We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Mahal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalkan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Mahal
Save
You added Hotel Villa Mahal to your Saves list
Kisla Mevki. Sardunya Sk. No:23, Kalkan 07960, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mesmerizing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time in Villa Mahal. We heard its recommendation through conde nast traveller. The location of the hotel is beyond words. Its quite marvelous. We stayed both in moonlight deluxe and pool room. Both of the rooms location was very good. But comparing steps to the beach pool room may be preferable by some. Rooms are comfortable and clean. In moonlight deluxe room, there was a light colored carpet which was dirty due to extensive use. Might be better to not have carpets at all. Also all of the rooms should have espresso machine. The beach setting is very very good and very private. The food is tasty but the breakfast menu can offer more muesli varities such as bircher musli and crunchy mueslis. All of the personel are very friendly and welcoming. Other than that you won't regret of your choice one bit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    28
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
96
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I haven't posted about the Villa Mahal before because I really didn't want anyone else to know about it! It is pure bliss. From the superb views, to the excellent attention to detail and service and to , last but certainly not least, the lovely rep Joan from whom nothing is too much trouble. The fact that it gets booked a year in advance and many people are regulars is testament to how good it is. I only have one complaint- it is booked for October 2014 so I am unable to go!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We absolutely love the Villa Mahal and feel as though we are coming home each time we arrive. Ipek and her staff make us feel so welcome and they work so hard to try to maintain an extremely high standard in all areas of the hotel. It is indeed a unique setting and one of the most peaceful - no nuisance noise from mobile phones, plenty of quiet areas you can go and have a coffee or just look out to sea - and the quality of everything - the food, wine, and accommodation is consistently good.

We have seen the hotel making different improvements over the years we have been coming here - they really listen to customer feedback and the tour operator Exclusive Escapes who manage most of the Mahal bookings are highly professional, efficient and responsive. These are just some of the reasons we keep coming back and are now planning our 6th visit! We have travelled far and wide in the world but this place is a true gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a joy to discover, a true gem on the coast where rest and relaxation ( and some pretty good Rose) were the name of the game. We stayed at a Villa above the hotel that was associated with Villa Mahal and all its facilities so can only comment on the fabulous location, relaxed service and fabulous company the staff and team at Villa Mahal provided us - the water taxi to and from Kalkan, the afternoon drinks sessions, the evening nibbles and indeed a superb take out delivery option right to our dining table at the Villa - what more can anyone need - oh the massage was pretty amazing too....
Its certainly not for anyone with walking / climbing issues as indeed the "stairs to heaven" can be pretty hard work but we all felt this was our one ode to fitness in our delightful week on site.....
The weather was superb last week of September and the Turkish people in Kalkan were wonderful, friendly and very helpful - a real gem to visit but would suggest outside of the school holidays if you are able as this is when a peace descends on the area....

Room Tip: If you can opt for a Villa - Ayse or Aurelia ( via exclusive escapes) this gives you some real flexi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford ...Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Hotel Villa Mahal is quite simply breath-taking, situated on the side of a hill overlooking the bay and the bustling town of Kalkan. From the moment you arrive to the time you leave you are treated as a treasured guest and nothing is too much trouble.

The owner Ipek has a superb eye for detail and the whole hotel is designed to gently settle into the landscape amongst olive trees, beautiful plants, hidden paths and spaces where you can quietly contemplate the peaceful surroundings.

There is an beautiful infinity pool, private platforms by the sea with comfortable beds and the usual high standard of service.

The staff are amazing, friendly, attentive, courteous and relaxed. The breakfast is sumptuous, served on a charming roof terrace with exceptional views and plenty of shade. Cappuccinos, speciality dishes, eggs any way you want them, Saturday cake, fresh figs, honey-on-the -comb, all served as standard. Combined with the view and the service this is one of the best breakfasts we have ever experienced.

Moving on to the massage - Buket is simply one of the best massage-therapists we have ever encountered. She is truly holistic and a massage by the sea is a superb, relaxing experience. You leave her massage table, walking taller and in a totally different mind-set, free from aches and pains. She is spectacular!

We have returned on at least six occasions and just keep coming back for more. We love this place and of all the beautiful hotels and places in the world that we have been to - we just keep coming back to the Hotel Villa Mahal.

One other point, a number of the reviews seem to be about the Beach Club rather than the hotel. The two operations are run on an entirely separate basis with the same owners but different staff. The Villa Mahal is a small boutique hotel with services that are offered exclusively to the guests. Therefore, visitors who arrive for lunch would be directed to the beach club, which is open to the public whereas the hotel facilities are only for the hotel guests. This does not apply to evening dining when you can make a reservation and eat by the sea-front in truly splendid surroundings. I mention this because we have witnessed people visiting the property for lunch or accidentally straying from the beach club and have seen them on occasion moved on. I can see that this is embarrassing for the guests who feel that this is not really made clear and, let's face it, no-one likes to be moved on. Diplomacy is difficult in any language and I can imagine, if it is not clearly explained, the staff may just seem disinterested or rude. However, this is not the case they will just be trying to direct you to the appropriate areas. Finally this year the beach club was run by Yasin, a member of the Hotel Villa Mahal team, drafted to the Beach Club to ensure its smooth running.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Villa Mahal is truly one of the best holiday destinations out of many we have experienced. The food was great, the setting amazing, views were out of this world, the staff were very attentive and nothing was ever too much- they were happy to help with anything. The gardens, and the whole atmosphere and feel of the hotel was so tranquil and unique. Beautiful infinity pool, and the beach club and spa were the epitome of relaxation- hammocks over looking the ocean! We will most certainly be back- thank you for a truly relaxing and very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: If available the cliff house !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is the kind of place you would spend your honeymoon or if you are wealthy enough your holiday :-) They have standard or sunset suites which can cost you over 400 euro per night. I stayed in the Moonlight standard room for 2 nights and have to say I was amazed by the views. Would highly recommend it and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mahal

Address: Kisla Mevki. Sardunya Sk. No:23, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kalkan
#13 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique hotel nestling on a hillside in Kalkan Bay. Here at the Villa Mahal, each step you take offers a picture perfect view of the Lycian Coast and divine Turkish Mediterranean. You arrive at the Mahal's reception from the dusty track outside, and crossing the threshold you quite simply enter another world. The picture post-card spot was hand-picked by the owner Ipek when she first moved to Kalkan over 25 years ago, having gathered all in one place the essential ingredients of an award-winning boutique hotel. Mahal's unique thirteen rooms retreat offers the ultimate soul quenching vacation. It will restore, refresh and invigorate you. Tastefully appointed rooms and suites are all with striking picturesque sea views. At Villa Mahal, you will have the ultimate freedom vacation. It is a kick-off-your shoes, shrug-off-your-blues way of life that makes the tomorrows prettier than the yesterdays. Come visit Villa Mahal, tucked away just on the edge of paradise. (*) Villa Mahal winner of the Conde'Nast Johansens award for "Most Romantic Hotel" in Europe in 2007. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahal Hotel Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.