We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mentese Mahallesi, Sehitler Caddesi, Kalkan 07960, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Kalkan
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lets get the only bad point out of the way.
We stayed in room 106, this is the most basic room I think I've ever stayed in, 1 double bed & JUST enough floor space to get round it, the bathroom is equally tiny, I've never been to a loo that requires a side saddle approach. Having said that we ended up enjoying the cosy feel, quietness & cleanliness of the room.
Right....the main event....
We absolutely loved our holiday, both the Hotel & the town were perfect for us, the friendly nature of everyone we spoke to was spot on. The hotel staff were welcoming, attentive & a pleasure to talk with.
The Hotel & grounds were clean, the pool area was well laid out with sun all day & some nice shaded areas when needed, the location was also the best we could have hoped for as other Hotels were situated a bit further up the hilly streets, Kalkan is not for those who don't get about well. We will probably return to Kalkan as there are so many places to visit that we didn't take them all in this time.
The Samira is due for a makeover this winter & this will affect the price, we will wait & see by how much but as things are now we would happily return, however we may be tempted by the next door Dream Hotel purely on price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    76
    26
    11
    8
See reviews for
60
170
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent a week in these apartments in August and it was lovely. The rooms are clean (if a little small) and the swimming pool and bar area is great with plenty of sunloungers. I would recommend this aparthotel and believe they are enlarging the rooms for next year.
Kalkan is a fabulous place and the apartments were perfectly placed at the beginning of the main street so not too far to walk to bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared in good locations as the hotel is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was brilliant and cleaned every day by the non-stop cleaners and there is plenty for people to do round the pool like sunbathe, sit in the shade, play draughts, play pool, play free table tennis and have a dip in the refreshing pool. The staff are very friendly and will play table tennis and pool against you and they make delicious milkshakes. The apartment was just right with a bedroom, a main room and a bathroom. Moomin, the pool side and bar manager, keeps every thing in working order and when he is not there the staff are more relaxed but still brilliant. There is not much more I can say about samira apart from it is a brilliant hotel with brilliant staff and I would recommend the samira any day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We returned last week-end from the Samira Hotel in Kalkan, We can highly recommend it. I have been trying my hardest to find a fault, but can't, (apart from leaving a shoe behind in our room) The staff are very friendly, and welcoming. Moomin was a big hit with our family, funny, kind, happy to help, and hard working, as were the rest of the staff. The rooms are cleaned every day hence them being spotless as is the pool, bar, and reception area. Kalkan was our first visit too Turkey so we only went for 7 days, but in hind sight we now wish we'd gone for 14, we will definitely be returning, the only downfall is the long journey from Dalaman airport, but it is well worth it once you are there. The Thomas Cook rep, Tamsin was very welcoming, and kind. Another down side is the hills in Kalkan, not a place if you have bad mobility, otherwise an absolute must.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a better view of the rest of Kalkan,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just home (literally earlier today!) from a fortnight in the Samira apartments in Kalkan- absolutely loved it!
We are a mixed- age family group and we were blown away by the wonderful warm welcome given to us by a wide range of friendly locals.
We stayed in a spacious three- bedroomed apartment up the hill from the actual hotel with spectacular views of Kalkan bay and the impressive mountains behind us.
My daughter loved the fact that she could choose from three balconies to sit and lounge on, not to mention the two swimming pools!!
The staff at the Samira hotel were fantastic- especially Mumin, who was funny and genuinely friendly and made our holiday really memorable.
Tamsin Young, our holiday rep., stood out for all the right reasons: she took her time over her guests and nothing was too much trouble for her to organise (including helping out when my daughter was unwell)- 10/10 to Tamsin who works so hard!
We've been bitten by the Kalkan bug and feel sure we will return!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Kalkan and to the Samira. The only niggly things were that there was no fridge in the room so if you wanted to have a drink of cool water through the day or night it would be room temp, not great. Breakfast is very sparse, being rolls and some sort of meat slices and renny butter pads as again there is no refrigeration. What I did find odd was that about ninety percent of guests are english yet no english tea available, more fruit and turkish tea. We had to buy some breakfast tea and take it up with us. Sadly no air conditioning in the reception area as I think it's been broken for a long time. This is a shame as it was about forty five degrees through the day and at leat thirty three through the evening and it would have been nice to sit down after returning from the town for a drink and a chat in a cool place but have to say that if you wanted to go anywhere cool in the hotel to sit and have a cool drink then i'm afraid there was nowhere to go. OK , that was the little points. The plus points far out weigh the minus. The pool area is just a d,rem and beautifully laid out. The staff, like everyone we met in Kalkan are a pure delight and a refreshing change from the hassle and abuse suffered in Side. The pool area manager "Mumin" pronounced Moomin is a great guy with a sense of humour and gentleman in every sense. The hotel I would give five if it wasn't for those points raised. I would highly recomend this hotel and it's staff. Above all would recomend Kalkan. We loved it so much we have decided to return a little later in the year. You will be treated like welcome guests if you visit Kalkan and you will "Want" to return, trust me you will. When passing restaurants in other places in Turkey, namely, Olu denis and Side (which I hated), you would be asked to come inside to eat or drink. If you politely said no thank you or maybe later, normally it would be answered with a distained look of disaproval, in Side you would be sworn at or told you were a typical english. I have to say at this point that they are mostly Kurdish in Side and not turkish who are as a rule extremely friendly. In Kalkan? "Then maybe another time, please have a wonderful evening and a great holiday"! You are a welcom guest and you will be treated as such. The Samira hotel is a great hotel and represents the spirit of Kalkan.

Room Tip: The hotel very tactfully request anyone being too noisey at night or early morning to please conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We returned last week from a fortnight stay at the samira. It was our first time in kalkan and we loved it, it is a beautiful place. When we arrived at samira we were shown 2 rooms to choose between and opted for a smaller one with breathtaking views over the sea, a complete unexpected bonus as we had booked an inland view due to budget. We had many happy hours sitting on the balcony enjoying the gorgeous view and it was definitely worth a quite tiny room! Service at the hotel is good and I found the price of drinks and snacks reasonable, though as everything is charged to your room the bills can mount up if you don't settle them regularly! We don't generally stay by the pool on holiday but we did at the samira on a few days as the pool area is lovely, clean and relaxing and convenient for drinks and lunch. Everyone at the hotel was friendly, staff and other holiday makers, and I didn't feel any pressure to buy drinks etc at any time. We had an amazing holiday, including lots of days on beautiful patara beach and not a single bad meal - the restaurants are really a world above ones in other places we have stayed. The only downside is we spent more than we have on previous trips to other places in Turkey but I think it was worth it to have such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments

Address: Mentese Mahallesi, Sehitler Caddesi, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Hotel Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samira Exclusive Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.