We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zula Restaurant

Zula Restaurant
Hasan Altan Cad | 1. Sk No:8, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
+90 242 844 1520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 178 Restaurants in Kalkan
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Turkish, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Situated in a beautiful old stone house in the heart of Kalkan's Old Town ZULA RESTAURANT offers a delightful blend of traditional and contemporary food and design. The cuisine is Meditarranean inspired, combining traditional flavours with new, innovative dishes. Smell the inviting aromas of Eastern spices drifting from the kitchen, through the bar, out into the tranquil courtyard garden and up onto the stunning Terrace Restaurant. Our philosophy is very simple, - great food and a relaxing atmosphere in beatiful surroundings. Come and enjoy…
Spalding
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best for steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Enjoyed one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Huge thick piece of steak. Very attentive service, went there twice, would certainly use again if we go back to Kalkan.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    55
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely spot with great veggie options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Having walked past this restaurant several times last year the reviews on tripadvisor persuaded us to give it a go. We stopped by one lunchtime to book and they let us choose our table. Worth doing as the corner table has the best views. Definitely one of the better restaurants for veggies. I had lentil lasagne which was delicious but there were several appealing veggie options including a lovely-sounding fig and walnut salad, carrot burgers and an interesting-sounding courgette crock. Hubby had the day's special, fish stew, and said it was one of the best meals he's had in Kalkan. I'm only sorry we couldn't manage dessert but on such a hot night we just couldn't muster the appetite! Their homemade lemonade with ginger, mint, and cinnamon was divine and so refreshing though. Everything about this place was relaxed and understated from the greeter to the service. It deserves to do very well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Went back twice in three days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our second holiday in Kalkan and we already knew how good all the restaurants were - but we were still blown away by Zula's delicious dishes. We were a group of 4 adults, so we tried a wide variety of dishes and the fish was absolutely delicious - more so than the fish restaurants by the harbour. The filet steak's flavour and sauce were amazing but the fillet was slightly overcooked, which I reported to the gentle, lovely owner. If no one tells him how can he fix it? But I devoured my fillet steak (£13!!! Try finding it for that in the UK!) because the flavour was just excellent. As for dessert- you have to have the Hot Turkish Delight. Unusual and meltingly lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Worth seeking out this resturant, quality excellent. Guy out front not pushy and well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“charming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

we went here twice for lunch time and twice for dinner. We had home made burgers for lunch and homemade lemonade which was excellent. For dinner we had steak and lamb shank which were both excellent the boss is a lovely man and will describe things on the menu for you we had cheesecake and meringue for dessert we will definitely be back next time we visit kalkan

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zula Restaurant also viewed

Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 
Kalkan, Antalya Province
Kalkan, Antalya Province
 

Been to Zula Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zula Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.