We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We chose this place for our last night because it was the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapter One - CLOSED

Chapter One
Mosque st, Kalkan, Turkey
+90 (0242) 8443003
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $49
Cuisines: Indian, Mediterranean, Turkish, Grill, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Manchester
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“We chose this place for our last night because it was the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place oozes class, the free meze was high quality and the aubergine excellent, all very fresh. They easily grasped gluten free and made us carrot sticks to go with the humus rather than bread. The chateaubriand is the best in Kalkan, cut at your table and tasted divine, melt in the mouth. They also had an excellent deal on the wine The free aperitif was also excellent . Great service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    12
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The staff here make your experience. My dish was nice but my husband raved about his lamb. There was free coffee after the meal and the staff couldnt off done enough for you. The view was beautiful sat on the roof terrace. The staff were fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrow in furnwss
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excelent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We found chapter one 3 days before going home , it was so good we went back for our last evening, Service was the best we had, the young waiter brought the new owner to everybodys table to introduce him as he didn,t speak any english. Our food was delicious , we were given free bread with meze to start with, a complimentary liqueur and coffee after the meal followed by grapes and turkish delight this is the most generous restaurant owner i have ever come across, he introduced his lovely wife to us who does the cooking and also gave me a pashmina to take home as he thought it was a chilly. evening. i cant recommend this restaurant enough and their are over 200 in Kalkan so for us it shows how exceptional it is

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing for one of us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

In the years we have been visited Kalkan we have not been to this restaurant which has always been highly recommended. To be fair the meal I had was delicious - a chicken pie which was on a bed of filo pastry. My daughter, however had the steak which was tasteless. My husband had the seafood pasta which could have done with little more sauce. As so often happens, if one person's meal is poor this lets the restaurant down.

I would try it again next year,. The restaurant itself is very nice and the service good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“They Made a Special Ocassion Even More Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I CANNOT PRAISE CHAPTER ONE ENOUGH.
We ate at Chapter One, twice last year and decided to return. We booked a table at the back of the Restuarant where it was cooler. We all (8 in the group) ordered and waited, and waited, and waited. After an hour or more the waiter came to apologise to say that our order had been put into one of the younger staff members top pocket and had forgotten to hand it in. Mistakes are made, but how a restaurant deals with them shows how good they are. The waiter was full of apologise and the owner who did not speak English also came and apolised, and made sure our meals were rushed through. We were offered free bottles of wine and complimentary drinks afterwards. We went away satisfied. We ate there a few nights later and were well looked after. A few nights later we went again and commented in passing that our daughter and her boyfriend had just got engaged ( e had proposed the night before). The staff congratulated them and we enjoyed our meal. The desserts were a bit slow coming (which are the best in Kalkan), which we thought was a bit odd. All of a sudden the waiters appeared with a fabulous cake, party poppers, fireworks and a head scarf for my Daughter. While waiting for dessert they must have arranged the surprise. It certainly made a special occasion even more memorable. I would like to thank Chapter One for their kindness and generosity. Even though our first night had its problems they certainly made it up on the last night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapter One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.