We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with great shows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Club Marine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Club Marine to your Saves list
Amara Club Marine
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cifte Cesmeler Mah. 3 Beldibi Ataturk Cad., Antalya 07985, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 227 Hotels in Antalya
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A nice place with great shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The club is located in a very nice place. You see green everywhere. Surrounded by trees and lovely colored flowers. Every night there is a show -not cheesy stuff, real good performers, coming from China, Kenya, Brazil, etc.
All inclusive. You can eat and dirink 24 hours a day. The animation team is very friendly. Everyone can find something to do here. You can spend a great holiday if you don't care about the Russian people, and their loudness.
p.s: Italin food and the sea food restaurants are highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    56
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
110
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I went to this hotel with my partner, 2 year old son and my parents in October 2010. I have been meaning to write a review for some time but have only just got round to it.

Once we booked the hotel I continued to read the reviews, and I must say we were a bit concerned with some of the negative comments. I for one like to go on holiday and relax and enjoy excellent surroundings and excellent food especially when a lot of money is spent.

On arrival (late in the evening) we attended the front desk reception. We were warmly greeted by the staff however they did appear intrigued that we were not Russian, Polish, Lithuanian, Turkish, German or Dutch.

We were promptly escorted to our accommodation by one of the bell boys. This was fine with no issues – few lira tip as per usual.

The rooms were clean, tidy and functional. TV – loads of channels to choose from but not masses of English channels although they were there if you hunted around.
The bathrooms were clean, tidy and functional with plenty of hot water.

Our two rooms were situated about half way from the main entrance to the pool area. This was ideal as you don't get the evening entertainment noise – so no complaints there.

The accommodation is set in well maintained gardens. The grounds were extremely clean with an array of various different plants and flowers.

Food

Well what can I say – there were five of us in total, all with different palates.
The food in this hotel is absolutely fantastic. We were amazed with the variety and selection of food. The food was superbly fresh and tasted extremely good. The food ranged from meat dishes, fish dishes, vegetable dishes, pasta dishes, salads, fresh herbs, BBQ dishes and so on. Even the usual pizza, sausage chips etc. For breakfast there were cereals, lovely fresh bread, danish pastries and yoghurt as well as hot breakfasts and continental break – pretty much anything you could think of.

Admittedly the food is not necessarily geared up for the English and was aimed more towards the Turkish, Russian and eastern Europeans tastes. But saying this I cannot understand why anyone wants to go to a foreign country and eat English food – if this is the case why bother abroad going at all?

Swimming Pool

The two swimming pools were very clean and very inviting. The pool temperature was on the cool side but then we did go at the end of the season. The pool closest to the beach had 3 water slides - these were a great hit with the kids there.
Be warned though if you sit around the top pool expect to be harassed by the Russian reps attempting to get people involved in the pool activities. The top pool is noisy with music and games so avoid if you want to lie and relax.

There are various bars at the complex and all offer a good service and an array of drinks including your favourite cocktails.

Beach

Firstly it is the usual thing with sun beds - get there before breakfast and put your towel out to claim your spot.
The sea is very clean and warm – a lot warmer than the pools. Snorkelling is a must as there are plenty of fish to see, especially if you smuggle some bread out of the dining hall at breakfast time.

There is a water sports jetty to the far right of the beach offering the usual water sports.

The beach itself is clean however it is slightly let down by the sand or lack of it. The sand is more like a fine grey builders gravel. Did not bother us a great deal but no good for making sand castles.

For swimming in the sea I would strongly suggest wearing an old pair of beach shoes to help you get over the stones / pebbles into the water.

Night Life

The hotel offers various entertainment in the evening from acrobats, dancers, shows, singers and musicians.
There is kiddies entertainment earlier on in the evening which does not go on too late.
After the main entertainment ends at approx midnight there is a club on site – did not go so can't comment.

The evening entertainment is mainly presented in Russian due to the large amount of Russian and eastern European guests. This did not concern us whatsoever as most of the music and songs played or sung were English.

Staff

The staff were professional and polite. It was very much of a behaviour breeds behaviour situation as you will see from the next topic. On the whole we were very pleased with the treatment we received from the hotel staff. They are very good and friendly with children too.
You will find that if you give a small tip in the evening when sitting around the pool watching the entertainment they will be very attentive and ensure that you don't have to wait long for the next drinks order.

Hotel Guests

On our stay we were the only English group in the resort. To start this seemed odd however as time went on it was extremely refreshing not to hear the English language although if you were a couple on your own you may find it a bit odd with no other people to hold a conversation with.
Staff were surprised to hear that we were English as they have very few English people at the hotel.

One thing we did notice is that the Russian and eastern European guests are such a stern race. So much so that their manner is what we would note as rude. They would speak to the staff like slaves and bark their orders at them.
We found if you speak to the staff like a human being they treat you in a like minded fashion.

Many an evening there we made it a game on our table to spot the Russian with the longest face – bull dogs chewing a wasp was the perfect saying.


Health Spa

During our stay we all treated ourselves to the on site Spa Centre. Very nice treatment and massages, recommended but expensive!

Money

Turkey has its own currency (Turkish Lira) – forget it - definitely take euros as everything is priced in euros, even at the airport and at the shops outside the resort.

Overall

Excellent holiday – would go back but in a group due to lack of English Guests.
Food excellent – Rooms Good – Beach is nice (needs real sand though !)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

luckily it was only me and my husband on this holiday as the kids would have been bored stiff !!! we were the only english people in the whole hotel it was full of Russians !! the entertainment was all in russian the reps were russian so we felt very alone here !!! This is meant 2 be a first choice hotel well it wasnt and will never go back again !!! The russians were so rude didnt no how 2 queue for nothing just pushed right to the front and the turkish people who worked in the hotel were ok not very friendly just if they got to know you !! will not be going back EVER !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I visited this hotel in August with my 2 children aged 13 and 11 and found it to be located in a beautiful place surrounded by mountains, well worth the hour bus trip from the airport. On arrival I was greeted with a glass of champagne and the kids were offered soft drinks whilst reception sorted out our room. Once in my room I found it to be a double when I had requested twin beds. The reception staff were very helpful and quickly found the correct room for us and arranged for our luggage to be bought to the room. The sofa bed in the room is a single sofa bed which my 13 year old slept on although the beds were hard we did ask for additional duvets and bedding which housekeeping were more than happy to supply. The tv in the rooms are all russian speaking channels apart from 2 which we managed to find. One of these was a movie channel with russian subtittles the other was BBC World Service.
The dining room experience was always eventful as very few people spoke english, everyone pushed and the choice of food was minimal for the english. The food is definately catered for the russians even the few turkish people we met and spoke to said that this was also the case.There was always chips and spaghetti bolognese on offer for dinner for the kids but little else! The breakfasts were good though as you have an enormous choice of pastries, fruit, bread, omlettes and salad!
No trips are offered from this hotel unless there are more than 8 of you in a group we found out as sadly they wont the run trips.
Please be aware that this hotel has a russian owner which probably explains why there were 99% russians there and very few english. The english people did all tend to stay together though. If you are a non smoker like I am be prepared to always have someone lying next to you on the sunbeds that smokes or very close by as they all seem to smoke. This is also the case I noticed at all the restaurants.

This hotel was lovely and the pools and entertainment were fantastic but they are really not ready for the english yet! If you are thinking of visiting the Amara Club only go for a week and get it on a deal if you can as I personally feel it cost alot of money and it wasn't worth it for an all inclusive resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

What a fantastic place. Just returned after 2 weeks A/I with my wife and 5 year old, we will be going back, probably with friends.

The room might be a little tired and, I agree with others, the beds were not the most comfortable, but the air con was good, and the complimentary mini bar was a nice touch.

Food choice in the main restaurant was excellent, for all meals. Even better were the A La carte restaurants which you can visit once each per stay. We went to the Turkish and Fish restaurants, both were excellent.

Pools were both very good, our 5 year old learnt to swim in them so we will always have a special memory of them. She then progressed onto the water slides, which were also very good.

Entertainment, very good. The outside shows were of an excellent standard (Chinese Circus and Brazilian Samba/acrobatic show), but also the Animation team shows were clearly well thought out, rehearsed and executed. The hotel animation team have a kids club, where they will entertain your little ones, but there is also a First Choice Kids Club on site, which was fantastic. 1100 - 1300 and 1400 - 1600 hrs most days, with some evening activities too. Well thought out with freezing cold air con and friendly staff.

The Hotel staff were all extremely friendly, especially after a couple of small tips to grease the wheels.

The only real down side, which is not within the control of the hotel, are the other guests. this place is set very firmly in the area of Turkey dominated by the Eastern European market, particularly the Russians. To say that they are rude would be a massive understatement. People will ignore the fact that you are already being served, push past you and demand service from the bar staff, who they seem to see as lower class citizens, there only to pander to their every whim. You will never hear a 'please' or 'thank you', simply a shout of 'Vodka' in a stern voice. I am very laid back, but found this extremely annoying and rather unnecessary, as the staff bend over backwards to help.

What seems apparent is that certain guests think that they are owed a service standard, even when others are already being served, the problem is that because they are very forceful, the staff often capitulate, offering you an apologetic smile. Bar staff worthy of a mention though, Tuncay, Ogun and Ahmet, all extremely friendly and chatty. The cocktails are all fresh made, if you are freindly back they will even crush the ice for the Mojitos 9instead of ice chunks) and you might just get the odd Branded short, instead of locally produced :-)

We were told that Thomson/First Choice will be pushing this hotel big time for next year (they only bought it onto book this year). If this is true they will need to think about how they market it and to what target audience. The last thing anyone wants is confrontation down to bad manners so maybe some insight during welcome briefs would be advisable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

A very green, wide spread resort, with all the accomadation set out in house blocks surrounded by endless amounts of trees ,shrubs and bushes. But don't let this totally put you off as it was well maintained and very clean.We stayed in a twin room, which was very basic ans quite small, but adequate.I would suggest trying to get a family room, which has seperate rooms. The Air conditioning was very poor, and was always warm in the room, which is not what you need after sitting in 40 degrees all day. The pools where good, especially for the Kids and where very clean, and there was plenty of pool bars available. The jetty is a good place to sun bathe due to the constant breeze it seems to attract, although its No good if you have small children. The main restaurant yet again seemed to lack decent Air-con, and we where constantly sweating every time we ate in there, I would suggest going into the Blue Bar for 30 minutes before eating as this place was like a Fridge ( Probably the only place to get away from the Heat). The staff where generally Ok, although some where very rude, unless your Russian. Make sure , if you have young children .that you take them to the First Choice Kids club as its like a Fridge and it gets them out of the heat for a couple of hours ( Only British kids are allowed, which was reassuring and the Staff were very good with them ). To sum up, The rooms are basic, like the food, very clean, staff hospitality was very average, mainly accomodating towards Russians and Air con was poor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Well where do we start. Initially we thought this was a great hotel. With lots of amenities, clean rooms, huge food choice and lovely pools and setting. However, after trying to sleep on the rock hard bed for a week, things appeared a little differently. The waiters (mainly Turkish) were wonderful and truly relished being thanked and spoken to as human beings as most of the guests (being Russian) were too rude to even acknowledge they existed.
We experienced this first hand from a member of the animation team (also Russian) when we took our 5 year old to join in with the mini golf session. When asked what nationality we were he turned to another Russian hotel guest and started laughing.
We didn't feel inclined to join in any further organised activities and felt very much the outsiders. However thank goodness for the wonderful First Choice kids club girls Steph and Michelle who were wonderful with our little boy. Although we mentioned that the food choice was huge it was very much geared towards the Russian palate. You are able to book to eat at 3 different a la carte restaurants during your stay, but after queueing for 3/4 of an hour one morning, behind only 8 people we were informed that the fish restaurant was miraculously fully booked already and that we should be there at 10am (Which we were) to get a table. Spa prices are incredibly changeable also according to your nationality!!!!!! Anyway won't be visiting again, at least for a few years when they finally decide whether they want us there or not.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Club Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Club Marine

Address: Cifte Cesmeler Mah. 3 Beldibi Ataturk Cad., Antalya 07985, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Antalya
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#19 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#20 Family Hotel in Antalya
#26 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amara Club Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amara Club Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Club Marine Hotel Antalya
Amara Hotel Marine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Club Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.