We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmara Antalya

Save Saved
You added The Marmara Antalya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marmara Antalya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eski Lara Yolu No. 136 Sirinyali, Antalya 07160, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 225 hotels in Antalya
1 review
“great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great hotel, we had a nice time there, staff are very friendly ( the most important thing) rooms are very nice the color scheme is wonderful, the location of the hotel is perfect

very recommended :) if im going to antalya again , the Marmara will definetly be my choice

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are gratefull for your important feedback concerning your most recent stay at The marmara Antalya.
Thank -you and look forward to seeing you again at The marmara Antalya.

Best regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
The Marmara Antalya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    164
    72
    33
    18
See reviews for
74
198
31
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We chose this hotel for several reasons, one being the decor, my partner not so fussed about this but the decor caught my attention, I loved it from the pictures, when we got there we (I) was not disappointed at all. I loved it.
I emailed the hotel prior to our holiday asking if they could put a little surprise in the room for my partner ( I wasn't fussy, I thought maybe a heart shaped towel or something) instead we got a free upgrade to a sea view room AND little bottle of local wine and some sweets which was amazing.

Views were absolutely stunning, room was great, pillows however were horrible, such bad pillows for a 4/5 star hotel.
Back to the positives, food was nice and breakfast every day was great, looked forward to it every morning. Sitting outside to eat was so nice. Towels and robes hurt my skin, so rough. Not great for a 4/5 star!!

The private beach area and access to the sea was perfect, we LOVED it. The tunnel was brilliant!! Such a nice area, snorkelling with great, we saw an octopus which was a highlight and we also done the scuba diving. Great experience however my instructor had a cameras so I got a lot of pictures however my boyfriends instructor did not so he only got a few pics whence first got in. Still a good experience though.
Staff were sometimes lazy and slow but then others they didn't stop. Always polite though.
Ok some negatives:
The price of the drinks in the hotel are shockingly expensive, we actually panicked when we worked out how much a drink was. At the time we went we were looking to pay £9 for a single shot of jack Daniels and then an additional £3 for a can of coke. GULP!! Local beer was at an average price but if you don't like beer your stuffed as drinks were limited. I quickly decided that wouldn't be my choice drink but the choices were very limited and with no real bar to go and sit at, it wasn't a place to sit and relax and enjoy a few drinks. No night life. Very business like.
It was cheaper to drink cocktails than a simple short and mixer. I understand it's not a local drink but when you walk 100 yards down the road to find a bottle of JD for £14 it's quite annoying.

There is a metal detector on the door with signs saying you can't take your own food and drink into the hotel...some excuse about hygiene but it's obviously because the food and drink is so overpriced, this is where they make their money.
Food is nice but sooooo expensive.
I would describe this hotel more of a business hotel you would stay at for a couple of nights not a two week holiday.
Entertainment was horrendous and once food service had shut down and entertainment finished at approx 1030pm there was nothing to do.
The beach bar seemed to be open when it felt like it but we gave up going down there after trying it several times and being the only one down there with "DJ Performance" blasting out some bad dance music. It was quite embarrassing and uncomfortable.

Every night we had to leave the hotel to find some sort of drinking spot and place to just chill.

The cleaning staff found it quite odd that we didn't want our room cleaning every day, she was a little rude about it but we were capable of tidying our room and actually if we used the towels for a day or two it helped to make them softer. They really were bad. We ended up having to sneak past the maids to avoid the daily question and puzzled looks.

Overall nice holiday but wouldn't go back as exceptionally overpriced drinks and food and nothing to do there.
However we enjoyed ourselves just not the room bill.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied % 100 with your last stay in our hotel and I hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product. Please contact me at aocal@themarmarahotels.com

Kind regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cheap decoration. Poor service quality. I missed wedding ceromony because they didn't bring my shirt on agreed time from ironing. Hotel is not for families with kids, seaside is dangerous. Hotel staff is unwillingly doing their job. This hotel can be the weakest link of the Marmara chain.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied % 100 with your last stay in our hotel and I hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product. Please contact me at aocal@themarmarahotels.com

Kind regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was a bit reluctant booking this hotel purely based on the colour scheme and the theme of the hotel rooms I thought it looked a bit weird in the pictures, to my surprise i had to eat my words as this is probably the first time where a hotel actually looks better than the pictures online! I think the pictures don't really do justice to the actual ambience and serenity that the room offers not to mention the breath taking ocean view with its panoramic windows. I ended up falling in love with this hotel.

It is not to be confused with a beach resort it is simply a luxury hotel in Antalya city, with more of a retro beach house vibe to its rooms than that of what you would expect from the look of a typical luxury hotel room.

location wise it is on top of a cliff overlooking the beautiful waters of Antalya, there are shops and cafes across the road from the hotel and walking a few blocks will find many more eateries, shops and about 10 minute walk to shopping centres.

Great place to stay in Antalya would highly recommend.

Room Tip: An ocean view room on the higher levels is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are gratefull for your important feedback concerning your most recent stay at The marmara Antalya.
Thank -you and look forward to seeing you again at The marmara Antalya.

Best regards,

Mehmet Agah ÖCAL
The Marmara Antalya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the revolving section of the hotel. The hotel has some positive points, but too many negatives to give it a five star rating.
Firstly the negatives. The room we had in the revolving hotel was certainly tired and outdated. The shower was very mouldy, there was hair all around the drainage hole and the base of the shower recess had dropped, making the drainage outlet not the lowest point of the shower! Consequently, water did not drain away except into the room! (Room 828) The decor was tacky, bright pinks and white.
2. No plug for the basin could be found, making shaving, washing etc. difficult.
3. Furniture was scratched, paint chipped of chairs and desks, plaster on walls cracked, slight smell of cigarettes in the linen. These imperfections are not going to cause a problem to your stay, but remember this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel and you're paying 5 star prices!
4. The water in the room was not complementary and you are not allowed to take your own into the hotel!
5. The breakfast was not 5 star standard. Acceptable, yes, but stewed fruits were from a can, orange juice was basically cordial and the sitting area had the feel of a shopping mall cafeteria.
However, in fairness, there was quite a few positives as well.
Firstly, the gardens and pool area are first class. Clean pool, beautifully manicured gardens.
2. The view from our room was terrific over looking the Mediterranean Sea and mountains, for awhile anyway as the hotel revolves a full 360 degrees over a period of approx. 4 hours. At some stage you will be staring into the newer hotel building.
3. The private ocean swimming area reached via a private elevator, was terrific, with a rocky outcrop equipped with a diving board and platform, well spaced deck chairs and great views.
4. The buffet dinner included in the tariff was surprisingly very good. A good choice of salads, hot foods such as grilled chicken, grilled whole fish or roast meats, as well as many stuffed vegetables made for an enjoyable dinner. We rarely, (if ever!) eat buffet dinners, but as we were here for only one night and the city centre is a good 10 minutes away by car, we took the buffet option and were happy with the meal. A pleasant solo guitarist played and sang well.
All in all we had a comfortable stay, but the revolving hotel needs some serious restorative work to update itself from being a tired old has been.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review about your most recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied % 100 with your last stay in our hotel and I hope you will offer us a chance to gain back your confidence in our staff, service and product. Please contact me at aocal@themarmarahotels.com

Kind regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Loved staying at this hotel, it is as 5 star as you can get for a city hotel overlooking the sea on top of the cliffs. It is not a beach resort in Antalya that you can try and compare to.
Customer service begins from the minute you arrive, the only place in Turkey I found where the staff acknowledge a queue and do not serve people who push in.
Selected a sea view room that did not disappoint the view was amazing!
The pictures online do not do justice for the room, it looks much nicer in real life and the colour scheme compliments what appears to be the theme of a beach house room.
Well maintained gardens that sit at the edge of the cliff..there is no fence so be careful if you have young children!
Dinner option was open buffet served outside during summer, there was also the option of menu items or room service. A block away is a street full of eateries if you want variety, across the street is a range of bars to sit and have a drink.
The pool was large enough or there was the option of heading down to the sea.
A good hotel for relaxation and great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for such a great review. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel, services and our staff.
See you on your next trip to Antalya

Best regards,

Mehmet Agah Öcal
Hotel Manager
The Marmara Antalya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I went for a Sea View Room in the Marmara Hotel. The view from the room overlooks the sea, mountains and the hotel swimming pool and garden which is really breath taking. The rooms were spacious and full of colors and trendy decoration which i found to be really great. Hotel food was great and price was okay. Service was excellent and staff were really professional.
Swimming Pool, Private Beach, Sitting Area, Garden, Gym were all great and lots of fun.
Hotel is a bit far from the old town and taxis are expensive but hey the hotel is just opposite to lots of nice cafes.
The only point i didnt like about the hotel is that they dont let you bring any outside food into the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room, it is difinetely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agahocal, Manager at The Marmara Antalya, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and rest assured that your comments will be shared with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at The Marmara Antalya

Mehmet Agah Öcal
The Marmara Antalya
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marmara Antalya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Antalya

Address: Eski Lara Yolu No. 136 Sirinyali, Antalya 07160, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Antalya
#21 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#33 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#34 Family Hotel in Antalya
#35 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Antalya 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dynamic, surprising, pure, extraordinary product: The Marmara Antalya. Simple lines, crazy colors, comfort, dynamism, aesthetics, leisureness, technology, flavor, broad spaces, shared spaces, quiet corners, endless scenery of the Mediterranean are all united at The Marmara Antalya. Decorated by French architect, Christian Allart and mentioned by pioneers magazines in the sector such as; ‘Marie Claire Maison’, Maison Francaise’ ‘Home Art’, ‘Cosmo Girl’, ‘Harpers Bazaar’ from its opening day, The Marmara Antalya with its unique architecture and ‘HIP design’ aims to surprise the guests by going beyond what is accustomed and offers a refreshing alternative to Antalya with its quality. The hotel also accepts pets.The only pet friendly Hotel in the city Center of Antalya... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Marmara Antalya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Antalya Hotel Antalya
Marmara Hotel Antalya
Antalya Marmara Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmara Antalya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.