We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samira Resort to your Saves list
Samira Resort
Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

brilliant 2 weeks at the samira resort hotel,and yes i have been three times before and never had a single problem.(some people seem to go on holiday to look for things to complain about.e.g hotel is on top of a steep hill,bar staff don't speak english) a little bit of research might sort the hill problem out.try speaking turkish after all you're in turkey.
A big thank you to Fatimah & oz and all the bar staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    80
    50
    15
    17
See reviews for
57
132
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Upon arrival at Samira Resort my sister and I were told that our apartment was unavailable due to plumbing problems. We were then taken to a below B grade hotel about 5 minutes away by car which on inspection of our room we refused to stay at. We returned to the Samira Resort to voice our disappointment, we were then taken to a nearby villa, which was in need of desperate maintenance work. We were dropped there without being told how long we would be there because they had no idea how long it would take to fix the plumbing problem. After 2 nights we were told we would be moved to our apartment however we were informed the next day that we would stay an additional night in the villa. Upon waking on the 3rd day we discovered that there was no water, we reported this to the staff and were told that there was no water in Kalkan however this did not seem to affect our neighbour at the villa who was watering his garden with a hose!!! We asked if it was possible to have a shower at the Samira only to be told no, there are no rooms available. When we eventually got our supposed Deluxe Apartment, which we originally paid for, it was a very small room with 2 single beds. Terrible breakfast, shocking service, worst experience.

Room Tip: No tip, I don't think it's possible to get what you paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very good but the air conditioning is not great. No fridge in the room and no air conditioning in reception and when you are on forty six plus degrees its a real let down. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. Shame as its a nice hotel with a great pool area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arraived at 3.45am to be told thre was no apartment and they would giev us another hotel room in another hotel for 4 nights . Howevr they would give us a freee breakfast and safe deposit box . . I was so tired did not argue , however on arrving at this hotel , none of the lights worked apart from the huge one the air conditioning was broken . The door handle to the very unsafe and unclean balcony nearly fell off , its only saving grave was the view. Needless to say I went to complain the next day and was given another aprtment in another hotel in town , however they moved us again on the monday back to the Samira . Two other people who sufferred the same treament was offered an apartment which was obviously a staff one . This went on time after time , with various indivuduals . I,m sure thre was more but some just grinned and beared it .
On top of this them staff were rude throwing salt into the swimming pool when a lady was swimming if that was not bad enough , then throwing in the huge pipe to clean it, needless to say the lady got out . Also clearing sunbeds early , and being rude at the bar .
Re-book and go somewhere else .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

You can only review from your own experiences. We stayed at the Samira Resort (Apartments) for 10 nights. No problem getting into our apartment at 4am when we arrived quick check in and woke up later to a lovely view of the pool and Sea. We stayed on apartment #204.

We NEVER had a problem with the Rooms or the Bar Staff ( FYI I didn't tip until our last day) Perhaps sometimes staff treat the guest as the staff are treated, just a point?

We ate lunch at the Samira most days all very nice, no problem. We had heard that food and drink is a little more expensive than some areas of Turkey, the drink may have been a couple of Lira dearer but its not massive, We are use to paying 6TL for a beer at a hotel, here it was 8TL

The apartment are comfortable enough with a living room, settee, table and chairs MASSIVE fridge and oven, as usual could have done with a few more decent pans etc, but no big problem as we took our own. Free Air-con in the bedroom....and we needed it, shame the Living room had no air con. I can honestly say that as a light sleeper I am often awoke when in Turkey by Chickens..well Cockerels or the Mosque, loud Music or other guests coming back "Merry" and shouting and slamming doors..But, at The Samira I had no problem sleeping and slept better than I do at home and we was at the from of the apartments

The pool area was decent enough Sun loungers and parasols were fine and they seemed plenty of them, a couple of days noticed the HARD WORKING STAFF pulling out spare Loungers.

For some to say that the Staff don't work hard is ridiculous. We saw them washing down the floor of the pool area at 7am and they were still working late on in the day setting up the outside dinning area at 6/7pm. Also a mention for the Cleaners and Gardener / Odd Job Man. and who could forget the reception staff full of local information and were very helpful and friendly Inc Fatima.

The Turkish night was well run with decent food and entertaining for £20, enjoyed it :D

For the overall cost it was a very nice stay and I am AWARE of where we stayed, Yes there is a hill but a taxi ride sorted that out. Kalkan itself is a very nice resort with the small harbour and the narrow streets, we was never really troubled with the Restaurants Greeters, just a simple "No Thank You" and received a "Okay, maybe next time, Enjoy your Evening"

I treat people how I would like to be treated, so maybe that is the problem with some guests?

Room Tip: #Apartment #204 has a Sea/Pool view.. I spend a LOT of time Morning and Evening here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel at 01.15am tired and hot after a 6 hour journey only to be told they had no apartment for us despite the fact that we booked 5 months earlier! They told us we had to stay at a nearby hotel for 4 nights until they could accommodate us bearing in mind we were only there for a week! Things got worse-the hotel we were sent to (Bella monte ) was a nightmare from hell,absolutely filthy and very basic,we spent one night there then left next morning, went back to samira and demanded that they sort us out. We never actually got to stay at samira,we were put somewhere else but worrying thing is it wasn't just us that this happened to, there were many people who suffered the same problem,they double book the hotel and leave unsuspecting holidaymakers without the holiday they paid for! Do not book the Samira Deluxe (not to be confused with the superior samira hotel and apartments in kalkan centre )the place is a disorganized joke!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the worst hotel I think I have ever stayed in! It's such a shame because Kalkan itself is a nice and quirky town!

First and foremost BE AWARE... Most of the people leaving positive reviews for this hotel are reviewing the WRONG HOTEL!!! There is a Samira hotel in Kalkan town which apparently is very good and is right in the heart of the town so no steep up hill walking etc. however, the Samira DELUX hotel is the one at the top of the hill. Cars can barely get up the hill and in the heat, it is extremely hard to climb up to it every day.

The hotel does have a very nice pool area, and the general cleanliness is good, however, it's at the top of a very steep hill, prices are VERY expensive at the bar, staff are EXTREMELY RUDE (on one night there was a massive punch up between staff in front of guests!!!!!), the free shuttle service to town doesn't turn up very often and when it does, it takes you 30 seconds down the road to a grocery store which the hotel owns!!! Convenient eh! Doesn't even take you near the town! Food orders get forgotten about, bills are always incorrect. We had a broken wardrobe in our room which we had to inform staff about 3 times before anyone bothered to do anything about. Lady on reception is extremely helpful, however she is only as good as the other staff which are absolutely useless (this is being kind). She instructed staff to fix our wardrobe and they just didn't bother until we complained hard.

We ordered a meal one night which took nearly 45 minutes to arrive!!! When it did, it was incorrect!!! When we had finished our meal, the staff ate the remainder of our food in front of us! Never heard the word Sorry in the whole 2 weeks we stayed there, despite the numerous mess ups!

Breakfast is rubbish and consists of bread, butter, melon and oats.

We ordered English tea one morning and we asked for milk which was not provided with the tea, the waiter nearly feinted when we asked for some milk. "You want MILK with your tea?!" He said. After explaining to him what an English tea was, be eventually provided a small amount of milk.

The minibar in the room doesn't exist and the hotel management don't allow you to keep your own food in the fridge in the room. Some other guests we were speaking to said that they requested something from the in room mini bar and the staff gave blank expressions and eventually they did send a member of staff to town to buy some tea and coffee which they duly tried to charge the couple an obscene amount of money for.

All in all, listen to the bad reviews, this place is hell... Don't waste your money or time on these amateurs!!!

Oh and if you're booking through Thomson, be aware that the reviews on their website are for a completely different hotel (utterly misleading). We are currently requesting a refund from Thomson for this holiday as it was utterly awful as far as the hotel goes! BOOK ELSEWHERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samira Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.