We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samira Resort to your Saves list
Samira Resort
Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

New modern hotel rooms, spacious and well-appointed. Air-conditioning good and very necessary as temperatures while we were there were very hot
Pool area excellent. Pool has been recently re-tiled and is a good size. Plenty of comfortable loungers (in June). Bar staff all very friendly and helpful. Restaurant there so lunches by the pool were lovely if a bit snacky. Salads lovely!
Turkish night once a week - EXCELLENT. Good value, brilliant show, delicious meal.
BUT.....a long way out of Kalkan which is very steep. Minibus runs in and out of resort 4 times daily which helps a lot, otherwise must use taxis unless very fit and active. Would not recommend for elderly od=r small children for this reason only, otherwise it is an excellent choice

Room Tip: lox=wer rooms stay coolest. Pool-side appartments noisy because bar stays open till last guest goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    80
    50
    15
    17
See reviews for
57
132
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

An excellent stay at the Samira, could find no fault, room cleaned daily, food excellent, staff could not have made us more welcome and could not do enough for us to make our holiday stress free and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The good - Fatima on reception is a star and very helpful. The rooms in the self-catering blocks are more than adequate and we had no issues with tiny and or leaking showers. They are cleaned daily. The pool boys are very attentive, although there does appear to be quite a turn over of staff. The room aircon is free. The pool is large, a great temperature and the entire pool area has been upgraded for this year. Late check out was available and reasonably priced

The bad - we didn't have much of a view. Not a wall, but not far off. There is no provision for drying clothes - never not had an airer before. The safety deposit boxes are £15 a week! The bar is quite expensive compared with town

The ugly - the bar staff. That is the staff behind the bar rather than the guys doing the rounds around the tables. Pretty rude and mono-syllabic. There may be 3 or 4 of them standing behind the bar but they wont shift to come and ask you what you want to drink. Then there is the total lack of any sort of control over what gets charged to your room. Nothing is signed for. We had a 160TL charge wrongly applied on our second day and it took several days and the intervention of the rep to get it removed.

This was a common experience for people that we spoke to. On protesting to the manager that it was unacceptable, he did assure us that the hotel was implementing better controls over the Summer - we will see. To my mind the tour operators should be more pro-active in demanding these controls as the hassle of arguing over bills meant that people were literally writing down everything that they had from the bar so that they had some sort of record

Some things you cannot change - the hill (which we quite liked walking up and down at least twice a day), the dogs...........

Would we recommend? As a hotel, yes. As a bar/restaurant, no. The lack of control over billing is a significant issue that needs to be addressed. Would we go back, probably not. There are prettier hotels than this at not much of a premium.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Serviced appts even though she said towels would be changed every 3 days we had clean towels daily. The inside of the aapts could do with a revamp. Had very pokr view of the wall at the back. Very nice pool and pool area. Not suitable for anyone wkth walking difficulties as the walk up is a killer. Not much going on in the bar when returning for a drink. Overall good value as seem to be cheapest accomodation on websites

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

we arrived during the afternoon after traveling for more than 12 hours, understandably tired to be shocked how far up the apartments/hotel looks compared to the rest of kalkan over the other side of the motorway (nothing like british motorways, you may see 3 cars on it at one time if you're lucky! don't be put off) we were expecting a sea view only to be given an apartment that had window views of a wall.. a balcony view of other balconies and to the side a slight view of the pool. once a decent nights sleep, we realised we really didn't have the worst view out of all... many face onto the wall with no view of anything else at all! (if you request another room, they will try their very best to get you moved asap! the other people we came with did this and was given a sea view within seconds). As for the Poolside bar the music is varied, they play a variety of music for all decades during the day as a chill out level! on a night it pretty much the same until about 11 where the music level does rise which many people did not appreciate especially if you have a seaview as it is hard to block out. The Staff are not all under 20's, it is a family run resort though none are under 25 at least!. The hill is not as bad as people describe it to be, we used the shuttle bus once.. which was pointless as it takes you over the motorway thats about it because thats how close the rest of kalkan is! we travelled on holiday with a disabled woman of which could not walk very far (around a small supermarket at a struggle) yet this hill was perfectly fine for them to walk down as it really is not that bad at all. There are a few dogs roaming the streets but definitely not in groups!! there very well behaved for mainly stray dogs as they will not come anywhere near you unless you ask them too! (most are not strays as the local vet along with the kalkan association tags, cares for and finds homes for the majority of the dogs within kalkan, many returning to the uk with new owners as tourists fall in love with them!)

The walk back up to samira resort is a killer during the day!! the most healthy people struggled to get up the hill during the day without at least one break. A taxi from the rank is 12 lira back to the resort which is really nothing at all if you have a few people sharing. On an evening/night the walk back up is fine... we did it on a regular basis with many bags full of litre bottles of water and were perfectly fine.

As for the showers in the apartments... they are varied! ours was huge, the other group stayed in the seaview apartment but had a very small shower with no room to turn the taps whilst in the shower! (beautiful view = smaller apartment).

Also, don't believe what the reps tell you on the first day! we like sailing boats and was told there wasn't any at the harbor so it would be best if just to book their large boat which fits up to 60 people per trip. we left it, went down to the harbor that evening to find so many sailing boats offering trips it was unbelievable... we booked with Korsan, returned on the day to have the whole boat to ourselves (which we thought would result in the trip being canceled, but instead had a nice relaxing boat trip and meal on our own privately run boat for the day! :D)

Supermarkets.... There is one just over the bridge as you walk out of samira, though only good for basics such as bottled water, bread and milk! there is a huge supermarket with anything you could think of for cheaper a little further down into kalkan (worth the extra 5 minutes walk).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was a very basic self catering apartment. The shower was so tiny, if you are taller than 6ft or bigger than a size 12 you have no chance! Never seen so many layers of filler round a shower basin to stop water leaking, however very good for mould growth. There isn't a safe in the room on the self catering side. You have to rent one behind the reception desk which was £25 for two weeks! The staff played the music they liked (under 20's) all day and night and was extremely loud. They were asked to turn it down by various people on many occasions. Watch out for drinks being added on to your bill. They always ask for your room number even if you pay cash and then they don't remove it from your bill. We saw people arguing this at reception and we experienced this at the poolside bar - you have been warned. Must go to ILyada for the ALmond Chicken and Mussaka for the Fillet steak with Plumb sauce. Go on Sun Set One for the best boat trip. The food was brilliant and very tastey.The dogs are a complete pest. They roam around in packs. We saw one attack a local, beware if you have children in buggies as these are at their eye level. Also cats everywhere and the locals feed both! This isn't good and could result in people not going to the lovely town of Kalkan.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked a self catering apartment at this resort through Thomson and arrived in total darkness close to midnight. We had paid for a sea view and on waking up the next morning in 204 were greeted with a beautiful view right out across the bay - just what we had hoped for!

The positives: Very clean, bins emptied daily except the first day. Lovely balcony that we spent a lot of time on. Air con in the bedroom was a blessing. Huge fridge to accommodate beer & food etc! Pool is spotless and (importantly for me, who swims every day at home) is quite large considering it's a resort.

The negatives: There was nothing that really put us off, just niggles really. The main one was the cookware. We were self catering and had 2 frying pans (no saucepans) which EVERYTHING stuck like glue to. It wasn't a massive problem in the end as the only thing we ever planned to cook was eggs for breakfast but each morning the eggs had to be chiselled off, and to be fair we did not complain or ask for replacements. The cooker is an oddity as I didn't realise until I came to use it that it is half gas and half electric; the gas bit does not self-ignite so you need matches, which aren't provided. As I said though it's half electric so I just used the one electric ring to cook the eggs, but beware if you need to use more than one ring! The shower is the thing I had the most issues with as it's absolutely tiny and to compound that it has a massive set of taps halfway down which impedes you moving around or bending down. It also has weird doors that slot together in an odd way which I never got the hang of and so I ended up flooding the bathroom most times that I used it! My husband had no problems though. But the shower size really is down to the space they had to work with, which wasn't a lot, so I don't blame anyone for it. The only other negative point though is the noise from the bar area. Our apartment overlooked the bar so a certain level of noise was to be expected but late at night it was too loud, and 9 times out of 10 it didn't look that busy! Once we closed all the windows you could hardly hear it and it didn't stop us sleeping.

We loved our apartment and we would happily stay there again. The sea view is worth paying a bit extra for in my opinion as some of the other apartments look out onto a wall! We can't comment on the resort's breakfast etc as we made our own; we did have a beer in the bar once but it was 10 lira for a large Efes and we didn't do that again as we could get them from the supermarket for 3.75 lira and drink them on our lovely balcony.

Now: the hill. The whole of Kalkan is built on one massive hillside and you just have to get on with it. At night it wasn't too bad but if returning during the day it was hard work and on the hottest days it was a case of breaking it up by walking to the next bit of shade and so on. We didn't get taxis but lots of people did. We never used the shuttle bus either as its times did not suit us and it didn't go anywhere convenient (apparently because there was a huge row with the taxi mafia). It's worth noting that you can walk from Samira to the town centre very easily but the walk back is particularly arduous if coming right from the harbour which is the very bottom of the hill.

We loved staying at the Samira and would stay there again. It was cheap, clean and more than adequate. If we stayed anywhere else it would only be because of the hill (seriously) and even then we could live with being so high up if need be - it was a small price to pay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samira Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.