We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mediteran Apart-Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalkan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mediteran Apart-Hotel
Save
You added Mediteran Apart-Hotel to your Saves list
Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad, Kalkan, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kalkan
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We have stayed at the Mediteran for last 5 years and will be returning in September 2011. We have always had a great time and Ahmet and his staff can't do enough for you. I was taken ill back in 2007 and without Ahmet's help in getting to a doctor and then to the hospital in Fethiye, we would have been at a lose.
Yes the Mediteran is high up, but the views are fantastic and it's position is well advertised so no-one should be surprised at how high up it is. Regular transport into Kalkan Town is provided and it is just a short taxi trip back up.
The restaurant has great food and service, although we usually eat in Kalkan which has such a choice of places to eat.
The rooms have everything you will need, including a kitchenette with equipment to do a bit of basic cooking.
Over the years we have found the prices in Kalkan have increased like everywhere else.
Would recommend this apartment/hotel for couples who are looking for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    8
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

After 5 years at the Mediteran,I felt it time to post a review.Each time we arrive,we feel we are at home.Ahmet,Mehmet and all the staff are very friendly and always helpful.
Over the years,we have met many other return visitors which speaks for itself.
We do travel to other countries but we always look forward to our Mediteran holiday every year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

After reading the negative reviews on this site we felt that we had to give our own very positive review of Mediteran. We have been regular guests for the last six years and have always found the Mediteran to offer excellent service, fabulous views, very clean and comfortable rooms, wonderful pool and dinning and have no hesitation in reccommending the mediteran to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Surprised to read the comments about the Mediteran Hotel. My experience was amazing, Simpson Travel organised a fantastic holiday and everybody at the Mediteran Hotel were lovely. The bathrooms are a little bit tired, but all in all, an amazing stay! Kalkan is beautiful and the owner of the Mediteran Hotel was really nice to us, giving us tips on what to do. Not coming back to Kalkan this year, but will definitely book with Simpson Travel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I have felt compelled to write this review as I cannot believe some of the negative comments that I have read recently, it is simply not The Mediteran that I recognise!

My partner and I stayed during the first two weeks of August and had a fantastic time. The greeting was genuinely warm and friendly and the staff really couldn't do enough for us. Ahmet is a great host and the rest of the team were just as friendly and very entertaining! We felt really welcome and were made to feel very relaxed. Also Jo from Simpson travel visited regularly which was reassuring.

Our room (301) was very clean and comfortable with views to die for. One balcony looked out over the town and harbour, the other one had a view of the olive groves/mountains. Perfect for a glass of wine or two in the evening!

The restaurant had a fabulous menu and views to match, also the service is brilliant. There are other options for breakfast than just the fruit and cheese, you only have to ask for the menu.

The infinity pool is quiet and again has stunning views, it really is difficult to tear yourself away. The area around the pool is kept clean at all times and there is a wealth of books available to borrow, perfect for relaxing on the sun loungers.

All in all we had a dream holiday and I can't wait to go back again. Kalkan is magical and The Mediteran is a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpsonTravel, Manager at Mediteran Apart-Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience of the Mediteran Hotel with us and other TripAdvisor users.

We strive to offer our guests the kind of holidays we would like to take ourselves, and the properties we represent are carefully selected to ensure that they complement our philosophy in every form.

On behalf of Ahmet and his team, thank you for your feedback. We hope we may have the chance to welcome you back to the Mediteran Hotel again.

Desmond Mall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We have stayed at the Mediteran for the past 4/5 years running, we love it, so do our children/teenagers, that still love & get bored of it.
Each year we see, alot of the same faces, which is certainly testament, that it is a lovely hotel to visit. You are made to feel so welcome by Ahmet & his team, nothing is ever to much trouble
The food is great, whether its a relaxing lunch , any time of the day!, or dinner , where the tables are beautifuly set it looks so pretty at night and a nice breeze too.
The cleaners come daily, and do a pretty good job, beds very comfortable, never have trouble sleeping!.Very useful having the little kitchen area, for making the odd snack.The walk down to the town is fine, nicer at night when a bit cooler!, they do run guests into the town several times a day, taxis quite cheap to get back, if you cant be bothered to walk!. We have fab relaxing holidays in Kalkan, and love the Meditteran

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpsonTravel, Manager at Mediteran Apart-Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for posting feedback regarding your stay at the Mediteran Hotel.

At Simpson Travel, we believe in offering quality holidays which combine relaxation with a taste of local traditions and culture, and at the Mediteran Hotel, Ahmet and his team always do their best to meet our guests’ expectations in every way. Enhancements are also underway for the 2011 season, and the rooms will feature completely new shower facilities.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and others. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on another Simpson Travel holiday this year.

Desmond Mall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a week in September - little late catching up on our reviews.

Let's start with the positives - Kalkan is beautiful. Lots of little lanes to get lost down and incredible food. The hotel is at the top of the hill so at least it has the views going for it. You need to walk down the hill and across a 4 lane highway to get into town. Mind the ditches, the speeding cars and the packs of dogs... Oh well the resort will give you a lift in the 4 x 4 a few times a day - you have to make your own way back though.

As for the hotel itself - the drinks are extortionate and you'll wait awhile. Better off in town where there's at least some atmosphere. The music never changes - if I never hear Gorillaz again it will be too soon. The food for breakfast is the same day in day out - fruit and goats cheese. You'll pay more for an orange juice at breakfast than you will for a beer!

The rooms were the real letdown... a dark mouldy bathroom with a leaking bathtub so the floor was constantly wet. There's only air conditioning in the bedroom and it either blasts you full ball or it's not enough. So actually you need a light blanket. Sadly we were given a single bed hospital blanket stretched across a queen. So one of you will be covered - the other one will just need to put up with it. The sheets themselves were coarse and very old. The beach towels too had seen much better days.

DON'T GO TO THE BBQ. The longest 3 hours of our lives. It's ridiculous money for food not up to what's in town. The music is a DJ - pretty sure Gorillaz was played AGAIN. Worse still you have to share tables with other couples. I wish they'd been clearer about this being a cash cow earlier on. And the music played all night. It must have been 3am before it finally stopped. Basically the owner decided to get lashed with his friends and family downstairs - to hell with the rest of us trying to get a good night's sleep on our holiday.

Very poor. Shame on you for duping people out of their hard-earned money. Stay elsewhere - you've been warned.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_SimpsonTravel, Owner at Mediteran Apart-Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
As the owner of Simpson Travel I was very disappointed to read these comments because anyone who holidays with us is a valued guest and we are deemed to have failed when such strong words are written.

We have no record of these concerns being brought to our attention either during the guest’s stay or afterwards so are disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to redress the situation at the time. Our local representative, Jo, visits the Mediteran at least three times per week. We are genuinely sad we did not have the chance to turn the guest’s holiday from a negative to a positive one.

2010 was our first year exclusively featuring the Mediteran Hotel and, based upon customer questionnaires, 95% of guests rated the hotel as good or excellent. The rooms are clean and comfortable and they are serviced daily. The Mediteran is a family-run hotel and the owners and staff have received many commendations for their warm and friendly service which other Trip Advisor visitors have also commented upon.

We accept that there are some aspects that need to be improved and these are being worked on over the winter, ready for the 2011 summer season. Nevertheless, we genuinely believe the Mediteran offers excellent value combined with a stunning location overlooking Kalkan.

Graham Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediteran Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediteran Apart-Hotel

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kalkan
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill just above Kalkan with breathtaking views of the bay below sits the Mediteran Hotel where the friendly owners welcome guests to their picturesque hillside haven to experience real Turkish hospitality. Most of the light and comfortable suites and rooms have private balconies or patios with beautiful sea vistas whilst a stunning infinity pool allows for lazy days soaking up the afternoon sun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mediteran Apart Hotel Kalkan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediteran Apart-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.