerful, but not if you want more frills & comfort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had booked a self-catering apartment in central Kalkan through Thompson's only to find that they had mucked up our booking and placed us in the Dionysia by mistake. Arriving late, hot and angry we thought our holiday was already ruined. The next day after complaints to our rep we were approached by Ahmet who offered us an excellent deal on a one bed apartment in the Diana Apartments (owned by the hotel) across the way. We had awoke that morning realising the brilliant position occupied by this hotel - it was only 50yds from our original intended destination and centrally located without being on a busy thoroughfare. When we saw the apartment we were overjoyed. It faced over the bay, was light, airy, well equipped and spacious. What's more we had breakfast at the hotel thrown in and enjoyed the lovely pool which we overlooked from our balcony. Throughout our stay Ahmet and his team were very helpful and hospitable. We felt they couldn't do enough for us - and this at the end of the season when you might expect everyone to be weary. If you want an hotel or apartment in Kalkan look no further.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bay side of the hotel or, if looking for an apartment choose the first or seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a great time at this hotel even though the weather wasn't the best. We had hailstones on our first day.
As other reviewers have said the rooms are small, beds hard and bathroom shower coud be bigger but this did not take away the delights of this hotel. Our small balcony had a super view.
The views from the Roof Top bar are very special, we finished most evenings with a drink there.
I found the staff very friendly and helpful..
Kalkan is a delightful town with such amazing restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just back from a dream fortnight at the Dionysia, our second visit this year and it did not disappoint. The hotel is excellently run, always clean with fresh linen provided regularly. The staff are all wonderful and a big thank you to Kate, Ahmed, Yunus and his little brother Ahmet. A special thank you to 'magic hands Ismet' who, I believe, has a gift and does the most wonderful massages. Already planning a return in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Dionysia in August with our two daughters. We particularly loved Kalkan and would definitely return for the glorious weather, the outstanding restaurants and the hospitality of the locals.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and full of fun. Our teenage girls really loved our stay here and want to come back next year.

As has already been said, the rooms were basic, but adequate for our needs, we didn't spend much time in them. The beds were too hard and another pillow would have been more comfortable.

The rooftop bar had stunning views and is a nice place for a night-cap. The pool area is very nice and very clean. The breakfast was adequate, cold meats, cheese, bread, honey and yoghurt.

All in all, we had a fab holiday, met some really nice people and would come again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one week at the end of September. From previous reviews I was expecting a basic but fab hotel. It was definitely basic...

Negatives:
As previously reviewed, the rooms are tiny - don't go expecting much space to put your suitcases. We had a seaview room which was pleasant however the balcony is small and not worth sitting out on. The shower wasn't much more than a trickle and the shower curtain wasn't big enough so water went everywhere. However, the biggest problem was the bed - it was so hard and uncomfortable that we woke up every morning with aches all over. No wonder the massages go down well there. Any longer than a week on that bed and I don't think I would've been able to move!

The pool area was really busy so we didn't bother with it, preferring to go out on excursions and to the beach.

Breakfast was fine, but the early morning staff weren't particularly friendly and often looked rather miserable.

Positives:
The hotel was well kept and clean. It's also in a great location with amazing views, and very close to town without being in the thick of it.

Conclusion:
If I was going back to Kalkan, I wouldn't return to the Dionysia, purely for the fact that I didn't feel comfortable or relaxed there - two things very important to me on a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dionysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dionysia

Address: Cumhuriyet Cad, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dionysia is located in the quiet area of the village in streets where the buildings are draped with bougainvillea and hibiscus flowers. All rooms have their own shower and toilet, balcony and are equipped with air conditioning, fans and telephones. The maids ensure that the rooms are scrupulously clean, and they make you feel welcome by adding some very special touches to your room Continental breakfast is served in the dining area, and the hotel has a poolside bar area - in the shade of olive trees - where the helpful staff can serve you with refreshments and a selection of hot or cold snack meals throughout the day. The family run hotel has a very clean, well maintained, swimming pool and plenty of sun loungers and parasols surrounding the pool area. In the evening you can sit back and relax with a drink at the roof top Moonlight Bar situated at the top of the hotel - to enjoy the wonderful views of Kalkan Harbour, the shooting stars and the moon rising over the mountains along the Turquoise Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Dionysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysia Hotel Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dionysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.