We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great holiday at the Happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Hotel Kalkan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Hotel Kalkan to your Saves list
Happy Hotel Kalkan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalamar Koyu, Kalkan 07960, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Great holiday at the Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Another great stay at the Happy hotel. We were looked after by Seher, Barry and the rest of the staff in the usual friendly and helpful way. Location not the best if you have problems walking as the hotel is located at the top of a big hill, but we used it to sober up on the way back from a great night out in Kalkan town. Hopefully see you all again next year. Steve and Debbie from Darlington

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    46
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just return from two weeks at the Happy Hotel and so glad we did . We booked a suite which had the most wonderful view of Kalamar bay, and extremely spacious having a lounge area as well.
There always seemed to be enough at breakfast with the usual omelettes and pancakes on offer every morning.
All the staff were lovely from the cheery Bar and kitchen staff to the welcoming receptionists who were always extremely polite and helpful. Not forgetting the cleaners who kept our room lovely and clean.
As it previous reviews the drinks are very well priced.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.. so the décor is a little tired but does that matter when the beauty is on your doorstep .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the hotel. It's definitely not what i'd call 4 star but the rooms were spacious, staff friendly, and the pool area is really lovely with fabulous view of the bay.
The breakfast is nothing to write home about but the drinks are really cheap, bar staff lovely and the food during the day is pretty decent and reasonably priced.
We were not expecting luxury so were overall very happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from an eleven night stay at the Happy . The hotel is lovely and is very well run with all the staff making an excellent team. As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel needs some modernisation and the decor and furniture is a bit dated now.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and can see why many holidaymakers return here .
The hotel is set in Kalamar Bay which is about a 20 min walk from Kalkan , 5 minutes or so in a taxi .
Kalkan is a stunning place to visit with plenty of things to see and do, could of stayed longer .
Special mention to Hassan., I cannot "grumble " about my stay at the Happy Hotel :) and Bharkri aka Barry White keep up the good work ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We returned from the Happy hotel at the end of August having spent two lovely weeks there.Our first impressions were really pleasing the pool area was so lovely with wonderful views over the sea ,plenty of sun beds and generally very clean and well kept. We emailed the staff at the hotel prior to arriving to ask about rooms near to each other with sea views if possible. We were so lucky as the lovely Sarah gave us rooms next to each other with wonderful views across the bay. The rooms were very large, very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed many a good meal in the hotel restaurant especially breakfast which was amazing! So much choice, homemade bread and rolls, freshly cooked eggs fried or omelette,pancakes with all the trimmings, cereal with all sorts of fruits yoghurt,cheeses, meats and so on Ozgood ( hope we have spelt your name correctly) was amazing ready with a smile every morning !
The staff at the Happy hotel are amazing so courteous nothing was too much trouble thank you Barry and Kenan and Hassan for being so much fun we really enjoyed your company.
Sarah and her colleagues on the front desk are so helpful and kind. The maids who cleaned our rooms liked to have a little joke with us when they saw us. They made models of swans with our towels and put fresh flowers on our bed! Our rooms were spotless with at least 4 or 5 towels which were replaced regularly.
The shuttle service to the main area of Kalkan was brilliant, it took about five minutes and left at regular times 10am 2, 5 and 7pm from hotel returning at 10.30 for last transfer.
We enjoyed meals in various restaurants throughout our stay our favourite was Alternatif
which we visited two or three times. The Agora restaurant was another favourite with beautiful views across the bay from the terrace.Cafe Vita and Aqua were within walking distance of the hotel about 10 minutes maximum and both offered great food and service.
We went on an organised trip to Saklikent this included lunch and a visit to the ruins at Tlos. a great excursion one not to be missed.! We also hired a car which Sarah sorted for us and visited Myra and St.Nicholas Church. The history at Myra is amazing, a fantastic ampitheatre and countless tombs in the surrounding rocks. It took us a couple of hours to get there but was well worth it.
We also found a superb small beach the other side of Kas with free sun beds and umbrellas. Would recommend taking beach shoes as it is quite pebbly.Kas is a delightful place with lots of cobbled streets leading off the main square. Plenty of lovely gift shops selling all sorts.
We visited Patara, and the ruins at Xanthos once again breathtaking ! Patara beach is so large without a pebble in sight the water was so warm and clear.
We thoroughly enjoyed Kalkan and would certainly recommend it. Our stay in the Happy Hotel made it such a memorable holiday one of the best places we have stayed in.lynne,Andrew,Martien Alison

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We did not have a "Happy" start at the hotel as the double room we were allocated had no view due to a large bourganvilla tree which had grown across the balcony, this really needs to be pruned back. So we decided to upgrade our room (due to a lack of availabiity to change) to a deluxe suite which had to be the best room in the hotel due to the outstanding view of Kalamar Bay and was well worth the extra cost .The rooms are spacious and very clean, with towels changed daily and toiletries such as shower gel provided. The hotel does need an upgrade in some areas but this add's to the charm of the hotel and an upgrade would mean higher prices as it is very reasonably priced. Its more 3 star than 4. There is an excellant pool with steamer loungers, some on a platform with full view of the bay and pool towels are provided. The staff are very friendly with very cheap prices at the bar compared to the rest of Kalkan, with a good choice of food for lunch. It has a bus service to Town 4 times a day, some hotel guests would have preferred a later bus time than 7pm, 8pm would be better. Kalkan is fantastic, with excellant high class restaurants and cocktail bars. The hotel for some is a little far out of town, but due to its position you get a full nights sleep & relaxing atmosphere. We are missing Kalkan already as its the best place to visit in Turkey with lovely people and we will be returning in the future. Overall the "Happy" is an excellent place to stay if you want to be just a little bit away from the town and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys stunning views and warm hospitality.

Room Tip: Book a delux high up room or a suite to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just spent a delightful fortnight in the Happy Hotel, Kalkan and feel inspired to recommend the hotel to other travellers. The most important aspect of any hotel in impressing its visitors has to be its staff and the Happy Hotel didn't disappoint. Without exception, the staff were friendly, fun, courteous and professional and by the end of the holiday, they felt more like friends whose company we had enjoyed. We booked half board before we arrived and were not disappointed by the choice or standard of what was offered. In fact, I felt really bad about not being able to taste everything that was on offer as the chef proudly presented his menu each evening. My expanding waistline couldn't keep up! Our 2 teenage boys enjoyed the table tennis table and games room and the pool was of a very high standard compared to what we saw elsewhere in Kalkan. We booked a family suite, not really knowing what to expect but our 2 very large rooms and great balcony with views over Kalamar Bay were a pleasant surprise. All in all, one of the best places we have holidayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Hotel Kalkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hotel Kalkan

Address: Kalamar Koyu, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Happy Hotel Kalkan 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Hotel Kalkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalkan Harpy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Hotel Kalkan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.