We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... proceed with caution – particularly in hot weather ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterra Art Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mediterra Art Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mediterra Art Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barbaros Mah. Zafer Sok. No:5 Genclik, Muratpasa, Antalya 07100, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 227 hotels in Antalya
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“... proceed with caution – particularly in hot weather ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The advertising description and photos suggest that as an Old City establishment the decor and presentation of the Mediterra Art Hotel provide a particular charm and character.
It does – but not quite enough to match the promise of that advertising ... and not when the weather is very hot.

Cleanliness – score 3/5
 In a Superior Room, there was mould around the edges of the jacuzzi where it joined the wall
 The floors of the stairs and landings (all dark timber) often showed obvious dirt

Location – score 3/5
 From a tourist perspective the hotel is well sited, probably about the geographic middle of the Old City. So Hadrians Gate, the Clock Tower, Tophanme Park, the Old Harbour, the Harbour Beach are each no more than 10 minutes walk away. But ... the walk down to the harbour is very steep – and the walk back up seems steeper particularly in hot weather. There is no footpath, so there is need to be alert to vehicles.
 A taxi rank (operating 24/7) and a convenience store (open long hours) are each within a 100 yards walk.
 Restaurants, bars, and market traders are all located close by
 There are no ATMS within the Old City. The nearest ATMs (4 of them) are opposite ‘Miami Doner’ which is directly across the tram line from the Clock Tower

Rooms – score 2/5
Based on having occupied a Superior Room – which in size and appearance was very different to any of the photos used in the hotel advertising.
 Our room was small and very dark – timbered floor, some timbered wall paneling, and very heavy drapes. The furnishings and general decor seemed ‘heavy” and the heat build up in the room accentuated this feeling.
 Our room faced east into the central courtyard, which meant no street noise (and minimal impact from the morning call to prayer from nearby mosque.
 Our room air-conditioning was provided by an individually controlled unit above the door. This unit was barely able to keep up with the demands of very hot days and very hot nights. It seemed that the siting of the air-conditioner was inappropriate to the size and shape of the L shaped room.
 The room safe was located on the bottom shelf of the wardrobe. To access it required kneeling on the floor and even in the daytime having to use a torch to get enough light to read the dial
 The doorstop in the bathroom was inconveniently located right where one needed to step out of the jacuzzi .. making this a hazardous process.
 The entrance way to our room was so dark that it was extremely difficult to fit our key into the lock to open the door ... even in the daytime.

Service – score 3/5
 The staff seemed a bit tired and a bit disinterested (perhaps a combination of working very long hours and nearing the end of a long hot tourist season?). But all of them seemed to brighten up and lighten up at an attempt to speak very basic Turkish (‘hullo’, ‘please’ ‘thank you’) to them.
 The hotel has a pool (and is within easy reach of the beach) – but does not, as a matter of course, provide swimming towels. They do however exist if you ask at reception for ‘yellow towels’. There is no cost to obtaining these towels
 At reception there are a large number of voluminous folders offering a variety of tour brochures and lists of things to see and do et al .... but this material is all in German.
 The advertised cost of a hotel arranged transfer to/from the airport was 40 Eur per person. The taxi fare for 2 passengers for the same journey was only 20 Eur.
 The price of a 500ml bottle of water from the nearby convenience store (located within sight of the hotel) was 0.25 Eur. The price of the same size bottle in the hotel was 4.0 Eur.

Sleep Quality – score 2/5
Based on having occupied a Superior Room.
 There were no spare pillows.
 Unfortunately the bed was located in the most airless section of the room i,e, furthest from the overworked airconditioner.

Presentation – score 2/5
 The pool directly abuts the restaurant and some of the tables are sitting on the edge of the pool. So if you swim, you are seeming to do so almost in the restaurant. Unless you sit in the restaurant you can’t actually sit by the pool
 There was no air-conditioning in any of the public areas – so dining in the restaurant was unpleasant if no breeze.
 The rooms are located on levels 1 and 2 .... there are no elevators, and the stairs are quite steep
 Often the front desk was unmanned, so unauthorised access to the rack of room keys by anyone off the street would be easy enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MustafaAYDIN, Guest Relations Manager at Mediterra Art Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Thank you for your review. We would like to point out as the Hotel Management; The comments, very important to us, you see the details ,your ideas and our shortcomings with our hotel for the better day by day. Compensate for all the mistakes that we would like to state first of these comments.We modified the all conditions according to this review. But note that sometimes misunderstandings can be some issues in our presentation. I would like to correct some points in the interpretation of our guests here;

1. Private Airport transfer fee per vehicle per way, not per person € 40.00. (Distance 12 km.)
2. Our hotel (keys) and art gallery are protected by cameras.
3.No elevator, Because the hotel was restored 250 years ago and Mediterra Art stays loyal Original verbatim.
4. The pool may seem a bit small but the pool is one of the region's largest pools. In addition, It's size fair enough for the capacity , Also by entering the swimming pool to enjoy the authentic atmosphere, are not widely available among other places.
5. Water price 500ml. bottle is 1.00 (€ 0.50) and did not increase any time.
6. There are lots of books and information about Antalya in English at the library and on the coffee tables in the lobby.

With All Respect

Mediterra Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    133
    55
    17
    11
See reviews for
61
230
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The best of this hotel is the location, in the middle of the Old City, which is the big attraction of the city.
This hotel seems to be a traditional home renewed and transformed in a boutique hotel, everything was great.
Just didn't like the big signs prohibiting to take any kind of drinks to your room (so the hotel can sell it 3 times more expensive).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We booked this holiday as a romantic get away but what we got can only be described as the worst holiday we have ever had.

I guess it all depends on what you feel makes a good holiday but for us the hotel facilities, food and the location are all important. To this end, we decided upgrade to a 'Superior' room to ensure we would not be disappointed with the accomodation. Having started from home at a very early time for a 7am flight we were looking forward to getting settled in, having a shower and exploring our surrounding. What we got was to be told that there was a problem with over booking and we would have to go to another room for one night and they would try and get us into our correct one the next day.

To say the room they gave us was small would be an understatement, it was horrid. The shower room was tiny the light bulbs broken and it could have done with a dam good clean as there was black mould around the edges. The curtains did not fit the window and there wasn't any place to put a suitcase or to get around the bed easily, also the drains stank. We of course let the reception know how we felt , but we were told there were no other rooms available, even if we paid for a suite, we were not happy, but decided to see what they were going to do for us the next day.

This turned out to be a slightly better room, but still a good clean would have been nice and we had to get them to change the sheets as the ones they had put on the bed were stained, we also had to ask for towels, also again the drains stank. This turned out to be such a noisy room as the outlook was onto the street, and as they are such narrow roadways and the roof has an overhang like a Swiss chalet, all the noise was magnified and echoed all night long, even people talking and cars and bikes going through was unberable. Together with the bar around the corner who's singer didn't shut up till 1am, the VERY loud call to prayer at 5am, the dustbin lorrys at 5.30, the bakery oven just down the road starting at around 5am and the fumes of the parafin exfixiating us, you can guess we got very little sleep and it wasn't very romantice.

We had booked half board but the food was very poor both for breakfast and the evening meal with which you had a choice, set meal or nothing. The meals were very much the same each day, soup, rice every day with some kind of meat and veg, and a sweet of grapes, melon or such other things that took no cooking. Dont book meals, eat out if you have a choice.

The old part of the town is very nice, with some very nice people, but not enough for us ever to consider going back. Some of the staff are very good, but over all I would recommend you spend your money on another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MustafaAYDIN, Manager at Mediterra Art Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
We provided for the guests the best. Only just one thing which is for our fault; Because of the techinical problems We could not assign our deluxe room for first night for them and We suggest them free drinks instead of it at the same value, then They admitted. Next day We gave them one of the favourite honeymoon deluxe room which there is otantic fire place in it.
Our Half Board concept is every day changing set menu ; 6 Kind of Meal : Beginner Soup, Appetizers, Main Meal , Dessert (A la carte Service) in Cheaper Price than everywhere outside Hotel. If Our HB guests would like to have other meal , the meal is costed in reasonable price.
We kindly serve them and We are improving our hospitality day by day.
Thanks
Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We selected the Meditetta Art hotel based on previous reviews and it livd up to our expectations. We are so glad that we decided to stay in Kaleci as opposed to the 5 star beachside hotels. This hotel is an excellent base for exploring Kaleci part of Antalya. It is close to great bazaars, restaurants and the old harbour is only 10 minutes walk away. The hotel was very quiet and the sleep quality was good. We ate our evening meal in the restaurant on 2 occasions and it was very good. Murat and the staff were always very helpful with any assistance we needed.
We would recommend this hotel for anybody seeking to explore old Antalya.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I don't think the people on the previous review stayed at the same hotel as us , I suppose some people expect more than others!! We stayed at the Medittera Art for 2 weeks, and it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We highly recommend this hotel. From the moment we walked through the door, we were met and welcomed with a smile. All the staff were so kind and helpful, always smiling and willing to help. (thank you Murat!) The food is delicious, and always served with a smile! (thanks, Mustapha & Sepi?) The hotel is a little gem in the heart of old Antalya (Kaleici). The atmosphere around the hotel is very relaxing and calm, we came home feeling thoroughly recharged!! The garden and pool area is beautiful, a good place to relax.
There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops around the old town, and even though we spent two weeks there, we still kept finding little streets to explore. Nearby private beach is also lovely, more helpful people working there.
It was our first time in Turkey and I think we chose the best place ever. If you go to Kaleici, book the Medittera Art Hotel- you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

After the reviews, both on TA and The Lonely Planet, we were expecting a boutique hotel. This is not. The rooms are minute - we had what can only be described as a single room with a double bed squeezed into it. The bathroom was very tired - horrid tiles, needed cleaning & revamping. The public areas are attractive (pool/reception etc) but in need of a good clean. Breakfast was basic, disappointingly there was no fresh coffee or orange juice.
To compound our disappointment the pillow my partner dragged from England was removed from our room ... when we requested it's return we were told it had been given to someone who had requested another one! Very odd ...
We had booked half board but after supper on the first night decided to eat out (we were very glad - see review on Vanilla Lounge).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MustafaAYDIN, Manager at Mediterra Art Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thanks the review,
Our diner time is between 07:30-09:30 p.m
The Guests came the diner 09:40 p.m Eventough We prepared something to eat for them. According their review Next day, They had the diner in other restaurant without say anything but They missed most delicious meals at this area.
Our every rooms are in original autentic atmosphere and our every rooms have got the standart sized. And Also we have the Deluxe Rooms What The guests can easily upgrade the room in small prices to stay more luxurious.
Thanks
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsterlang, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Really good hotel, small, nice and a lot of atmosphere!

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterra Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterra Art Hotel

Address: Barbaros Mah. Zafer Sok. No:5 Genclik, Muratpasa, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Antalya
#33 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#34 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterra Art Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to be away from the stress of city life and to have an enjoyable journey while you are strolling amongst old houses surrounded by high walls? Welcome to Antalya, which has become the host of various civilizations since the Stone Age to Bronze Age and various empires such as Lycia – Persia – Roman Empire – Pergamum – Byzantium – Seljuks – Mongolian Empire – and Ottoman Empire. Mediterra Art Hotel is located in Kaleici –Antalya which is surrounded by ancient city walls which was formerly called Attaleia (159 – 138 B.C). Kaleici has 2000 years’ history and has preserved its identity since then. Mediterra Art Hotel is formed by three buildings and has been renovated by means of Ottoman architecture including ancient fireplaces, hand-made doors and wardrobes. An Ottoman tale….. Mediterra Art Hotel welcomes you with 26 inviting rooms, 9 deluxe, 1 super deluxe Suite and 16 standard rooms all en-suite. We have the Free High Speed WiFi, LCD TV, Satellite TV, Air conditioned, Mini bar, Music, Telephone with direct connection, Internet, Safe, en-suite bathroom with hair dryer, 24 hour room service and fire alarms in our every rooms. Let the moonlight cheer you up while you are chatting and enjoying the authentic tastes. Art Gallery: Mediterra Art Gallery was opened by a crowded group of participants who are interested in Fine Arts on 1st of May 2010. Its historical atmosphere provides an excellent opportunity to feel pleasure during the exhibition. The Hotel was activated in August of 2007, before the ruins of a mansion with 200 years of history to its original look, achieved as a highly modern life has found. "Art" word is in the hotel name comes from 150 years old of a very special original hand-made ceiling decorations in the restaurant. Mediterra Art Hotel serves to both guests and visitors together with superior service in Historical and Modern place. Mediterra Art Gallery welcomes you from 10.00 to 18.00 hours everyday during all year round. In our indoor and an outdoor restaurant you can enjoy international and traditional cuisine. Our bar is always at your service. As soft as velvet… Enjoy the Turkish sunshine on the patio by our pool and you can have a chat or enjoy reading a book in peace. Make your dreams come true… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mediterra Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterra Art Antalya
Hotel Mediterra Art

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterra Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.