We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hostess, well situated for the old town -when is a pansyon a hotel?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turk Evi Otel

Save Saved
You added Turk Evi Otel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turk Evi Otel
YalIboyu Mahallesi Sehitler Caddesi No: 19, Kalkan, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Kalkan B&B and Inns
Penzance
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming hostess, well situated for the old town -when is a pansyon a hotel?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This renovated property sits at the head of an old lane in Kalkan, away from the noise but crowded in on all sides with both new and old properties. I would guess it was originally several properties sympathesically opened up into one house by Selma and her husband over the last 20 or so years. They are not your usual hosts, Selma having one parent from Norway and one from Turkey, being brought up in Italy and spending university years in Norway has produced a facinating lady who speaks many languages fluently and is interested in global culture and politics. We never spoke with her husband.
The interior is cool and stage set to make the best of local simple rustic style..idiosincratic pieces, kelims, everything well used and thought out..bunches of dried herbs and fruit bowls [though none was offered] an open kitchen and travelers books/guides. A wide staircase leads to the upper rooms, each appears to be fairly large with simple appointments, spotlessly clean, containing either a shower room or a bathroom and one or two worn wooden peices and the odd chair. more than adequate for a stay. Our room [blue] had an aircon unit and a shared balcony looking over the entrance, great for evesdropping, not so good for privacy.
The breakfast is served outside in a paved space which seems to be part of the lane and has occasional passers by shortcutting to the main road above the property.
Service is limited to 'hail and farewell', though Selma is charming and gracious,on our visit hospitality was lacking..no offer of assistance or anything to drink, ever, except for tea or coffee at breakfast. No offer of anything except breakfast, and at breakfast the most simple offering we have ever been given anywhere in all our years of travelling inTurkey. It did not vary and consisted of lovely olives, white ewe's cheese (delicious) sliced tomato and cucumber, butter, fruit preserves and standard bread with tea or coffee. Adequate but; no fruit, fresh or dried, no juice or water, no eggs or salami or nuts etc or any homemade bread which are all staples for breakfast where ever you go in Turkey, frequently you are offered cereals or pastries as well or tahini or honeycomb etc, but not here, so quite disappointing comparatively, especially for the price paid of €50 per night.
Hot shower on the second night only, once we'd realised that all the water was solar heated, without emersion backup and ran out by the late evening when everyone came back & showered..cold water the rest of the time. It surely should be the job of the host to introduce the hospitality of the house, not for the guest to 'discover' it by acccident?
There appeared to be dinner taken by the hosts and their friends underneath our window, on the first night, not disturbing as their conversation ebbed and flowed gently until about 11pm, but in no way did it seem to include the other guests or be offered as part of the hospitality offering generally.
Selma had hurt her ankle when we were there, so maybe that explains the experience we had, if so, it just goes to show how dependent the operation is to her presence on form. I feel there is a place for a chilled, laid back, family inclusive experience when travelling, but when you describe yourself as a boutique hotel,as this does on its signage which caught our attention, that implies service standards and facilities which are lacking here. Whilst we were there, other guests appeared to be German and French, which was lovely as we enjoy more international company, and it was a pity we didn't stay longer to get to know any of them..maybe next time..and we'll be sure to ask more rather than wait to be offered it!

Room Tip: The pink rooms are larger with a bath. The blue rooms look over the entrance. Ask for air con room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We've been living in Istanbul for the year, and traveling around Turkey for several weeks at a time. We are budget travelers, but usually splash out a bit once per trip. Turk Evi was our "expensive" choice on our trip along the turquoise coast. As such, it may have suffered a little for our expectations. The spacious Pink Room is very comfortable, and has a huge bath with tub, which was very welcome. We were there in the spring, though, so there was no hot water at all in the morning (or late at night either) due to solar hot water heaters with no back up system. At these prices, a back up heater to bring the water up to temp seems appropriate. The breakfast was great, with delicious homemade marmalade. We might be tempted to pick a place with a roof terrace next time though, to take advantage of the gorgeous location a bit more. The views are all a bit blocked by other buildings. There were balconies all over the hotel, but they aren't private, which means that you can't leave the door open. And there are no chairs on the balconies. We left a window open at night and got plagued by mosquitos. It is nice to have the old casement windows screen-free, but maybe a screen in one would be great. The atmospheric canopies on mosquito netting pictured on the website are no longer in the rooms. The other couple traveling with us also felt that the website photo of the room under "prices" was a little misleading, which is a shame, because when we went back to look, the only change was the canopy. Our friends stayed in one of the smaller rooms, as there were no more "Pink Rooms" available. If you are going to reserve, the much larger Pink Room, with its much larger bath a tub, is definitely worth the extra 10 TL per day. The staff is friendly without ever being intrusive, and we did receive some great advice for day trips. In the end, though, we would be tempted to try another one of Kalkans many hotels next time.

Room Tip: The Pink Rooms are definitely worth the extra TL
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Turk Evi was one of the nicer hotels we stayed in while driving along the Turquoise Coast at the beginning of October. Kalkan itself, at least at the time of our stay, was laid-back and not at all crowded.

Selma proved to be a charming hostess - warm and welcoming, and full of fascinating (multilingual!) conversation as well. The hotel itself is cozy and quiet, charmingly appointed with antiques, and set just up the hill from the waterfront, within walking distance of everything.

Our room was simple and comfortable, and the breakfast - though you'll know what to expect if you've stayed in pretty much any other bed and breakfast in Turkey (bread, olives, cheese, and homemade preserves) - was yummy and a great start to the day.

Liked: Charming hostess and hotel
Disliked: Faint and intermittent sewer/septic tank odor (apparently somewhat unavoidable while lodging along the coast)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I were quite happy here for 3 nights. The small inn is very charming and tasteful in an unpretentious, genuine sort of way. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean and the atmosphere is warm. Our room did have AC (which worked great) but not all do. We found the proprietress to be exceedingly gracious and helpful. The breakfast, although simple, included her homemade jams which were the best we had in all of Turkey!

We were also pleased with the location, which was convenient to everything, but just far enough away from the touristy hustle and bustle that you could almost forget about it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We had looked at another pension with a wonderful view but chose the Turk Evi because it had more character. The lady who usually runs the place was away but her Turkish husband was very welcoming. We had a very large room upstairs decorated with various antiques, a big bathroom and a shared balcony and a window from where we could see the sea in the distance. We were lucky in the fact that we did not have exceedingly hot weather and we found that leaving the window wide open allowed enough breeze. The great thing about this place was that it was away from all the hustle and bustle of the harbour. Breakfast was taken outside and I don't know if it was because his wife was away but it was only fairly average although the homemade orange marmalade was delicious.

Kalkan is quite an attractive town and we felt more so during the day. At night so many of the bars have large TVs showing football so we steered away from them and took ourselves to the Kaptan Restaurant where we had a very good evening.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Türk Evi is what I would call a chambre d'hôte or B&B. The owners, a charming Norwegian lady called Selma and her Turkish husband have a beautifully restored home furnished with lovely old furniture at the top end of Kalkan, away from the bustle of the seafront and very conveniently located for taxis, minibuses to Patara beach and other local attractions, banks, supermarket and other amenities. As you walk downhill towards the small beach and marina the picturesque village is essentially touristy, filled with restaurants and small boutiques.

We booked the two blue rooms, which are connected by doors leading onto a shared balcony. Both have double beds with mosquito netting, lovely old furniture and en suite shower rooms and the total cost for the two rooms was 65€ per night. In hot weather there can be some intermittent odours from the sewers/septic tanks, but this was a constant pretty much everywhere we visited along the coast and not unique to this hotel. Turk Evi doesn't have air conditioning, but we left the balcony doors open and used the fans provided.

Breakfast was served outdoors on the pavement and consisted of the usual Turkish fare: tomatoes, feta, cucumber, olives, home made preserves, bread and eggs. Some guests appeared to dine with the owners, but we went into the village to vary our pleasures.

I'd thoroughly recommend Turk Evi for its beautiful olde worlde decor, it's family run atmosphere and its great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turk Evi Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turk Evi Otel

Address: YalIboyu Mahallesi Sehitler Caddesi No: 19, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Kalkan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Turk Evi Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turk Evi Otel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.