We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* Hotel but still good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saturn Palace Resort

Save Saved
You added Saturn Palace Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saturn Palace Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kemeragzi Mevkii Lara, Antalya, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 225 hotels in Antalya
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not a 5* Hotel but still good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I have just returned from a 7night stay with my partner at the Saturn Palace 5* Resort in Lara Beach. After arriving late at night my first impressions were the hotel looked very nice at the end of a long line of luxury hotels in Lara Beach. We were shown to our room which we had upgraded to a jacuzzi suite which was on the 4th floor. We then had a look around and were pleasently suprised when the restaurant staff opened up for us to have some hot food which was nice. i would summarise the hotel as follows;

Rooms: Very nicely decorated and very clean with maid service daily. We had upgraded so the room was a little more spacious with a nice balcony. There is a tv but no english channels so its not worth turning on. The fridge is filled daily with free water but you have to pay for other drinks. The air con didnt work , and according to reception is because it wasnt hot enough. Overall the rooms are easily 4*.

Food: The hotel has 1 main buffet restaurant, a beach snack restaurant and an Italian a la carte restaurant. The buffet resturant gets very busy at dinner time and is a little bit like a school canteen, however there is plenty of choice and the food was fairly nice. The breakfast however is mainly continental so we missed it most days (it depends on your on personal preference i suppose). The beach was restaurant was nice and served some of the food from the buffet restaurant. You could also get ice-creams around the pool in the afternoon but when they were gone they were gone. I would highly recommend the a la carte restaurant, in all you get 6 courses which is served from a set menu and was very nice. The restaurant is nicely decorated and the staff are a little more friendly.

Drinks: The hotel has several bars, the main one being in the lobby. Most people sat in here at night as it was cold outside. The lobby bar is also the only bar where you can get all drinks. My partner drinks Malibu and this was only available at the lobby bar, this was a bit annoying if sat by the beach in the day, and i also found it odd that it wasnt available in the a la carte, but if you like vodka or whisky you can get these at all bars. The staff are mostly polite, however they tend to favour the German and Dutch guests before serving the English. One night i got so annoyed i complained to reception only to be told "if you dont like it why dont you stay in the Lara Beach Hotel where the English all go,"....Charming.

Location: The hotel is situated at the end of Lara Beach which i feel is still a developing resort. There are several shopping malls nearby but the goods arnt exactly a bargain. I also found it odd that there was not 1 bar or restaurant nearby, so you are therefore confined to the hotel even if you wanted to go out to eat, unless you get a taxi into Antalaya about 20mins away.

Pools: The hotel as 1 large pool which was alwas quiet in the day, 1 pool with slides where the entertainment and activities are held, with a bar next to it and also an indoor pool and spa. We spent a few days in the spa due to the poor weather, there is a nice sauna and steam room and we also had a massage package which was nice, and reasonable priced. The hotel also has a gym if you wanted to use it. The spa also supplies you with beach towels so i wouldnt bother taking any.

Entertainment: There was daily entertainment and also nighttime shows and themes nights which were fairly good. However most the entertainment was outside so if going in winter take somewarm clothes! The gala night was spectacular and the staff spent all day setting it up, there was also a nice firework display at the end.

Amenities: The hotel has free wifi in the reception area but it doesnt always work. There is also a jewellers, a clothes shop and a mini market. However the mini market was a bit of a joke as there prices changed daily when you went in as nothing is marked. The hotel cats are also rather friendly.

Overall: I would recommend this hotel as i felt it did give value for money however it is not 5*, maybe a 4 at best. The only thing that let this hotel down was the staff serving other guests first becausethey give a tip, which is a little rude i thought, and also the fact you cant get all variety of drinks at all the bars. The hotel was very clean, however i probable wouldnt return because i felt Lara was a fairly quiet resort with not much going on. If you just want to sunbath on the beach all day and dont mind waiting for your drinks then you will be fine here. Other then that i dont really have any complaints.

Tips:
*book a airport transfer before you go, the taxis arnt that cheap, i booked with suntransfers.com and paid 52 euro return
*book the ala carte restuarant when you arrive becaus it soon fills up, and you wouldnt want to miss out
*dont take any beach towels unless you want extra
*tip the staff at the start of the week - you may get a lot better service!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    52
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
134
58
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Just returned from a weeks holiday - Myself, husband, 2 children and mother in law. The hotel is at the very end of a swampy derelict area of Lara Beach (very smelly). On arrival we were greeted by the most obnoxious receptionist (answers phone whilst dealing with guests) we were then asked to wait in lobby while they decided which room we would be given, which then turned out be 8018 which contained 1 double bed and 2 single but as we were a party of 3 adults and 2 children they managed to sueeze another bed in reducing our space even more.

Food - Dreadful, cold, repetitive and prodcuced for the Germans. Breakfasts entailed fried eggs, cauliflower, stew, cereal that tasted like cardboard Oh and yes fly's everywhere!!!!!

Childrens club left alot to be desired the staff tried their best but english was not in their vocabulary (German Dutch and French they could speak) Pool very cold and hygiene was poor.

Evening entertainment was very good kids did enjoy disco and the acts that came on afterwards were great (big thumbs up for this) the spa and turkish bath also very good.

This was our first trip to Turkey and probably our last. In our opinion this hotel is to be avoided it may say 5 star but in reality more like a 3 star.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooler, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I have had a couple of days to think about this coz i want to be as fair as possible.
When you arrive at the hotel which is at the end of a line of beautiful hotels, so first impression is a bit of a let down. Even on entry its a bit of a let down for a 5star hotel, which this is not. If you go there with this in mind as we did then your in for a shock, it is maybe a 3star at best for sure.
On check-in, there was one guy at the desk who was checking us in and answering the phone and so, had to have words with him to concentrate on us and check us in (Turkish manners). The we have the room, ours was 3131, 1 double bed, 1single and a baby cot, that was the room full!, bath room was small also.
We were all inclusive, but that was not all as it seemed, our mini bar, 1coke,1sprite,and 2small juice and water, OK! the water was always free but if we wanted the other drinks topped up then we had to pay!!
A/C not always on, we asked the front desk, they told us "we only put it on when we think the weather is hot enough" So it works from 7pm to 4am. But you can hardly feel any cool air coming out of it.So it was best to open the slid door which unfortunately, we bitten by insect:(
The hotel and the pools were clean, but not spotless as a 5star should be.
Now then the food, if you like chicken, fish, burgers and chips then you will love the food.
But mind you, there were not real taste to it. It tasted the same every day.
We were 6nights, never any beef steak.
Breakfast was the same every day, even roast potatoes and Brussels sprouts for breakfast.
Lunch, chips and burgers, chips and burgers, chips, hot dogs and burgers, chips and burgers etc
Dinner, roast chicken every night, fish and so, almost the same every night, and the sweets, cake and cake and cake that were drowned in syrup, never any cream or ice cream to add to this.
Every day Kiddies meals was chip and tasteless spaghetti!
Also the outside tables, so were so close to the pool so if you have small kids then look out, also their was about 5 cats walking around the tables and even drinking from the pool.
The evening entertainment was good fun when it was done by the in-house team but when they had outside dancers in it was a bit dull, e.g. belly dancer was good to watch for the first 15 minutes but after the first hour its a bit dull!
After 5 days of Turkish none manners, dam right rude we were ready for home that's for sure. All very friendly until they have your money, but when things do not go to plan then.....Of course not were so bad mannered but so were very nice but it is always the bad that you remember.
Everything was so expensive, eg at the airport Burger king, a small coke 5€, Internet in the hotel was 6€per hour, up the road we got it for 1€ and in the city was 20p, if you have a laptop then i think it was free.
Here is a warning for you, there is a small shopping centre about 15 minutes walk from the Saturn, this is next to BaiaLara hotel, there a travel shop there, quad bikes and bus trips and so on DO NOT BOOK THERE, a total rip off, not just me on the quad bike tour but i also heard from another guest about a bus tour they had, so stay away, you have been warned, i even got the police involved in experience, but they had covered themselves so well that the police could do nothing.
I never try and buy any designer clothes there because you will never know if they are originals or copies as they are everywhere.

So i think if you want to stay in Lara maybe for better value i would go for one of the other hotels in the line and give the Saturn a miss, or maybe give Turkey a miss full stop!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010 via mobile

Having just spent a great week at thus hotel with my wife and 2-year old daughter, I can say that this hotel ticked all the boxes.

- Food: excellent quality and variety, with 3 buffet meals per day and each dinner having a different theme. More than enough choice for even the fussiest eaters.

- Facilities: two pools, several waterslides and just a few minutes walk to the private sand beach. The pool water was icy but the sea water was wonderful to swim in.

- Rooms: we opted for a sea facing room with a jacuzzi which was very good and spacious. We had issues with the air conditioning as the rooms get quite hot at night and the air con does little to relieve this. After trying to fix it several times, the maintenance team eventually gave us a fan which worked fine.

- Location: Antalya seems to be a city of resorts built out of nothing, so there are vast amounts of barren land between the various resorts, with nothing much to see. This hotel is a 25 min drive from the airport, which itself it actually very impressive.

- Weather: we arrived on 5 Oct and the weather for the week was consistently sunny and in the high 20s.

Some handy tips for travellers:

1. Everyone entering Turkey needs to buy a visa sticker when you arrive at the airport, so check online for the relevant charges and be sure to carry the right amount of change.

2. Take Euros with you - the locals tend to deal in this currency.

3. Taxis to and from the airport are a rip-off (around €45). We found a cheaper one (€30) at www.traveltaxis.com.

4. Don't bother taking beach towels - these are provided at the resort.

5. Be sure to get to the airport for your return flight really early - they check all your luggage at security as you enter the airport and this takes time.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Returned from a sun-filled 2 weeks at Saturn Palace and would highly recommend it, like you I read all these reviews before my trip and can only agree with all the positive comments others have made.

As a couple in our mid-twenties, we were thrilled by the range of facilities, entertainment and the high sandards of food. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard the maids are also nice, they made swans and flowers out of our towels and the bed sheets and also they never walked by you without saying 'morning' or 'hello' , balcony with pool and sea view, especially the room with a jacuzzi in the terrase you just feel like your in heaven.

Food is endless , lots of choice and no upset tummies. Plenty of places to eat and drink and the of high quality. Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing week away and would happily go back and wouldn't have two thoughts about it!

I hope this was helpful and I hope you pick Saturn Palace

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

In my opinion this is an excellent hotel, probabley the best holiday we have had, the food, the service, the entertainment was simply suberb. Beautiful well kept gardens, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very spacious and clean. The love night was very romantic for me and my husband, evey one made us feel very special and the fire works was amazing. will definately go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Saturn Palace resort is a fantastic hotel that i would definately reccomend to everyone. i would describe the hotel mainly as a family hotel but there is something appealing to all age groups. There are two swimming pools; a relax pool where its quiet and an entertainment pool where there are water slides, music, and entertainment from the animation team. The hotels entertainment schedule is really loaded which means there is absolutely no time to get bored! There are amazing special nights in the hotel such as love night, gala night, four seasons foam party, beach party and turkish night. Special care for children was shown in the mini club and a mini disco was held every night for them. The hotel was clean overall and the rooms were spacious and comfortable ideal for familes with children.
Food was no problem in the hotel as there was something to eat all day; breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main restaurant and also things to eat at the pool bar and beach bar. The Italian ala carte restaurant was delicious which i would surely reccomend.
The area of the hotel was close to good shopping malls and regular services was available to get there. Overall Saturn palace was a good experience for me and my family where we had a relaxing and an entertaing holiday and would definately want to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saturn Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saturn Palace Resort

Address: Kemeragzi Mevkii Lara, Antalya, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#7 Family Hotel in Antalya
#11 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saturn Palace Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Saturn Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturn Palace Hotel Antalya
Hotel Saturn Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saturn Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.