We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dionysia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Dionysia to your Saves list
Hotel Dionysia
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumhuriyet Cad, Kalkan 07960, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A little dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We loved the holiday but found the accomodation very dissapointing. Nice polite staff. Drinks totally overpriced. I like a glass of Fanta and it was served from a large bottle and occasionally flat. Cocktails had small amounts of alcohol in them so stay well clear. The Pool area was peaceful and clean. The rooms were very small and needed a complete refurb. We paid extra for a sea view. I advise you not to bother paying the extra. The balcony is so small and the chair that was on it was so uncomfortable we never bothered using it. You are better just going to the roof bar and relaxing on one of the sofas. The food in this resort is the best I think we have had on any holiday other than a cruise. Every Restaurant excelled and we enjoyed every single meal. This is what would bring me back to Kalkan again. Although I found the resort to be somewhat overpriced compared to the rest of Turkey. Breakfast was simple but nice.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the sea view. It's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    36
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Steve and I stayed in the dionysia for two weeks. The hotel is in an enviable location, quiet and yet really close to Kalkan centre. The staff were friendly and so helpful; Omer helped us hire a scooter.Our room was simple but kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast was plentiful and eaten in lovely surroundings. The pool area was great and never too busy. If you are looking for a quiet hotel this one is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My cousin and I stayed at Dionysia last week (august 10-17th). Cannot speak more highly of the genuine and very polite staff who are friendly and helpful.
The pool is lovely and sunbeds plentiful. The rooms, as mentioned, are small but have enough space to move around and anyway with so many things to do in kalkan who wants to sit in room admiring the space!!!
tips on shops, trips and restaurants all shared when asked from Ismet who is very helpful even fanning us by the pool when weather got too hot!kalkan itself is lovely with harbour and beach so close -,well,... the hills are good for you and make the beer taste even better!
I recommend the canoe trip book it with the tour guide agency man who runs the cat protection charity near moonlight bar as it will be a smaller canoe group and so much nicer. take suncream and reapply to avoid sunburnt knees!
a lovely place kalkan as well as Dionysia. hope you like it as much as i did

Room Tip: we stayed in room 310 it was fine, nice balcony but was at front so no sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have just returned from Kalkan after spending two weeks there 1-15 August. There were 8 of us in total and we were staying at the Dionysia Villa and apartments for the first 5 days of our holiday before moving onto a friends villa for the remainder of our holiday.
We arrived in the coach at Hotel Dionysia and were so warmly greeted by Ahmed and his staff and they were so helpful in taking our bags to the villa and our 2 apartments and showing us how everything worked, making us feel at home.
The standard of the accommodation was excellent and the villa was incredible. The pool and surrounding area was spotless, the bar downstairs was great and the Moonlight bar on the Terrace was excellent, with a breathaking view of Kalkan.
All of the staff Ismet, Yunus and his brother and the other lads were brilliant and so chatty and entertaining. I am hoping to come again next year and already I cannot wait. A huge thank you to Ahmet and his staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at the Dionysia from the 24th July 2012 for 2 weeks. We were allocated room 105 which is next to the breakfast room. It was so quiet as nobody was walking past and slept really well. The free air con was brilliant. The room was perfectly adequate and spotless.

I looked forward to the breakfasts as loved the honey and bread. There were also boiled eggs, cooked to order, fresh fruit, cereals, olives and plentiful tea and coffee.

The pool is brilliant. Nobody reserved their sunbed which meant there was always some available, whatever time you went around the pool. The hotel provide a towel on each sunbed so you only need to take one with you.

The hotel is in a wonderful position, down a beautiful quiet street but very close to everything.
The hotel provides beautiful food and everywhere we ate in Kalkan was quality.

One of the highlights of our holiday were the massages by Ismet. If you go to this hotel I would recommend that you book one. They are the best massages we have had !!

Every member of staff is friendly and Ahmet and Kate cann't do enough for you. We left feeling like we had made genuine friends. Can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Travelled to the Dioynsia 17th July and stayed for two weeks. First week with my husband and the second week with our son and his partner. This was a surprise for hubby and everybody knew except him! We all agree that this hotel is a little gem and cant thank Ahemt and Kate and their staff enough for everything they did for us. cdog22 (I know who you are - ha ha) has summed this hotel/resort up perfectly. Kalkan is beautiful. Thank you to Clare and Mike, Clare and Johnny, Liz and John and to Ahmet and Kate and their staff. All of you made this holiday one of the best. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just back from Dionysia hotel Kalkan. stayed 26th July 2012 for 2 weeks.

Read some of the negative reports before going.

Cannot believe that people have anything negative to say.

Everything about this lovely hotel is excellent. It has approx 20 rooms and is kept spotlessley clean. The owners cannot do enough for their guests. Rooms are small yes, but what more do you need. You sleep and shower - sorted!

Breakfast is lovely. Turkish fair.

Fruit and yoghurt. breads, jams, cheese, meat, cornflakes, olives, tea and coffee etc.

If you wuld like eggs for breakfast, then just tell the staff. Some reports have suggested you have to pay extra for these. This is not the case. The only thing that you pay extra for is fresh orange juice.

The hotel is very close to all the shops and beautiful restaurants with exceptional food. The restaurants are all mainly set on the roof tops which give wonderful views over the sea. The people are really friendly and cannot be more helpful. It is not necessary to use the taxis if you are close enough to the main areas.

Most of the trips that are on offer are mostly the same price, Unless you go with a tour operator, then they tend to be more expensive. Use the local Bus (Dolmus) which you can use for most places. This goes from the local bus station, but just oposite the taxi rank is a help desk and they will be able to give you times, prices etc (very cheap).

Kalkan is a beautiful place and we would not hesitate to return.

Hello to Jane and Mike, Clare and Johnny, Lorna and Mick. Hello also to the owners Ahmet and Kate, also Ismet and Eunuce. Thanks for a lovely time.

Room Tip: A room at the back would possibly be quieter, but no bither really if you had one on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dionysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dionysia

Address: Cumhuriyet Cad, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#12 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dionysia 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dionysia is located in the quiet area of the village in streets where the buildings are draped with bougainvillea and hibiscus flowers. All rooms have their own shower and toilet, balcony and are equipped with air conditioning, fans and telephones. The maids ensure that the rooms are scrupulously clean, and they make you feel welcome by adding some very special touches to your room Continental breakfast is served in the dining area, and the hotel has a poolside bar area - in the shade of olive trees - where the helpful staff can serve you with refreshments and a selection of hot or cold snack meals throughout the day. The family run hotel has a very clean, well maintained, swimming pool and plenty of sun loungers and parasols surrounding the pool area. In the evening you can sit back and relax with a drink at the roof top Moonlight Bar situated at the top of the hotel - to enjoy the wonderful views of Kalkan Harbour, the shooting stars and the moon rising over the mountains along the Turquoise Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dionysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysia Hotel Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dionysia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.