We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the hotel to stay in Kaleici!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterra Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterra Art Hotel to your Saves list
Mediterra Art Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barbaros Mah. Zafer Sok. No:5 Genclik, Muratpasa, Antalya 07100, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 232 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is the hotel to stay in Kaleici!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Went to Antalya for official matters and extended a few days for leisure. We had to make last minute changes to the hotel accomodation arrangement (due to the official matters)and as a result of these changes, we decided to change hotels during our stay in Kaleici to save cost. I had come across good reviews about this hotel on tripadvisor and after personally checking out on the hotel, decided to give this hotel a try and we were very glad with our decision- this was the best hotel which we had stayed in Kaleici. The hotel manager and the other staff were helpful and provided excellent and personalised service. They all spoke good English and we had no problems communicating with them. They were very patient in answering our queries. We were given one of the very pleasant and newly renovated rooms. We thought the room space was ample and the room was very comfortable. We also tried the ala carte dishes at the restaurant and the food was good and very reasonably priced. I can't comment on the breakfast since we had to leave early on both days but the hotel had specially packed breakfast for us. Free wifi was available and connection was good. I think there was also a computer near the reception for guest use. This is a unique, elegant and homely hotel which is made even more extraordinary by its outstanding management team and staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    147
    58
    18
    11
See reviews for
64
246
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eltham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Our standard room was very small, no room for even a chair, bathroom only big enough for one and no bath. They are furnished traditional Turkish style with dark wood ceilings, doors, floors and furniture. This makes the rooms feel even smaller, especially as the windows are small. There were some minor irritations too, the soap dispenser leaked all week and two of the curtain tie-backs were broken and a light switch didn't work. One or two cobwebs spotted too. Having said that, for what we paid - via travel republic - we felt that we got good vfm, but do not expect 5* luxury. There are some larger rooms available, however. Agree with previous reviewer's comments about the curtains - 'mind the gap!' The communal areas were pleasant, [we had an orange tree outside our bedroom window], two of the deckchairs were broken and there are very few sunbeds, which can be a problem if the hotel is busy. The pool is very small, and freezing. I would not recommend the hotel for families with small children as there is nothing for them to do. The breakfast was basic, no fruit, instant coffee and orange squash, but we ate well on fresh bread, eggs, delicious tomatoes and yoghurt. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The internet was upgraded whilst we were there which improved the connection. To summarise, on the whole this hotel has got it right, but they just need to pay a bit more attention to small details.
We were on B&B so didn't eat in the hotel, other than breakfast, so cannot comment, however the food looked ok and the ambience was pleasant - drinks prices are slightly higher than outside the hotel. There is a restaurant called Vanilla - on the same road as the Al pasa hotel - just up the hill, a few steps from the hotel. We loved it! And ate there at least 3 times, the food and service is superb and the prices excellent vfm. [And that's from someone who has done a lot of excellent London restaurants], it's run by an English chef and his Turkish wife. There is also an open cafe called Lal, near the fluted minaret, which is family run, very friendly and excellent value for money. A really pleasant spot to enjoy lunch. And we should also mention Castle a great place to watch boats come into the harbour all afternoon! And there is a tiny place, near the hotel called the village corner where we enjoyed some excellent authentic Turkish food,and great service again at a good price. A trip out to Perge is recommended, as is a trip to the museum near the long - very, pebbly - beach, as is a Hamman - we went to Sefra and it was excellent, well worth the £12 or so cost. There are separate chambers for men and women, which we prefer. The old town is a great location, beaches are very limited but we didn't go to baste ourselves in the sun all week, if you want to do that you might not want to stay in Kaleci.

Room Tip: Look for a cheap upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed out of season, was very enjoyable. Good service

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Found this hotel on the Internet--looked charming, and was! In the heart of Antalya's "old town", a small but attractive boutique hotel. Only about 15 rooms, with the basic ones being not much more than a bed and a bathroom. Upgrade to the Deluxe ones for just a few more Euros/day, and you've got a lot more room and nicer amenities. Our room rate included breakfast and diner, making it an even better deal! The front desk staff all speak good English, although they have fewer English speaking visitors than German or French. The staff will give you good advice on tours, sights, etc. The only hiccup: We had to ask for a better clean-up in our bathroom, due to grime on the tub and enclosure, but that did the trick--our room was kept very clean thereafter.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Zoher St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Our 2 night stay at this hotel was disturbing for several reasons, not least of which was spotting a hose filling their swimming pool attached to the water spigot arising from the toilet bowl in their lobby washroom. The front office staff were inhospitable and downright hostile upon our arrival, insisting upon payment @1am when we were on a prepaid package tour. To their credit, they did apologize as we departed for their error but not until then. There's no internet access from our room either though they claimed it was available in the other rooms. The travel agency Heritage Travel dropped the ball on this one, big time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MustafaAYDIN, General Manager at Mediterra Art Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
We always respect the reviews about our guest’s opinion. But This review is absolutely unacceptable. There is a Big misunderstanding. Our pool is filled completely clean tap city water, There is definitely no relationship between toilet water.
The water is checked and analyzed Everyday And Also Municipal inspectors inspects the water quality every month. Our swimming pool has the latest techonology filters and the pool maintenance is done on a regular basis. Our guest’s health is the most important point for our Hotel.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, the building is lovely and a lot of attention to detail has gone into the overall feel when you walk in, but it seems the same care has not gone into the rooms.

We were staying in room 321, it was very dark; this was mainly due to dark wood floor & dark furniture & a wardrobe being placed in front of one window and the exceptionally long & high head board being placed in front of another. We had 2 other windows, which were shadowed by a tree so had to have the light on almost all the time to see anything. Annoyingly the curtains were not quite big enough to cover the windows, so we were never sure if people could see in and the sun shone through to your eyes early morning!

The bed was very hard and I found myself with hip pains if I laid on my side all night and the duvet was not wide enough for the bed. Neither of us slept particularly well in the 3 nights.

There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which to us is a minimum requirement!

The rate included breakfast, but this was very basic and was left out un covered. They didn't provide fresh orange juice but orange squash!

These were only minor inconviences and did not detract from the enjoyment of our trip, but I would not rush back to stay here again. I would however recommend for the price and the location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Mediterra Art Hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast and food was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool and garden areas are clean. It's a small boutique hotel with a friendly and casual atmosphere and it's safe and in a great area that is close to the beach and markets. I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Antalya.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterra Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterra Art Hotel

Address: Barbaros Mah. Zafer Sok. No:5 Genclik, Muratpasa, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Antalya
#34 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#35 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterra Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to be away from the stress of city life and to have an enjoyable journey while you are strolling amongst old houses surrounded by high walls? Welcome to Antalya, which has become the host of various civilizations since the Stone Age to Bronze Age and various empires such as Lycia – Persia – Roman Empire – Pergamum – Byzantium – Seljuks – Mongolian Empire – and Ottoman Empire. Mediterra Art Hotel is located in Kaleici –Antalya which is surrounded by ancient city walls which was formerly called Attaleia (159 – 138 B.C). Kaleici has 2000 years’ history and has preserved its identity since then. Mediterra Art Hotel is formed by three buildings and has been renovated by means of Ottoman architecture including ancient fireplaces, hand-made doors and wardrobes. An Ottoman tale….. Mediterra Art Hotel welcomes you with 26 inviting rooms, 9 deluxe, 1 super deluxe Suite and 16 standard rooms all en-suite. We have the Free High Speed WiFi, LCD TV, Satellite TV, Air conditioned, Mini bar, Music, Telephone with direct connection, Internet, Safe, en-suite bathroom with hair dryer, 24 hour room service and fire alarms in our every rooms. Let the moonlight cheer you up while you are chatting and enjoying the authentic tastes. Art Gallery: Mediterra Art Gallery was opened by a crowded group of participants who are interested in Fine Arts on 1st of May 2010. Its historical atmosphere provides an excellent opportunity to feel pleasure during the exhibition. The Hotel was activated in August of 2007, before the ruins of a mansion with 200 years of history to its original look, achieved as a highly modern life has found. "Art" word is in the hotel name comes from 150 years old of a very special original hand-made ceiling decorations in the restaurant. Mediterra Art Hotel serves to both guests and visitors together with superior service in Historical and Modern place. Mediterra Art Gallery welcomes you from 10.00 to 18.00 hours everyday during all year round. In our indoor and an outdoor restaurant you can enjoy international and traditional cuisine. Our bar is always at your service. As soft as velvet… Enjoy the Turkish sunshine on the patio by our pool and you can have a chat or enjoy reading a book in peace. Make your dreams come true… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mediterra Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterra Art Antalya
Hotel Mediterra Art

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterra Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.