We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Kalkan and loved the Villa (Four) at this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samira Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Samira Resort to your Saves list
Samira Resort
Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love Kalkan and loved the Villa (Four) at this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

3 time to Kalkan (still a mere novice compared to some but getting there slowly!!). Just love the place and this time stayed in the Villa's here. Fabulous and having the BEST pool in town as well (each Villa has a pool but only 5 m) was excellent. Also Turkish night on Thursday's is a MUST!!!
Thank you to all the staff who were fabulous and can't wait to come back. Sooner the better.

all the best
Mr and Mrs Hamer

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    80
    50
    15
    17
See reviews for
57
132
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Me and three of my friends have just arrived back from a week in Kalkan staying at the Samira Deluxe. Before we went we were a little worried, as we hadnt heard of Kalkan but found a really good deal so thought why not. Little did we know we would get so much for our money. The apartments are a really good size, air con is included at no extra price and a safety deposit box is also available for around £12 for the week. Samira Deluxe has a really good size pool which overlooks gorgeous views of its surroundings. The pool is cleaned overnight on a daily basis. Samira offers a 24 hour reception, the lady in the day is particularly helpful and very friendly. The staff around the pool are extremely helpful, nothing is too much for them. In particular Yusef the Bar Manager puts himself out to chat to you and make you feel extremely welcome. My only flaw on the bar is that everything goes on a tab, we woke up one morning to find extra drinks had been added to our bill, so worthwhile paying the bill on a day to day basis. The problem was resolved though by the Manager and nothing further was said.
We found the location of the hotel to be perfect. Kalkan has many steep hills however a short taxi ride into town costs around £4. Down near the harbour are plenty of gorgeous restaurants at really good prices and a couple more expensive ones that are certainly worth the trip, in particular Trio, Sade and Aubergine.
All in all we had an amazing holiday and cant wait to book up again for next year. Kalkan is a gorgeous place with lots to see. Our holiday was made that little bit more special staying at Samira Deluxe, with fantastic staff, gorgeous surroundings and beautiful food, its the perfect place to holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

There are good and bad points about the Samira deluxe apartments and things that seem bad but are ok. The views are excellent whether they be from the pool area or if you are lucky enough to get a balcony with a sea view, The self catering apartments spacious and even the older building block is smart and modern. The cleaners are working all day keeping the place tidy. Above average features are the huge fridge in the apartments, the free and very effective air conditioning in the bedroom and the satellite tv which shows many films and tv shows in English. The pool is big and has plenty of sun beds but can get crowded during peak times. The walk down to Kalkan can be a bit alarming at first as you seem to walk through a rubbish strewn building site. Having to cross and walk along a duel carraige way to get to town and the shops does seem a really bad idea, but it is a very quiet road and is safe as long as you keep your wits about you. The real danger comes from slippery and uneven pavements and high kerbs. also maniacs on scooters. The hill is a killer if you are loaded with shopping and it's hot, but you should look upon it as a challenge.. We never felt the need to get a taxi or minibus once.
The bad things about the Samira Deluxe are the foul smell in the toilet/shower room due to poor drains and no ventilation or extractor fan. Its really quite unpleasant as toilet tissue has to be placed in bins rather than flushed away and its gets very warm in there!!!! The shower although effective is probably not up to the standard you will be used to and not as good as the ones in the hotel rooms.
The major pain we found to be is the insistance that drinks and meals etc are charged to your room and not paid for in cash at the time. The reason they do this is obvious (you spend more) and some may prefer this, but the drawbacks are obvious as well. we refused to participate but still had stuff charged to our room and it took almost the fornight we stayed to get it sorted. Thanks to Tamsin our Thomas Cook rep who was brilliant throughout. So beware and check your bill daily as we overheard many people querying their bills. Also i agree with the comment in another review. The younger bar manager seems to be trying to turn the place into an 18-30 type resort with loud music and pool games.
Kalkan is a lovely lively town and is reminiscent of a cornish town but sunny! Good places to eat are Ali's (really good value set menu), Hankar kebabs and also the Samira does a good Lamb Shish. The Corner resaurant was lovely but a bit expensive. a disapppointment was Chillis as the food was greasy and bland, which was ironic given the name of the restaurant.

Room Tip: seaview is essential. 1 bedroom selfcatering apartments are good for 2, not 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Been home a week now and have really missed this place. Apartments very roomy and really clean. Air con was brilliant. Gorgeous view from our balcony. Pool area great, once again very clean and loads of loungers. Bar offered great choice at reasonable prices and all the staff were fab, so friendly and really helpful. Don't underestimated the hill, it's killer but taxis are reasonably priced and the free bus service that runs a few times a day was great and no hassle. We will be back! We loved this hotel and Kalkan itself was amazing!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are a young couple who have just returned from a week long stay at the Samira De Luxe, we stayed in the new hotel Block A... couldn't fault the room, very clean, powerful shower, always hot water, cleaners were lovely, fresh towels every day, reception staff esp. Fatima were lovely and were very helpful... breakfast was simple but nice... bread rolls, cheese and salad and a few cereals, drinks were at an extra charge... however, the air conditioning and the fridge within the room were at no extra charge

Staff were very friendly but i have to say very pushy about trying to make us attend Turkish night (as usual), even the manager... it's not our thing being forced to get up and dance, the waitors became very irritating and when we didn't go, the waitors weren't so friendly with us from then on but we've experienced this before elsewhere to be honest

The road in front of the hotel that some people mentioned is completed now and not too busy or hard to cross at all this time of year but we were slightly out of season (mid June), no need to mention the hill (although it is the reason why i didn't award the hotel 5/5)... after the first attempt of walking back from town you will be getting the taxi back :P (only around £4 each time, or if you're going around the time of the bus it is free but this is limiting as it is only 4 times a day)

Generally, this town is so much nicer than anywhere we've stayed in Turkey before, much less hassle-y and although it is chilled out there are still lively bars that stay open literally until sunrise (Mojito's :P) The harbour is very picturesque and there are some awesome ancient sites nearby (Patara, Xanthos, Letoon, Kekova and Myra) and we actually found it to be cheaper than other larger resorts we have stayed in in Turkey... would recommend the place and the hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have just come back from a lovely 2 week stay at the Samira Deluxe, our second time here. The rooms are lovely and clean the staff are very friendly. The only negative i have is, i mentioned it was my birthday and the bar staff said they would get a cake for me, i just shrugged my shoulders as i thought they didn't mean it. The Sunday before we left they did indeed bring out a cake and fire works and sang happy birthday, i thought this was really nice of them and myself and my partner bought the bar staff a drink to say thank you. When we got our final bill on our departure day, they had charged us 80 TL for the cake and fireworks, i said we didn't ask for this they offered, they just shrugged their shoulders and said nothing. ~I have heard of other people being caught like this there, they make out they are doing you a favour and then charge you for it. BE CAREFUL.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

On arrival (2am) we had a friendly greeting and got shown to our room, which was clean and adequate. The next day we decided to check out the pool/bar area, we had a very warm welcome by Josef and the rest of the staff, this was the level of service throughout our stay. The rooms were cleaned everyday and if we had any problems, they would be resolved helpfully and promptly, the only issues we had were; a softer pillow needed and where to turn the main hot water tap on! You can either pay for food and drink or add it to your bill at the end of the holiday.
The pool area and bar was immaculate, with a decent size pool, darts, 2 pool tables and some cool beanbags to chill on with an Efes and there was always plenty of staff available to help. The food was of a good standard and had a good range of drinks and cocktails. We decided to book to the Turkish Night, which is held every Thursday, theres a good choice of different turkish food to try and the entertainment was a belly dancer, who got us all up dancing and a group of traditional Turkish dancers, well worth doing.
We stayed for 10 nights, but could've easily stayed longer, this hotel might only be rated as a 3 star, but the service is definatley 5 star, would recommend this hotel for outstanding service, cleanliness and value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samira Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samira Resort

Address: Mentese Mah. Istiklal Cad. Cinar Sok. No:30 D:32, Kalkan, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city of myths, history and beauties, Antalya and one of the most entertaining holiday places of this city, Kalkan... In Kalkan embracing the unique appearance of the attractive blue of the Mediterranean, there is a facility at the world standards. Samira Resort converts your dream holiday into reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samira Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samira Deluxe Hotel And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samira Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.