We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight Terrace Restaurant

Moonlight Terrace Restaurant
Kalamar Yolu No 9, Kalkan, Turkey
+90 544 959 3613
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 178 Restaurants in Kalkan
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Small and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Authentic Turkish food freshly cooked and piping hot. Good views from the balcony especially at night. Attentive service. Enjoyed the local house wine. Approximately 10 tables which gave it a friendly and intimate feel. A thoroughly enjoyable meal so much so that we returned for our last night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    42
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rooftop dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our second time at the Moonlight, which is a small, intimate restaurant on a rooftop overlooking the old town and harbour. My wife and I chose from the set menu, which was excellent value for money. The food was very tasty and the staff were very friendly. It is an ideal location for a romantic meal, providing there is not a loud know it all at the next table, oh why do they get let out in public. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Nice views, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant one night - didn't do much research but kind of remembered that it had great views of Kalkan from the terrace and the fact that there was no hawker on the street appealed. The terrace is very intimate and on the night we were dining there was only one other party - so not much of an atmosphere. The food was good but I thought the portions were quite small and the menu limited if you don't book in advance - basically it's a set menu of either two (29.50TL) or three courses. You can order one main course only (from the set menu) but there were only four dishes to choose from. Complimentary garlic bread and olives were served. The service was warm and unobtrusive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highgate London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have eaten here three times now. The restaurant isn't in the main area of town, but it is definitely worth a visit. Small and intimate with a set menu with a good selection. The vegetarian main course of aubergine casserole is sooo tasty - 'çok lessetli' although if i had one criticism, I thought the portion sizes were smaller on our latest visit compared to previous times (the plates appeared smaller!) so this has cost the Moonlight an otherwise 5 star review. Service is attentive and friendly, views are great over Kalkan bay. We will be back, but as we are hungry blokes, bring back the larger plates!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Next Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After having a freshly prepared breakfast accompanied by delightful service we booked dinner on the balcony for later in the week for four. Sadly upon arrival the owner informed us that they were unable to serve that evening as due to the strong wind he felt it may detract from our food. he gave us a round of drinks and could not have been more apologetic. He had tried to contact us via our hotel. We totally understood and respected his view that he wanted the restaurant to be seen in a good light. i respected this view totally. There is no doubt the view is exceptional but will have to wait until next year. My excellent rating strangely is not based on the food but in the manner in which we were treated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonlight Terrace Restaurant also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Moonlight Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight Terrace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.