We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid holiday experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kervansaray Lara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kervansaray Lara Hotel to your Saves list
Kervansaray Lara Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guzel Oba Mevki Lara, Muratpasa, Antalya 07230, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 229 Hotels in Antalya
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Solid holiday experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at the Lara hotel from the 21/7 to 1/8. This was meant to be my last family holiday and even though I was skeptical about going at the the start, the holiday didn't disappoint.

There was a party of five, my parents who are both 50 and me my brother and sister who are 20,17 and 15 respectively.

Food

Not the biggest variety in the world, but overall it was good. Three of our party were vegetaraian and one was Vegan and all of us were happy with the food. I would strongly advise not going for the late breakfast though as the range is limited.

Drinks and Bars

This wasn't the Hotels strongest area, they deliberately limited the drinks you could order in the day even though the drinks were available at the same bar later in the day. When the full range of drinks were available though the selection was quite good. The only exception to this is that the beer was served with no head and flat far too often.

In terms of the bars they were usually good, there were two standard pool bars which were fairly good and the beach bar which we spent a lot of time in. I would recommend it especially when they served lunch and ice cream in the afternoon. Inside the bars were again fairly standard, the best being the bar on the first floor which had a modern feel to it.

Room

The rooms were stylish with strong air conditioning which worked well which and is necessary with the high temperatures in Turkey. The only downsides were the fact that the floor wasn't that clean and that the cleaning staff turned up sporadically, which is very annoying when you want clean towels. There was also a very dirty patch behind our door which stayed dusty and dirty through our whole time there. On one occasion the cleaner took our beach towels but luckily the reception gave us new towel cards which averted a potentially awkward moment.

Entertainment

This was a very mixed bag with the Acrobats being an exceptional whereas the comedy show wasn't funny and in some cases very close to the knuckle. In one scene the lead entertainer "blacked up" his face and imitated the recently dead Whitney Houston which was in bad taste. Another major problem is that the evening shows only have a week rotation which means that if like us you were there for longer you could be left bored in the evening.

Pools and Beach

The beach was clean with ample sun beds and the added advantage on one side of the pier being shallow enough to walk in quite deep. The pools were acceptable with some slides on the main pool which added to the enjoyment. The only disappointment of the three pools is the wave pool were the waves were only on for one hour a day and weren't as strong as those in the sea. There was very little point of having waves like that IMO.

Spa

This is were the hotel was let down, both the steam room and jacuzzi were not available for the whole time we were there. The sauna was good, but I would strongly advise not going for the oil massage. It was far too tough leaving marks on by back for days afterwards.

Overall, the holiday was enjoyable and the Lara, although not faultless was an enjoyable holiday, I would recommend it but not too everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    224
    113
    77
    68
See reviews for
273
183
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

One night for a flight delay was enough in this soulless hotel compared, by our party, to a shopping centre in the aftermath of a chemical attack, . I don;t know where to start......no air con in common areas, rude staff, lighting, furmiture etc all wrong. The lighting in the bedroom was terrible ......you expect to be able to leave a dim light shining when you have a small child in the room.........the choice was a bright red landing strip down the centre of the floor or a neon glowing blue glass bathroom wall......neither conducive to sleep. Had I booked my holiday here I would have returned home on the first plane. The heat inside the lobby was unbearable...I believe it was warmer than outside. Didn't use the pool as overnighting only but it looked like a former eastern block exercise pool from the hotel room. I heard that things improve as you get nearer the beach/shoreline but I was made so miserable by this experience I didn't venture far from the one air-conditioned "containment area".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our flight was delayed 34 hours so during that period we had to stop in this hotel. The reception was very rude to everybody, as soon as you went to check in they shouted "ONE PERSON HERE FAMILY GET OUT OF THE WAY OVER THERE!" to everybody. Once in the room i couldn't belive how i just went from Bara lara an amazing 5 star hotel which was spotless to a room were the shower was almost black, mold under the sheets, a red light going across the floor. Also, since only two beds were made we had to ask them if they could please make the other bed, we had to ask this four times before they botherd to make it! But that's not the best part, they actally didn't make the bed, they just got sheets then threw them onto another bed! The food was inedible, most of the people on our delayed flight had to resort to eating chips for dinner! Russell sprouts were served at every meal, including breakfast!! I couldn't belive it when i saw russell sprouts and chips at breakfast.
Most of the bars had an aweful stench. Everybody was livid that they came from a 5 star hotel to this dump! They actually served flat beers, it also didn't help that it was around a 5 minuite walk to the closest bar!! It also seemed that most of the staff trying to ignore English people as most of the guests were Russian and Serbs. You may think that this review is just me being extremely fussy, but i can assure you that is not the case. I mean, the fact that this hotel can suddenly have rooms for 300 people in the peak time speaks for itself. Everybody was livid that we was being forced to stay in this hotel, and if we had to sleep here for another night i can assure you that more arguements would've taken place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our flight was cancelled and we were taken to this hotel about midnight. It was a relief to have somewhere / anywhere to sleep for the night as we had 3 children.

The staff were very helpful considering that an unexpected plane load of people turned up from various hotels, some a bit tetchy.

The room was big. It had two bathrooms and showers, loads of wardrobes (that we didn't need) and full sized mirrors everywhere that made it feel even bigger.

We had food from the buffet at midnight, breakfast and lunch. All was very good. In the chilled lounge there's coffee and about 11.30 they bring a selection of cakes.

Unexpected stop and didn't use the pools etc but good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was absoloutely beautiful, arrived about half past 11 in the morning, the staff soon as we walked in were so welcoming taking bags to room. the beach was well kept and life guards would take beds for you. lots of games in the day, darts, french bowls, volley ball & more! you can do parsaling on the beach, and go on a banana boat. made friends with selhi the entertainment guy, he made our stay !! the mexican was beautiful, very well presented and was so lovely.
enjoyed the stay lots, & i would definately go back 5*

Room Tip: Rooms on the side:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just got back we were there for 10 nights in July I thought the service was great we have been to a few hotels in Turkey and the service has not been very good we have even stayed at the Titanic and I think the service was better at the Kervansaray Lara. Food was good rooms were clean the only negative is that the A/C was not on at the 24 hour bar... very hot there you had to go to the other room next to it which was a bit of a pain! Look out for the Russian beach vollyeball leader she has a wicked serve!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Just came back from Kervansaray Lara stayed a week 15-22 July 2012. First we arrived at 21.30 and reception was great telling us to go and eat before restaurant closed before booking in. They had already started clearing away but sat us down and we were feed like royalty! We where given a suite which was huge and the aircon was great. Throughout the week we enjoyed all the great food and drink which was brands not the usual cheap stuff. We found the all the staff where friendly and even though some didn't understand or speak English they always helped, both my husband and kids have said they made our holiday. The hotel is huge but we knew that before we went, and because the reception is so big it is hot inside and I don't think even aircon would keep such a large area cool. We found the entertainment a bit mixed some good-some poor, but they are trying to cater for all nationality's. The indoor spa area was great and very cool if you want to escape the heat! Beach was lovely with lots of beds and shade, sea crystal clear. Swimming pools where very large and clean, we did get a sunbed everyday, but the hotel was not full. We did go out one day and went into Antalya to shop and see the harbour. Bus was very good cheap but I wouldn't bother next time as it's not worth the trip as you can find the local shop just as cheap.

We normal don't go back to the same place, but this we might with this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kervansaray Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kervansaray Lara Hotel

Address: Guzel Oba Mevki Lara, Muratpasa, Antalya 07230, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#74 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kervansaray Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kervansaray Lara Convention Center & Spa with a view to the enchanting blue of the Mediterranean sea and the monumental presence of the Taurus mountains...Kervansaray Hotels display all the colors of life and the Lara Convention Center & Spa represents "burgundy", which is the "power of the soul", explaining why each and every detail including the features and color of the stone is meticulously elaborated...The fact that the glass covering 80% of the building converts everything into a transparent beauty is not a coincidence.Kervansaray Lara Convention Center & Spa, located on an area of 110.000M² , right at the shore of Lara, was awarded the "Best Building" reward in 2006 among National Architecture Projects with its extraordinary architecture and interior design. Our hotel where the light, water and glass are used together and the day and the night are experienced differently with its post-modern architecture, is surrounded by decorative ponds located on a land of 1500m². Our 9 storey building has 16 elevators, each of which is surrounded by transparent glass.While the precious stones used at every point in the architectural design dazzle your eyes under the night illumination, you will feel that our "U" shaped rooms take you closer to the enchanting view of the Mediterranean Sea. Our hotel building is surrounded by green fields such as orange trees, botany gardens and walking paths, with a landscaping architecture complementing its conceptual theme. Located at a distance of 12 km. From Antalya city center and 9 km from Antalya Airport, Kervansaray Lara Convention Center & Spa is honored to accommodate its guests who are enchanted by its prominent unconventional architecture, in a friendly atmosphere with best quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kervansaray Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kervansaray Lara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kervansaray Lara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.